Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 55 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 57 minutes, 56 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Crime Scene - saulotti - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In a city square, there is one assassin. He kills civilians with a very sneaky gunshot, and he looks a lot like others civilian. You're a Detective that can investigate the crime scene, mark your suspects and find who is killing every one.

    Input:

    WASD or arrows - Walk
    Left Mouse Button - Mark Suspect
    Right Mouse Button - Choose your villain

    Platforms:

    Windows
    Mac OS

    View saulotti's journal. | View all entries by saulotti

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #13Innovation4.14
    #20Overall3.97
    #41Mood3.68
    #80Graphics3.87
    #89Fun3.47
    #122Audio3.19
    #143Theme3.72
    #413Humor2.36

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:43am

    Nice take on the You're the Villain theme

    jayhC says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Good job! It was fun to play. The atmosphere is nice and they all look so innocent hehe

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36am

    Great mood, i like the lighting and the way the civilian dies. I also like having to understand how to discriminate the vilain by myself.

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    Well done! Slow but it makes sense in its context. Note: I had to download the game because the web version does not allow you to click the right button! ; )

    Arowx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

    Liked it nice simple style but atmospheric, could have used more variety in individuals, taller, thinner and more colours.

    wccrawford says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    Web version isn't completeable. You need to set the HTML so that unity will get the right-click, instead of popping up the menu.

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Web link does not seem to function (keeps trying to get me to reinstall the plugin). Played on windows.

    Really nice game, wasn't sure what to look for initially tho :). Nice take on the theme

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    This is really, really cool! Very good work!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Very nice game! Keeps the tension about finding the killer. As others have already pointed out, great job on interpreting the theme too.

    While playing I kept hitting Q and E to try to strafe around the crowd so I'd like to suggest adding those if it doesn't break anything.

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Nice game! I really like the graphics :)

    saulotti says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Hey Guys! Thanks for the tips. I've removed the Web version of the game. Considering that the jam is over, I shouldn't correct the web build bug or code anything of the game, so is preferable to remove it.

    Thanks again!

    wccrawford says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    It's actually an option when exporting the game. Just choose the template that allows right-clicks, instead of the default web template. Personally, I wouldn't count that as coding and you *are* allowed to create other distributions during the voting.

    Up to you, though.

    saulotti says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    here you go... Web version is back.
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/1508377/CrimeScene/web/index.html

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    The way to figure the culprit is really smart and the graphics are great!
    Nice job!

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    This is really, really cool! Very good work!

    Floko says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    that's pretty interesting =]

    otus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    WHAT IS THIS GAME.
    SERIOUSLY.
    IT'S GREAT!

    I can't really see anything bad in it. Is it REALLY a solo game? Like, in 48 hours? Wow.

    It was fun, really fun. It's well-explained right off the bat and the gameplay is smart and rewarding if you play it right.

    Everything in it is very interesting, the graphics are crisp and clean, and it's a very good experience overall.

    Congratulations! This game is amazing. My #1 so far.

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Very interesting and addictive game. Something new :)

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:49pm

    I love it! Nifty interpretation of theme, cool graphics, and a fun and innovative mechanic. Kind of reminds me of spy party.

    fhoenig says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:20pm

    Hello there, police action in light-mapped city setting :)
    Very beautiful game.

    Dohan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    Great take on the theme!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37pm

    Best game I've played so far, seriously. This so deserves number one spot. I tweeted @McFunkypants to this game's link - I hope he gives it some more publicity. :D

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    Amazing! Hard to figure out mechanics at first, when nothing happens, but easy to pick up after first shot.

    Almost says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    Web link also doesn't seem to function for me. I ran the installer, restarted chrome, and am still advised to install unity when I try to load the page.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    For some reason the unity link isn't working for me. It says I need the plugin but I definitely have it (made my game in it too). Probably going to download the windows version, because this looks like an interesting one.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    Wow, this is really impressive. Not sure if you're aware, but the game minimized itself when I won (I was playing fullscreen). I've been learning unity for the last few months, and have mostly been using the 2d Toolkit, but I've thought about trying something totally primitive based in unity for a white. Thanks for showing me the potential of it...Good work!

    As far as critiques, I think something that would add a lot would be some crowd noise, kind of like the rumble of a lot of people talking before a concert or something. I feel like it would a lot to the sense of finding a needle in a haystack. Maybe something like this, only very quiet and ambient.
    http://www.freesound.org/search/?q=crowd&page=2#sound

    Obviously, that might have been difficult to make on your own over the weekend, haha.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Literal interpretation of the theme, really nice :)

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    This is really very pretty indeed, reminds me a lot of Gravity Bone. Love the concept, really original.
    Just the one negative point - it seems like when I restart the game after losing, there are no more murders in the second game - anyone else have this problem?

    zazery says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    Nice aesthetic and concept.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    Nice graphics, gameplay was a little simple though. Original theme use. :D

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:05am

    I really like the idea of the game and its implementation, of course. I love detectives :)

    laaph says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Very interesting idea. Kind of hard. Took a few plays to understand what I was doing (the ingame explanations don't quite make sense, the directions for input are only put on this webpage).

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:49am

    Very nice graphics and overall mood. Well done.

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:12pm

    Muito bom!

    saulotti says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:25pm

    Thanks guys! I'm really happy with your feedback.

    I did some blog posts about the development process: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/saulotti/

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:47am

    Wow. This has to be one of my favorites thusfar. I love the double-entendre you've got going on here that becomes apparent when you finger the correct culprit.

    Personally I was surprised at how I was sad that at least 2 people have to die before you have enough information to find the killer.

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    It has a really cool mechanic and it was implemented rather well. Nice job!

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:43am

    Very nice take on the theme, I never even thought to play with different contexts in it. Something tells me the sound effects weren't created by you (forgive me if they actually were), but at the end of the day, who cares? I like it.

    Let's do a bad and good breakdown here:
    -The play area is a bit small for my tastes, but I guess that makes it easier.
    -Sometimes, it's hard to see who got killed until you get close... May I suggest the victim flashing red, or something of that nature?
    -The rules are a bit vague. Who gets exclamations over their heads and who doesn't?
    +You kept it nice and simple.
    +The mechanic was nice and well-balanced.
    +Great concept.
    +

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Please replace the https with http from the webplayer so it doesn't give that plugin error.
    First I thought that you didn't implement the theme well because I wasn't the villain, but the ending GUI text saved a lot actually. Sound effects were nice but music would have been nice. Lighting is very bright. It was very fun. Good job!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    That is a pretty interesting game, although it was a bit too hard for me. Maybe if there was an option to accelerate the game time? I found myself getting a bit impatient with the pace when I wanted to test a few suspects.

    Thanks for the very different game!

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    Nice try, but the game is too confusing without real elements of investigation

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    At first I was gonna dismiss it because it had nothing to do with the theme, then it hit me hard. I liked it a lot, beautiful and fun.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    it took me a lot of time :< I thought villain wont be surpresed by his acts
    Amazing game, I enjoyed it a lot, thanks!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    Forgot to say nice touch having a gameplay scene on the start screen.

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:08am

    I like this game a lot, while it rates high in all the respective categories, there are some things I would change:
    - It seems somewhat strange that you never see a pistol, I think you should at least be able to see a little black stick, or a the very least some kind of hidden blade like in Assassin's Creed
    - The killer is a bit too trigger happy, as soon as one crowd disperses, he just kills someone else straight away. A little too unrealistic, he should hide a bit more.
    - The crowd doesn't feel too real, maybe if some people were faster/slower or if some went clockwise and others went anti-clockwise.

    Overall though, fantastic game. Definitely makes me want to make my next Ludum Dare project a Unity one.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    At first I thought this game would be way too hard to play, and in fact, with a bit of concentration, it is not, and is very fun to play. Great games, greats graphics, great theme!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    Nice visual style and interesting take on the theme. Was fun to play. Moving and turning was somehow slow, but this is just a little detail.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:22pm

    Wow, really nice mechanic and fantastic execution. Well done!

    ilo says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    I think the gameplay mechanic is simple but brilliant. :)

    It would be nice to be able to look around without turning.

    Also, I wonder how it would play with more than one assassin! :)

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:20am

    Yet another entry marked as "web" that should be marked as "windows/mac only" :(

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    Nice gameplay. I liked the style very much!

    Sad you've marked it for web while not everyone can play the web version...

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:00pm

    I quite enjoy the idea of this game.

    DTG says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:27am

    distinct visuals and a really novel concept, well executed right down to the font.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:24am

    unexpected use of the theme. surprisingly fun to weed out suspects as the body count rises.

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:58pm

    Very interesting concept.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:03pm

    The game is really impressive in nearly every way, but I couldn't finish it. I feel stupid. I spent at least half an hour playing, and sometimes it'd be over 5 minutes waiting before there was a crime. I'd even turn away from the crowd, thinking that it was because the killer was aware I was looking at them, but it didn't help much.

    I lost a few times and gave up feeling like I've either missed something crucial about the way this game is supposed to be played or that it's mostly guessing amongst your suspects and being lucky?

    It's a bit shameful to admit that I didn't get it, but I thought it'd be helpful to you to consider my experience and wonder what can be done to improve the game.

    I saved it and might try it again later.

    Also, this game reminds me a lot of this one: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=15810

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:21pm

    Hahaha, well. It's interesting to find a game with the same underlying concept than ours. It was fun and I really liked the level of polish. Pure quality. One of the most visually-appealing entries I've played so far.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]