Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 2 days, 10 hours, 23 minutes, 10 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    PsychoTherapist - char68 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    PsychoTherapist is a game where you play a hypnotherapist trying to drive the voices from your head into your patient. Time yourself to the metronome, and spin the watch to match the chaotic patterns as long as you can.

    View char68's journal. | View all entries by char68

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #185Innovation3.26
    #486Audio2.03
    #524Humor2.07
    #560Fun2.42
    #593Overall2.58
    #646Theme2.45
    #652Mood2.17
    #717Graphics1.81

    Comments

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38am

    Took a while to figure out what was going on, but enjoyable and challenging when I got it. Might want to rework the instructions if you continue on this game.

    Sos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39am

    It's so hard! Like patting yourself on the head and circling the other hand on stomach at the same time!

    filtoid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    A tricky game but fun.

    angela says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    I couldn't do it. It was too hard. But fun trying and great idea.

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:57pm

    overall really hard to coordinate between the metronome and the clock, couldn't keep it up but might be because i can get pretty jittery.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00am

    It was a bit too hard, but I bet if I played a bunch more I would get the hang of it.

    bach says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Wow - this is really hard. Once I understood what I had to do it was quite fun for a bit. But ultimately I'm just completely lost trying to multi-task this thing.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:22am

    I really like the idea, very difficult.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:33am

    Nice idea... but I couldn't quite get to grips with it unfortunately. :/

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:01pm

    Very difficult and unforgiving. You could've added 3 "lives" that need to be lost before you lose.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:51am

    you help screen layout made me think I could use cursor key instead of wasd ( which is pretty convenient when you own an azerty keyboard ). I lost a lot of time finding how to play.
    The game itself is cool. I think the yellow point is useless, it make the game more difficult instead of helping. Just the green dot with a clock color change or brief 4 dot flash when you finish the sequence would be enough.
    +1 for the 3 lives idea :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:57am

    Cool idea. I was able to go pretty far.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:04am

    I found this quite difficult. Once I understood what I was doing it was better though. A really cool take on the theme.

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:59am

    Interesting concept. Took me a few tries to get what I was really doing, but once it clicked it was alright. Never really got far enough to see how evil I was supposedly being though.

    olkeencole says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    This game is quite difficult. It seems like it has a lot of potential for fun if the difficulty ramped up a bit more slowly or it was a bit more forgiving (like the patient had a meter where he would wake up with too many mess ups). It's frustrating to lose the game immediately when you make one mistake.

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:15pm

    aAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA...

    lol, pretty original =D

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:17pm

    Good: Different!
    Improve: Hard to get into in the time one have to rate theese things (that is, if im not hooked the first minut i neeed to move on, sorry) =)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:15pm

    Could tick, but not tock. Very unforgiving mechanics, made me want to give up after failing five times. Try a lighter form of negative reinforcement than stopping the game every time the player makes a slight error.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:40am

    Took me a bit to figure out what was going on, but once I did it was really hard and I only lasted a few ticks. Cool concept, but maybe lessen the difficulty a little bit.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]