Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 76 days, 13 hours, 1 minute, 54 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    YOU ARE THE VILLAIN! - KWL_TW - Jam Entry

    I can't arrive the deadline of The Competition, so I join the Jam.
    All made by one person.(and that's me, sure.)
    Tool used: Stencyl, photoshop.
    No time to make some sound:(

    How to play:
    There are two way to play this game, both use mouse.

    1.Play as the people
    There are many people on the scene, Find out where the villain is, then teach him a lesson!
    Just find out and click on the villain, beware of time limit.

    2.Play as the villain
    Everyone on the street hate you.
    So, stay away from the people unless you want them to kick your ass!
    The villain will follow the mouse arrow, try not to be caught by people.

    Thanks for playing!
    Peace!

    View KWL_TW's journal. | View all entries by KWL_TW

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #94Fun(Jam)3.15
    #132Humor(Jam)2.74
    #134Innovation(Jam)3.03
    #137Graphics(Jam)3.35
    #153Overall(Jam)3.05
    #174Theme(Jam)3.25
    #229Mood(Jam)2.56
    #273Audio(Jam)1.14

    Comments

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Lol... good idea!

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:48am

    cool game

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01am

    such a cute little game!

    Nsmurf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02am

    Very nice! I like the different modes. Could use some sound.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

    I like that you gave us the option to play two modes! I enjoyed being the people because it felt like I was playing a timed "Where's Waldo" on steroids :D Good job!

    Trigun7000 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15am

    This felt pretty challenging as it was. I just wish there were more ways to determine if a person is a villain instead of appearance.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27am

    Great idea! Took me back to Waldo!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:05am

    Fun!
    Good to play the same scene but two different gameplays.
    Good job!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10am

    Haha, don't be evil. :p

    caasi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:45am

    Zergs, zergs everywhere. :p

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56am

    Well done, I love it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:58am

    How funny !
    I like how the guy is being lynched by everyone

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58am

    Gameplay is simple yet the meaning behind it is profound. And it really fits the theme.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    Simple, fun and original! I like the idea!

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    funny and entertaining =]
    it bothered me that as you advance on the rounds, you get more time to find him. Maybe there could be some more balance between number of people and time variation.
    still, i liked it a lot , and laughed a lot when the villain got beaten by everyone , haha

    ENP says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    Nice game!

    1CoinTeam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Very very funny and good concept. I love play as the villain although its quite difficult.

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Lots of fun!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33am

    Wow, so many comments!
    Thanks all!

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

    OMG! Public Lynchings!

    Your spritework is really cute, I liked it a lot. To bad you didn't have time for sound, the "whack! Bam! Woop!" would be much cooler with those :-)

    Why is the villain an old guy with a suit?? :-( I'm an old guy with a suit! Don't kick me ok?

    The way that the characters moved reminded me of the "infectionator" series. It would be nice if you drew a street, or something like that, as a background and added it to your game.

    Thanks!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:28am

    @caranha
    Thank you!
    Don't worry, I won't kick you! Haha!
    I drew villain as an old guy with suit,
    that's because I set him as a business man earn a lot dirty money. In my country, there is a man just like this guy...
    I just checked "Infectionator", it's pretty cool! Yeah, I would like to drew a street for my game!

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:05am

    It's easy to play as people (highscore 14) but kinda hard for villain :D

    illugion says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:06pm

    NOOOOOOOOOO i lost on round 8 D: he ran out of the screen oh noes LOL that was really fun to play, i liked the simplicity and the way that the difficulty was raising :D

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:18pm

    Really nice idea in this game, nice graphics too!

    Perhaps there could have been something to prevent characters from leaving screen, sometimes the villain escapes outside the screen making him unclickable. But otherwise this was very well done!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]