Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 17 hours, 36 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mother F****r Nature - valeroth - Jam Entry

    Humans have abused nature for far too long, now it's nature's turn to abuse them back! Control Mother Nature as she exacts her revenge on mankind by controlling the elements. Kill them all before they get to their rocket and escape! Summon comets, volcanoes, lightning clouds and tidal waves to destroy all the remaining humans!

    The windows version should run straight out the zip. Navigate to YATV/YATV/bin/x86/Release/YATV to run the game in the source version.
    www.tjclifton.com
    www.paulrosson.com

    View valeroth's journal. | View all entries by valeroth

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #109Fun(Jam)3.09
    #120Overall(Jam)3.22
    #133Graphics(Jam)3.39
    #136Audio(Jam)3.00
    #140Theme(Jam)3.42
    #147Innovation(Jam)2.94
    #150Mood(Jam)2.86
    #158Humor(Jam)2.63

    Comments

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

    Can't play on my mac, sorry. Mainly commenting so it leaves my page of games.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Restarting doesn't work very well, made me want to play populous again with all that control over nature.
    Text is kinda hard to read.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10am

    While I have a hard time believing that Mother Nature is much of a villain, I like the concept. The game is mostly fun to play :) The text on the instructions page is a little hard to read. I also think that lightning bolts are super overpowered and that water essentially does nothing.

    Also, a bug: once you complete the game, if you restart and play again, just beating the first level will cause you to win.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21am

    Probably the best name for a game I've seen yet, though not sure I would call mother nature a villain here (no points of that though). Ran into a bit of a bug where the game just kept scrolling left no matter what I did.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25am

    short, like incredibly short
    and if you don't build the higher cost traps early you kinda lose the chance to later

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05pm

    In our tired state last night we set last level to true when starting a new game instead of false, should be fixed now. And yeh the instructions were made by me because our artist was overloaded with work, which is why they aren't great :P

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    I love this idea!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    Nice idea, nice gameplay. Super graphics!

    Although the menu font is quite unreadable and this makes the instructions a real pain to be followed :)

    Herku says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    I like the grafics and the sound. At first i had problems to defend, but when i managed to survive the first levels and was quite happy with that the game was over ._.

    wally2069 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    Controls took a while to get used too but overall a solid entry. Would like to see this balanced and explained a bit better though.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:21pm

    The idea is cool :D nice work! :)

    Encircle says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:26pm

    Very easy but addicting gameplay. I liked art style as well. Very good.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Hahaha awesome! Mother nature is getting ideas as we speak! :)

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Really cool idea. I never saved up enough to build a volcano before it was over tho. Could have been just a little longer.

    In-game graphics were really good and cudos for getting borderline nudity into your LD entry!

    Good sound effects. The difficulty level was really appropriate as well.

    Given the content of the game I don't really see why it needs to be a whooping 85 MB download tho.

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    Great game ! The main theme sounds like Karate Boy, a french tv show :)

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:18pm

    Good idea, pretty generic execution.

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:58am

    Nice game, bonus points for the hot chick :D

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    The windows versions would not run when I tried to open the .exe

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:50am

    Funny stuff! After the first level I never had enough time to save up enough for anything but comets and a few tidal waves.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]