Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 0 hours, 13 minutes, 20 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 1 hour, 1 minute, 20 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Run N' Destroy - killmonday - Jam Entry

    The biggest villain in all existence. Mankind. Destroy all in your way and evolve untill you face the reality you have created. You may take an important decision.

    *Runner game.
    *Online HighScores
    *Single player mode (Normal difficulty)
    *Hardcore mode (Hardcore difficulty/Endless)


    We made this game with:

    *Game Maker Studio (all coding was done under the 72 hours)
    *Photoshop (all graphic was done under the 72 hours)
    *Reason (Music was done under the 72 hours)

    (No special effects sounds added - Some animations missing)

    Credits:
    *Natalia Figueroa (Game design /graphics)
    *Isak Martinsson (Game design / programing / music)

    View killmonday's journal. | View all entries by killmonday

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #77Audio(Jam)3.35
    #109Graphics(Jam)3.53
    #123Fun(Jam)3.03
    #126Overall(Jam)3.19
    #132Mood(Jam)2.97
    #178Humor(Jam)2.50
    #185Innovation(Jam)2.75
    #264Theme(Jam)2.63

    Comments

    1CoinTeam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:24am

    Great game concept. How the evolution of man changes the art and gameplay it's just awesome!

    RipX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:31am

    Great game, love the art style, VERY difficult for me and after many attempts my eyes were all wobbly from the motion. lol. Nice concept, especially the human aspect and a good few stars from me.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50am

    Thank you very much!!! :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Awesome mood :O would have been awesomer for evolution theme but i get what you meant by evilest villain

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    Great game with unique art style. The only problem is it's hard to find the spike from the background.

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    5 stars for the music! The graphics are also great except for the red spikes that kill you. Unfortunately did not make it very far into the game, really difficult to dodge the red spikes AND the birds.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    I am sorry but I really fail to see the theme in this game, why should I be the villain? In addition the foreground is confused with the background (I can't see the spikes).

    Good job for the jam, although it's missing some polish.

    XmmmX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:36pm

    Nice game, I really like the catchy soundtrack. But it's true that it is sometimes difficult to spot the obstacles because there is no real foreground/background separation.
    Nonetheless good work.

    caribou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40pm

    I gave up on the third level but it was kinda addictive and there was a nice mood. I felt like i couldn't see the plots after an extensive game session :D

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    Found the game-play enjoyable low level (mechanics), but also a little frustrating high level (goals). Really enjoyed the sound and graphics!

    Izitmee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    I really like the ironic way of dealing with the theme, the shrieking graphics, the music, and the high difficulty of the hardcore mode (I beat the regular mode hands down, ehehehe). Modernity, the third level, has definitely the highest visual appeal (I don't know if I just made a sociological statement here or not).
    It might need a little more polish (mostly jump animations and a better "feeling" for the collisions with those damned spikes and ptero-birds), but seen the limited time the online highscores are a huge and cool addition :)

    Claite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:05am

    Fun game! I really wish the obstacles you need to jump over were more obvious for the corner of your eye. There was a lot of graphics and stuff going on, and I sometimes lost track of the triangles.
    Especially when I just wanted to run around and burn down huts!
    Great artwork though and fun game!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:17am

    Nice graphics and good sense of speed!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:34pm

    I loved how the history is told :)

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    Like people have said, its difficulty to spot the obstacles. The graphics are very good but also confusing when everything is moving.

    Also, next time you make a GM:S game for Ludum Dare, don't export it as an installer, but a compressed application folder. It's a lot more comfortable for people who'll test your game.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Haha, I'm getting too old for games that run at this speed. My reaction time is just way too slow to avoid the obstacles. Graphics and sound are really nice though.

    iandioch says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:23pm

    Really great - just a pity that I'm too useless at it to get past the second level :( That music was fantastic! Also, laughed at nude caveman. A lot.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Cool and thanks for all the respons! A hint to get to through the entire 3 levels is to just watch the red triangles and jump over them while spamming X. There will be lots of optimization to the later version :)

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Cool game. Loved the song.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    This was pretty cool, but might have fit LD24 Evolution theme better.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]