Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 – 9 PM EST — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 3 hours, 21 minutes, 40 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Join us on Twitter and IRC (#ludumdare on afternet.org) for the Theme Announcement!

    FYI: This website becomes unusable for +/- 20 minutes at Theme Announcement time, because you’re awesome :D


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    MARTYR - ahmed.majd - Jam Entry

    This is a game about the sadistic and Vilain "video games player"

    Keep it in mind : You can not pass a level if you haven't less than 30 HP

    One more time: less 30 hp to pass the level "the red exit"

    Lunch the game via: Index.html

    Credit:
    visuals:Yassir Kerbal
    visuals:Oussama agazzoum
    sound design:Florent Dumas
    Game and level scrinpting: Ahmed Majdoubi

    View ahmed.majd's journal. | View all entries by ahmed.majd

    Ratings

    Coolness53%
    #37Audio(Jam)3.62
    #46Humor(Jam)3.39
    #50Mood(Jam)3.45
    #55Overall(Jam)3.57
    #57Theme(Jam)3.82
    #64Graphics(Jam)3.93
    #71Fun(Jam)3.26
    #73Innovation(Jam)3.37

    Comments

    Tavrox says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    Nice gameplay, globally the game looks really fine and is really fun :) GG !

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:16am

    Thank you, and what was your emotion in the end of the game?
    we tryed to talk about, "what kind of players you can be if you wanna reach the end of the game?"... hope the message passed

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    Hilarious!

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    Thank you Killmonday, hope you like it ;)

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    Cool graphics and the sounds are pretty funny. Good work. :)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Thanks...

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    Interesting idea but lacks motivationnals. Maybe introducing some more fun in hurting the hero could have made it. Good prod anyway. thx.

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:46pm

    Interesting idea but lacks motivators. Maybe introducing some more fun in hurting the hero could have made it. Good prod anyway. thx.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    "Iron Maiden? Excellent!"
    Nice job.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    interesting take on the theme, looks pretty nice too :)

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:53pm

    This game is amazing but make me fell really bad! One of the best of LD25, congrats

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    Perfect, the best game I've played this whole LD, just a few bugs which were a shame:

    - I seemed to be able to get stuck in the vertical chainsaws causing insta-death, not sure if this was a bug or not.

    - The text bubbles sorted behind the walls.

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:09pm

    Thanks GameXcore , we will try to fix the bugs.

    About the feeling, w give the player, the choice to try to reach the goal by hurting the Avatar, or let him go safe a get the Game over
    It's not a simple question about: are you sadist or not
    It's a question about, what sacrifices do you can do, to reach you objectifs?
    Thank you all ^_^

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:39am

    Kinda creepy... but in a good/funny way...

    illugion says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:40am

    Man, this game was awesome, i felt bad for the character D: he looked so cool but i always hurt him D: i loved the music too

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:02am

    Awesome idea! Creepy game with great art. Good work!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:44am

    Nice entry, like the arts and the sounds remember me worms \o/ :D (talking about being sadisctic, what hell we make this little worms live!)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    Very good idea. At first, I thought I would play this like any platformer and then go back to get hurt enough to pass the door, but the level design was clever enough to forbid me to do that. I think this platformer could be turned into a great puzzle with more, harder levers.
    The little voice is very cute ^w^

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:36pm

    Thank you everybody,happy to see that you like the game, we will try to make it better in the next version ^_^

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    Awesome, can't stop laughing :D, The iron maiden end is so fun, i love watching this cute heroe suffering

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:16am

    Excellent idea ! Funny and disturbing at the same time.
    Loved the graphics and the sound FX too (OMG the poor creature voice)

    Fortyseven says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:10am

    Great work!

    Komradus says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:32am

    Hilarious ending.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:57am

    I can't see why it fits the theme. Gameplay and graphics are both good.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:15pm

    Very polished and high quality production, well done guys!

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Thank you everybody :)

    LemonTree says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:46pm

    Best game on this LD for me.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    This is TOO ADORABLE. I don't want to hurt the little guy :(

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    Great audio and visuals. Clever idea. The instant game over isn't necessary. I enjoyed the game, good job!

    madpew says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 8:26am

    Wow I really feel sorry for that little guy. Had fun playing. Well done.

    lotusgame says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:52am

    Very novel idea ! Very well realized. Sounds professional job. Well done :)

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 7:30pm

    Oh, thank you very much everybody...
    it's a pleasure to see that martyr is among your favorites " matthias_zarzecki" ^_^

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:00pm

    Beautiful mood.

    Fenmar says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 6:03pm

    Thank you for making this game. I enjoyed it really much. The voice acting is awesome!

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:25pm

    Nice game , best things are the graphics and the sounds

    hadesfury says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:04pm

    Great Job, like the idea behind... Animation, Graphics and Audio are well chosen !

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:10am

    Amazing art style and animation. PERFECT theme interpretation by making the player the villain and not the character itself. Great game over screen with that being the victory of the avatar and the loss of the player. Wonderful job all around!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]