Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 53 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 3 hours, 53 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Evile, inc - nickworks - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A fun little bullet-hell / tower-defense game.

    I guess I should add that you play the game with the mouse, clicking on buttons to spawn ships to attack the hero ship. Press SPACE to pause/unpause (although sometimes flash seems to lose focus, so if keyboard input isn't working, just click in the flash player again). Also you can use 1-5 as hotkeys to launch respective ships.

    Clicking on one of your ships brings up the upgrade menu. You can spend money to increase your ships' abilities. You can also access the Customize Loadout menu before each level to customize the default loadout for each ship, so you you don't have to pause the game and add perks to each ship that you launch. Be warned that changing the default loadout of a ship makes each instance of that ship more expensive to produce!

    All combat is done for you, so you can focus on resource management. I tried to add a lot of variety to the ships, upgrades, and perks to keep gameplay interesting and allow for a modicum of divergent play.

    Unfortunately I didn't get to add audio, which really hurts the game's appeal. Anyways, I hope you enjoy!

    View nickworks's journal. | View all entries by nickworks

    Ratings

    Coolness60%
    #101Overall3.53
    #109Innovation3.53
    #128Fun3.38
    #210Theme3.55
    #499Humor2.14
    #539Mood2.45
    #607Audio1.19
    #673Graphics2.08

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:17am

    Cool idea! I really like the idea. You should definitely polish this one up.

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18am

    That was a lot of fun and not at all what I expected.

    Deril says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Interesting idea! Balancing is needed, to make it more fun. Upgrading was too expensive.. and in most cases lead to certain death.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42am

    I like this game !
    I did not expect this at all.
    Its a bit like a tower defense but the other way round :)
    Thx for the game.

    Verrazano says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

    I think the game could have done with a few sounds like pew pew, or kapow for explosions and bullets. But other than that the game was really solid and worked well. I liked the short back story it was pretty funny, and I enjoyed the game, I was trying to minmax part way through, but couldn't figure out a good solution.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:59am

    Pretty cool. For some reason the upgrade menu kept being skipped after the first few waves. I could see it for a split second then it was gone, even if I had not touched anything.

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

    @Deril It absolutely best not to go overboard with the custom loadouts, they get way too expensive early on. :) But you're right that the game definitely needs more time being balanced. Thanks for playing!

    @dalbinblue The upgrade menu will skip if you lose a level (or if you have all of the upgrades). Thanks for playing!

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Sound and better upgrade system (didn't really get it and couldn't continue after stage 3)

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27am

    Oi! Stop that friendly fire mate! At least for some ships, just to make it more strategic. But otherwise a nice game.

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:33am

    I like the idea of playing against the hero, it's quite clever and matches the contest's theme well. It's a highly enjoyable game and equally as good as some of those anti-hero type games. Great job!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48am

    Gameplay-wise this one is better than most of the games utilizing this mechanic. Sound and better graphics would have improved this entry.

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    Your have strategy though. And I love how I can upgrade my ships. Who cares about sound =) Main thing is getting gameplay working first. I realise there wasn't strategy late into the compo, and I didn't have time to change it.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    It's good to add a pause strategy mechanism!

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Very nice. I am impressed that you can did this with all those upgrades! Some of them seemed unbalanced, but overall it's great and kept me playing.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Good game design!

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:09pm

    Nice idea!

    uuav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Really nice take on the reversed shmup. Add some fancy sprites
    and badass music and you got a really well polished game !

    sev_inf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:12pm

    Awesome idea! Always dreamt to play in a space shooter as a mobs army.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    The core gameplay loop works very well. I like the customised loadouts idea too, though I beat every level by simply spamming un-upgraded psychos.

    Also, there might be a small bug where the yellow ship is on the right edge of the screen and psychos hit it from behind but don't do any damage.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    Pretty cool! As one small constructive thing to think about, I think it would've been nice if you prevented players from being able to buy an upgrade if it means they won't be able to buy a ship next round. I had to wait for some cash to float down in space before I could spawn a drone, and wasted valuable time. Definitely was still pretty fun though.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    Well executed idea, with proper graphics and sound/music, you'll have a really great game !

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:20am

    Nice, seeing quite a few of these reverse SHMUPs and this one is quite well done. Good work.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:56am

    A fun reverse-shmup! Bullet-hell games are always so difficult for me, despite my loving them, so it was good to turn the tables and be the one dishing out the pain for a change! :)

    Also, thank you for including the number key bindings! Absolutely indispensable.

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    Really nice, with bit polishing this could be truly awesome, currently it's perhaps bit too difficult because the upgrades cost so much.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:54pm

    Found myself playing this for quite a while. I've seen developers approach this concept before and come up short, whereas this had just the right amount of progression to keep me playing.

    Damn, I really found myself loathing that nasty hero ship.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]