Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 6 hours, 40 minutes, 7 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 6 hours, 40 minutes, 8 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Carnage - SXPanda - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Play as a demon and bring death and destruction to a small village. Cause as much carnage as you can before the timer runs out.

    Kill the king for a large point bonus, and destroy buildings to recover your health.

    I haven't tested the OS/X or Linux builds, so I can't promise they will work.

    View SXPanda's journal. | View all entries by SXPanda

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #40Theme4.03
    #79Fun3.51
    #87Graphics3.85
    #111Overall3.51
    #250Humor2.88
    #260Mood2.97
    #307Audio2.58
    #339Innovation2.92

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:20pm

    Nice game, i was 6th on the leaderboard, yeaaaah !

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28am

    This game is realy fun and similar to mine, your game is probubly more fun than mine though.Nice clean graphics too.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:04am

    Funny game, though a little bit erratic controls :P It would had been really nice to have combos so one could concatenate the killings in different manners. The graphics are realy cool and it is amazing make soldiers fly away with second superpower :D

    Cy4n1d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:07am

    Nice game. Combos would be nice. :-)

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18am

    That was fun, sometimes my arm went crazy while hammering, and shockwave is the best :D

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:19am

    I liked this game. The graphics are crisp, and it's quite fun. I did see my arm going to the heavens sometimes, I think there's a small bug with the hammer animation.

    If anything, it could use a bit more variation. other then that, I don't have much to whine, well done!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

    I had a good time with this one! I like massive destruction and the breaking buildings touch surprised me. Nice use of ExplodingForce! :D

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05am

    Already the second entry in this direction, very nice done, though the audio feel could be better and the controls are not much fun on a macbook, specially the third button.

    And I sliced a house. Sliced! That should be walls and roof flying around instead.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13am

    Nice game, +1 for the linux release

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50am

    Wow this is a really nice take on the theme. The graphics and movement and everything is great and its fun. I just think the audio could be improved.

    kannas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54am

    very interesting game. I like the concept and the destrucability of the houses. what i didn' t like were the controls. they were too buggy, killing less men and more fun :P you should work a bit around them, i am sure the game experience will benefit a lot :D

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    w00t the king wears pink! game is fun

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    Very fun, I especially like the super stretch long arm combo. However, the controls could really use some work.

    benadams says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:21pm

    Very fun, nice idea

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    Good job! It's super fun! More feedback on hits and kills would help, but otherwise it's pretty good! :D

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Wow, really good 3D art and animation for the timeframe, well done on that. Fun to play too!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    Very nice. Top-notch graphics + ultimate destruction :)

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    digging the destructive terrain!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    Very nice game! The special powers look good, and smashing soldiers is fun.

    It would have been nice to have the option of a chase camera (following behind the demon) and a reminder when there's only, say, 15 seconds left.

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    That was really fun, I managed to grab almost 14000 points (not sure if the leaderboard is online). It sorta reminded me of Black & White, though I'm sure that minions in B&W couldn't do this with their arms: http://puu.sh/1C37b

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    Good graphics, very enjoyable and people flight really good :D

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    loved watching the villagers fly as I bashed the ground. Wish I had more control over the character though

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:03am

    Got that drum loop stuck in my head now. Nice game.

    Cat Burton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

    Great game! Looks really good and it was fun to be able to destroy the trees and buildings. I wasn't sure what the hearts were for as the character doesn't seem to have health - only a time limit? I agree with some of the other comments that the controls can be a bit tricky to use, but for a 48hr game, I think they're pretty good! :)

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35am

    This game was awesome. It is quite satisfying to swing your hammer down into a BIG group of guys and watch them fly across the screen. Overall, well done.

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53am

    Impressive 3d. I wish there was a rating for technical merit.

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

    Nice game, nice graphics. Little problems with the controls.

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:17am

    The game is pretty fun, but I couldn't seem to get the magic to work. One of your animations appears to be a bit bugged. I can't help but feel this would be better if the player had direct control (WASD - Arrows). Other than that, I can see the effort that went into this and I must say, good job!

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

    Great fun.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47am

    Cool entry! I got the King!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40am

    Awesome! I tried twice to make it on the highscores, but no luck (or, skill!) I really like the highscores feature. Great graphics and abilities!

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:10am

    the powers are a lot of fun. the bugged out animation you get sometimes when you use your hammer is fun. i like the music too

    Dylan McCall says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06am

    Yep, the Linux build works great on Ubuntu 12.10. Thanks for making one! (Only oddness I noticed: the Carnage executable doesn't have executable permissions when I extract it. Nothing serious, but you can fix that and then people can just extract and run immediately).

    Controls were a little odd. I lost track of where I was moving on more than one occasion. Pretty ambitious graphics, though! Not the prettiest, but it definitely fits together well. I'm impressed that you got that in such a short time :) I really like the leaderboard, and I found myself playing it a few times to improve my score.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48am

    Great game! first one I see with leaderboards, A-we-someee! :D

    Interbellum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50am

    Nice game. Leaderboard - that is good.
    Why do people run this giant hamper.. I want to crush them. Error when playing animations.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23am

    That king is a HOSS. Several giant hammers to the face and flaming boulders to the spine and he's still running strong! This game really needs some audio variation to let you really sink into it. As it is now, the audio grates on your nerves and kinda pulls you out. But there are tons of nice things here... the physics, the leaderboads, the fun factor, the characters. Good stuff!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00pm

    Fun!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    Super cool considered the time constraint. However I feel that with your skills you could have done something even better by interpreting the theme less literally.

    D3zmodos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    Really fun game, gonna check up on exactly how you did those highscores because I did that in a game of mine a little while back it wasn't nearly as streamlined it seems. Pity about my hand flying into the sky sometimes - maybe to come crashing down extra hard on those peasants? ;)

    ratking says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Nice game! :-) There's glitch in the animations, though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    Nice toon shading and graphics in general!
    Yet it's a bit difficult to press middle button on the touchpad :)

    joyboxed says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    man this looks really good in comparision to most entries, still need to admit though that the fun factor wasnt that huge

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    Not sure how to explain but the gameplay feels a bit artificial

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Nice work. Its so good when people go flying towards the camera.

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:15pm

    Very good game. Animations are very cool. Well done :)

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17am

    Very cool!

    Tried hard, but couldn't get on top =/

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:39am

    Cool idea with solid gameplay and graphics, well done.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Really liked it. The game deserves its name, it was huge massacre ! Nice powers too, but controls are a bit odd.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    The most powerful villaint I've ever played! The high score system is really addictive.

    Mago says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Fun game with very good graphics and sound.

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Cute!

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    Nice game, reminds me of Black&White, though that bug with stretching bone is annoying a bit.

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    fun game, my mouse say thank you :D
    Graphics are nice, its fun to play even though I would prefer different controls.

    But good job :)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    Excellent work getting characters modeled, rigged, and animated in under 48 hours PLUS come up with some solid gameplay.

    monobo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    Great, linux port worked but no sound for me.

    Dew says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:37am

    Nice game, quite repetitive.

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    A really cool game. Few bugs but nothing serious. The most annoying one was that his arm would extend at random times, but as it doesn't affect game play it didn't really matter. I liked that you have different special powers and even a scoreboard! It all proves that it's a well polished and well thought out game! Good job!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    haha!... fun!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    Didn't quite like using left mouse for the movement (would have preferred WASD or Arrow Keys), but really fun.

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    Good: Fun to chrush people with a big hammer!
    Improve: Blood!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:48am

    The best part is those breakable buildings. But it told me time's up when the countdown remains 1 minutes.

    ghotifrye says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:51am

    Awesome game. Nice animations, swarming, physics, leaderboards. Some minor glitches with the animations/weight maps, but I know how that is. Would have preferred a web build. Any particular reason you didn't build one?

    Anyway, very cool game.

    SXPanda says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:37am

    @ghotifrye When I built in Unity WebPlayer the game played at low framerates, and the buggy controls were more noticeable. I had to reduce the maximum number of enemies by a fairly significant amount to get it to run smoothly, and I felt it was an inferior game.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:42pm

    Left and right clicking for controls was a bit tricky. I first tried this windowed, and in all the franctic clicking I created some new folders on my desktop :)

    Amazing what you got done in 48 hours in terms of material and functionality. If the game was a bit simpler and more polished it would be one of the best games too.

    BTW: fore Mac OS X users, the app as is doesn't work due to a permissions problem. I uploaded a fixed version to:
    http://logic-dream.com/ext/CarnageMac.zip

    @SXPanda, feel free to link to the fixed version. I only had to add execute permission to the app in the bundle to make it work.

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:53am

    this is pretty cool. controls were a bit challenging. I like the different skills and the destructable environments.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]