Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 12 hours, 52 minutes, 30 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Villain on a train - pinion - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    My first ever Ludum Dare entry!

    VILLAIN ON A TRAIN!

    Randomised train mischief simulator.

    Story:
    You are a villain on a train, causing mischief! Try to decide what action will be most villainous or otherwise useful as you explore the cars. When you are done (visited all cars) you will be awarded a title depending on your performance. Good luck!

    Instructions are available in game, but here there are too:

    Use LEFT and RIGHT to pick a train car, then ENTER to go in and take an action. Train cars are random each game and the length of the train can vary.

    Your goal is to increase your Villain Points (VP) whilst not getting busted by keeping a low profile (ALERT < 100), not dying by keep healthy (HP > 0)and maybe get rich trying (GP)! Clearing all cars will end the game and give you a rating.

    Made in flash with flixel
    Voiced by my wife

    email : pinion.makesgames@gmail.com

    tools:

    Code:FlashDevelop, actionscript3, flixel
    Audio: musagi, windows sound recorder, http://media.io/, audacity

    View pinion's journal. | View all entries by pinion

    Ratings

    Coolness62%
    #29Humor3.79
    #128Theme3.75
    #136Audio3.14
    #162Fun3.28
    #218Mood3.07
    #252Innovation3.11
    #263Overall3.17
    #592Graphics2.31

    Comments

    pinion says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Whoops, no description of the gameplay. Here the instructions from in the game:

    You are a villain on a train.
    Use LEFT and RIGHT to pick a train car, then ENTER to go in to take action.

    Your goal is to increase your Villain Points (VP), whilst not getting busted by keeping a low profile (ALERT < 100),not dying by keeping healthy (HP > 0)and maybe get rich trying (GP)!

    There are a range of titles/ratings depending on your VP and GP.

    jurnacsr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:24am

    Entertaining! You should make that intro music loop, maybe at a lower volume, while someone plays. The intro music was cool!

    jurnacsr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:27am

    By the way, I am Very Handsome, thank you very much.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    Hey, that was a pretty fun 2 minutes. Nice work.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    The sound effects! My sides! Great work :D

    wzl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20am

    Cute game :D

    I wrote a little review on it, you can check it on http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#pinion

    If you have a twitter account, or someplace else you want to me to link, let me know and i'll add it in there too :)

    pinion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    Thanks everyone.

    @wzl, your review describes pretty much exactly what I was going for! I don't have a twitter or anything though.

    Now, off to rate other games.

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    Liked it. very basic but fun! I robbed the puppy :D

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    Little story and cute graphics. I loved it.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:37pm

    So fun :) It's always good to be handsome. Nice job :)

    delpes says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:37pm

    Aww sweet game :) Loved the sounds! But it seems i'm not a good villain :D

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    Funny, cute and fun. Awesome ending sound effect.

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    What an interesting game. It's small but nice to play and kinda fun. That music at the beginning is really loud and very out of place. However the recorded choo-choo-choos were really lovely.

    The gameplay was very nice but it would have been nice to have had a bigger end to look forwards to.

    Not a bad game at all.

    zazery says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    I enjoyed playing it. The choices were intuitive enough to figure out what would happen to your stats.

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Loved the sounds :)

    recursor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Your "choo-choo" sounds really made me laugh. This was charming and and unexpectedly fun.

    pinion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    My wife provided the sounds. The sound when you win is her impression of the World of Warcraft undead female doing the /train emote. Her favourite sound effect ever.

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    pretty funny!
    I would've like more scenarios for each car was it random? Maybe if they were all different, and different things happened if you did certain cars in order... There is a also no indication of close you are to getting caught (is it just 100?) Overall very nice!

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Ok... now I have a stupid smile on my face

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:57pm

    The concept is actually pretty good. I played it twice. I also liked the funny sound effects of 'sh sh sh' and 'choo choo'. The chocolate coins were pretty humorous as well.

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Really liked the sound of the intro music. Also, fun little game. There wasn't really any strategy, just random messages, but still entertaining. Well done for your first Ludum Dare ever! I hope you join the fun again.

    Also, I lol'd at the homemade sound effects.

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Simple, short too but afterall it's fun and really welldone; the sound FX (and some situations too) is hilarious!

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00pm

    Pinion, feel free to update your entry page; you are allowed to do that. The graphical style is simple, but engaging in a way. This pretty much plays out like a game of chance, but the humor used throughout provides for a fun little experience. I like it.

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Wow, so simplistic appearance, yet so much fun... I found myself restarting until I got "Very very brutish" rating :D Really cool game!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Interesting game, funny and different, but feels like it doesn't depends much on the player, I mean, I don't really feel like I'm playing the game, since some results seem kind of random..

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Needs some more content, but the options that are available were interesting and funny! I hope you keep working on it :D

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    "Chu-chu! Chugga chugga chugga chugga..."
    Haha, so cool.

    I like and dislike the choices at the same time. They are funny and interesting, but their randomness and unpredictability renders them mostly moot. It was still enjoyable for a few times. It's a bit hard to say whether I did particularily good or bad at the end of the game.

    The art is not pretty, but serves it purpose in a minimalistic way.

    All in all, an enjoyable experience. Thanks!

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:45pm

    pretty damn cute.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40am

    One of the funniest games I tried.
    The minimalistic presentation is great, too.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Enjoyed this game! Very, very cute.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:44am

    Nice theme game, very nice overall game :)
    I like the concept that you chose what you are and what "being a violain" means. Thx !

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]