Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 11 hours, 51 minutes, 25 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The villain's Rules ! - zimra - Jam Entry

    A bunch of highschool cliches entered your lair and your delectable duty as a villain is to slaughter them all, but you must always abide by ... THE VILLAIN'S RULES !

    HOW TO PLAY

    - Drop and drag items to the center of the room (except for the brick wall used to block doors)
    - Some items will attract one or more characters, some will disperse them, other will kill them
    - Items activated once dropped: wall, writing, money, beer, screams (help me ! Bouh !)
    - Items you need to activate by clicking on them afterwards, if the conditions are right (see rules): pikes, bed, Cthulhu, Jack-in-the-box, goat

    Engine: Unity

    Alexandre Lautie (programmer)
    Zimra (artist)

    View zimra's journal. | View all entries by zimra

    Ratings

    Coolness85%
    Theme(Jam)4.39
    #6Overall(Jam)4.04
    #6Innovation(Jam)4.12
    #7Audio(Jam)4.02
    #15Mood(Jam)3.90
    #15Humor(Jam)3.80
    #19Graphics(Jam)4.35
    #28Fun(Jam)3.64

    Comments

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:06am

    Om my god, this game is f***ing great. Even if the gameplay is pretty basic, the behavior of the characters is awesome and it creates an amazing ambiance that i really loved.

    Very original game, i have nothing to say except that i loved it D:

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:08am

    Really nice work. I think the graphics, the entire mood are very well done.

    But I felt a bit lost with the stuff I could put on the floor. Couldn't really guess what those objects could do.

    Anyway, is it perhaps part of the game itself ? Learning on how some of this items works ?

    Anyway, nice and original game !

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Brilliant game, I would have like some help with what the various tools did, but that a minor complaint, I worked it out eventually.

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34am

    I fell in love with art style in yours game in the first moment. Agreed with above - short description of the items would be helpfull, though I personally would prefer rather brief one. Figuring out for yourself what items does has charm of its own

    recursor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36am

    I wasn't sure how to work the objects, but I really like the idea. Graphics and sound are great.

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:37am

    This game is incredibly solid. I have yet to beat the dang thing, but I can get pretty close, that dog ruins everything...

    bach says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

    Great art-style & superb mood. But yea this needs some additional description/help. I could not figure out how to kill them. I scared a few of them around but no idea what to do then..

    Would love to give it another go with some more details on how to play it!

    Rob says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:38am

    This is a great game from the a stand point of the graphics and audio, but I really could not work out how to play the game, I placed objects in rooms but generally I didnt get the strategy required, maybe an intro level to get the noodle cooking first. Great potential

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

    Wow this game was really good. Not a button masher but interactive enough to keep you busy. An absolute pleasure to look at really...

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:20am

    Thank you ! We added some tips in the description, let us know if you think we should add more (note-to-self: beta testing is key, schedule it in your LD agenda next time u_u).

    Psytew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34am

    Very fun game! You do need to explain the individuality and the control more, however.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

    Best audio so far, graphics is adorable too, very original

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

    It took some time to figure out what to do, but once I did man was it an awesome game! Good Job! :)

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12am

    Hard to figure out what to do at first, but good game.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02am

    Awesome game.

    Few rough things around the edges, but amazing for 3 days.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39am

    Wow, this game is brilliant.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:13am

    Yeah, I had fun killing those people with the bed.
    Graphics are nice, the music adds a cool mood.
    Good job ;)

    _Rilem says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    This is very cool, it plays a lot like mansions of madness (a boardgame). :D

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    good job, love the art style!

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    I like the premise, and the system is complicated enough to scare some players away, but I really like it a lot. Perhaps with some more feedback it would work even better.

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    Wow! Awesome!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Amazing job! I love the art style and the humour!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:47am

    Very fun game! Very cool to play! Graphics are so cute :) I liked to play it. Thanks and well done!

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    The visuals.. amazing! Very nice and original game!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    This is really good. The humor is awesome.

    rubna says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:08pm

    and we have a winner! GREAT entry!

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    A Cabin in the Woods game! hahaha
    I loved it

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    Love it!

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:02pm

    Very cool, this game is really well-done. I loved the art and the character's movements. Congratulations!

    dray says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome Awesome,

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Great job once I figured out how to separate and merc them it began feeling much better. Keep it up! Music was solid btw.

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:37pm

    That's a very good and funny game, i just like it :)

    tommycreo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    So awesome. Probably the best LD25 game I played.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:15am

    Very great idea and implementation! Great work!

    nulld says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:05am

    This game is awesome! Respect!

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:46am

    Great idea, lovely art, very polished...but very confusing if you don't read the explanation here - could have done with having that info in the game. Also it's all a bit too fast-paced to be able to plan any tactics, just have to drop stuff and hope... still one of the best I've played yet, though.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:51am

    Didnt have sound. Love the rules ! :D
    Excellent idea and awesome designs ! You could make the game trickier if specific characters have to get a specific death.

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:08am

    Awesome game! Very good idea.

    zimra says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:51am

    Thanks everyone ! we're working on a polished post compo version of this level so every feedback is really appreciated :)

    blob > thank you ^^ it's weird, there should be sound, can you give it another try and let us know if you still don't have anything ?

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:57am

    very fun and extremely cute.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:23am

    I liked the learning process and am interested where this idea will go in future iterations (more levels and traps sounds very appealing).

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:21am

    excellent production, right down to the fantastic restart menu! And I really felt the evilness. Kudos to no end!

    wombatica says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:23am

    loved it

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Took me a while to figure out... graphics and sound are great, just gameplay is a bit too complicated to figure it out at first.

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:39am

    Simply Amazing... Simple, fun and understandable. And also, really funny! The elements just fit together... Though there seem to be some issues with killing the virgin, since I could get her killed not as the last. Maybe it was to do with the bed?

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:13pm

    I like the gameplay, the fact you have to figure out how to use objets ! I like the graphics style too :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    Really really really clever :)

    krutech says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Fantastic game here. Reminded me about Cabin in the woods.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    great! I want more objects, different behaviuor and more Cthulhu stuff :P (see my entry too)

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:28pm

    One of the best games I played so far!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Cute game. :) I liked the idea of it, and it was fun to figure out the right order in which to do these. I sort of wish I could move the objects once I placed them (somehow I couldn't?) since I didn't know what each one did until I placed them down. Looks great though! Fantastic job. :)

    goerp says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Original game, and very nice style (the opening picture was great). Reminded me a bit of Day of the tentacle/Psychonauts.
    Best thing about it, I think, are all those movie references, one of the best takes on the theme I have seen.
    Good music, that doesn't get annoying after many repeats (thats hard).
    Interacting with the things was a bot hard and not very intuitive. Some icons I didn't immediately recognize (but that was a pleasant surprise once I did).

    Great one.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:41am

    Lovely presentation with polished execution. Great job tackling a more challenging genre hybrid too. Would have been nice to organize tools on UI by purpose (blocks, scares, kills). One use per tool felt limited, though that's something that could be expanded upon in a future version ;)

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    Really solid game!

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Wish it wasn't as fast and frenetic as it is, even turn-based might be better - but I guess that was deliberate decision.

    Two thumgs up!

    blob says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:05am

    I found out: I dont have sound under firefox with unity games for some reason.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:25am

    Just wow, your game is perfect! Following all the teenager horror filmes, with all those clichés, you made one of the best games I've played on this competition.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Crazy awesome.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    The graphics is great and so is the music/audio, great atmosphere! I couldn't understand the mechanics at first and realized you can click on the traps. Broke the rules a couple times before I saw the rule sheet. :P Overall, fun and original game!

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:10pm

    Nice work! Love the graphics and music. Gameplay is brainy too, but takes a while to figure out. Also, the "Kill this one last"-rules are very advanced. This would've been so much better with several levels, which rise in complexity.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]