Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 13 hours, 55 minutes, 29 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Conquer The Kingdom - DaGamesta - Jam Entry

    Hey, DaGamesta here! This is me and WojWork's first Ludam Dare Jam, as well as our first ever completed game coincidentally. I'm the programmer, and he was the game designer/artist. There are still some errors in this game as it is, but we hope to polish it up and re-release it without any known issues. In the meantime, enjoy! And here's a message from WojWorks:

    Wreck havoc as a villain making his way to become the evil ruler of a medieval kingdom!

    Z-jump
    X-attack

    arrow keys-move/fly

    f4-fullscreen

    esc-exit game

    sound effect credit goes to these guys over at soundbible.com:
    Brandino480
    Stephan Schutze
    Mike Koenig


    We've learned a-lot this time around, but here's what I know I couldn't get to fixing:

    -Knights occassionally move oddly on contact with the ground, nothing big.
    -Villagers with pitchforks aren't affected by fire on the ground.

    This game was programmed with:
    -C++
    -Visual Studio 2010
    -Allegro 5.0.5
    -A general game engine engine made to go with Allegro programmed by me beforehand.

    Note: I will not be porting this game to Linux/Mac ATM, it's' not worth the trouble I've realized it is. I've learned my lesson, though, and Next Ludum Dare I will be working with Java!

    A Post Mortem has been made, albeit not with many changes. Essentially it's just the following changes:

    -You can now properly close the window by clicking the "X" button.
    -You can now mute the game by pressing the M key.
    -The sounds have been re-balanced a bit in terms of volume.
    -The Knights no longer have any collision errors with the ground.
    -Villagers and the hero are now properly affected by fire on the ground.
    -Villagers now face left initially like they're supposed to.
    -A fire sound plays with the regular shooting sound when you have the ultimate weapon.

    Sadly I didn't see much room for actually expanding this into a longer game, especially in the world outside of the Ludum Dare and its theme as an excuse for what the game is. Would probably be good as a Flash/Java game, but... I don't really feel like porting into another language entirely just for that purpose.

    So I'll leave it at this, if you aren't voting please be sure to play the post-mortem, it is error-free and pretty much what we'd intended the game to be in the first place.

    View DaGamesta's journal. | View all entries by DaGamesta

    Ratings

    Coolness91%
    #16Fun(Jam)3.80
    #57Theme(Jam)3.82
    #61Overall(Jam)3.51
    #90Mood(Jam)3.21
    #117Humor(Jam)2.87
    #128Graphics(Jam)3.43
    #187Innovation(Jam)2.73
    #188Audio(Jam)2.62

    Comments

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38pm

    Wow that game was fun! :D I liked to burn everything down :3

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    This was surprisingly good and really fun to play. Initially, i thought that the first upgrade was useless, but the following ones were great!

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

    Well, I'd say the first upgrade made it easier to hit those dang knights at first, but thanks for the input! The positive reviews are a nice confirmation that this game isn't terrible, haha.

    Diventurer says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

    I like the art, but at the same time - it is too small. The sounds are great, but at the same time - some are too loud compared to others, so you hear the annoying differences or whatever. :D
    It was a fun game to play, I liked it.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18am

    Thanks for the rating, Diventurer. Yeah, the sounds could have used some more work in terms of volume, I agree, but it's too late for that now. I guess you could say the sprites are the size they are because that's the style. Thanks for the feedback, we're here to learn!

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Quite good.

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

    VERY FUN. the game progresses very nicely I absolutely loved it.

    lur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Lots of havoc to wreck! Not very challenging but lots of fun.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    Quantumvm: Thanks, we put a lot of effort into the flow!

    Lur: Well, we were going more for the power-lust feel, but it's good to know that it was lots of fun regardless of whether it was too easy or not.

    Stryphe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:44am

    I liked near the end of the level with max power it was like a fire work show.

    Good work!

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33am

    It's great to be evil :) Nice work.

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23pm

    yay! I conquered the kingndom! The MAX is awesome!

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:14pm

    I really liked this one. It progresses very nicely and is fun to play. The graphics and sound go together quite nicely. I also liked the ending, but to answer it, go back and kill the knights you skipped. All in all, great game, and I say you could make a pretty good platformer with this engine.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:43pm

    Gravity Games - Thanks! All this positive feedback is too fantastic. :D As for the engine, it actually is pretty sloppy, I'd say, but then again it was made in the 72 hours, at least the platforming part. I'll upload the source today.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54am

    Loved it. Awesome powerups and cool art. Well done. Could have done with music though.

    Harrk says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:14am

    All this needs is a little music and you've got yourself a masterpiece!

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:26am

    Argh, I knew the music would be an issue. Sadly we didn't have a composer, and WojWorks didn't feel that any of the songs he found fit well enough. We'll try to include music in the post-mortem if we end up doing one, though.

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    Very fun game, I really liked the powerups.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Entertaingly destructive, the maxed out power at the end was great fun.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Fun game, especially with all the graphical effects near the end. Reallly easy, I held down two buttons and didn't lose any health. Loved the "DESTROY EVERYTHING" ending!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    Overpowered weapon is overpowered
    Thank you for your game, it was really funny, especially at the end with the ultimate upgrade. The progression is very good so we can actually enjoy having a so great power.
    Nice work !

    youdonotexist says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:10am

    is it possible to get a Web/Mac build?

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:48am

    Actually, I'm working on that, youdonotexist. But I need to get my hands on a Mac before I can get a Mac build, and that's the holdup. Sadly, Allegro does not compile for the web. At least not as far as I know... I'll get to work on seeing about that too.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Haha, that was really fun. Wasn't expecting a boss after all that unchallenged carnage. Nice one!

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:11am

    Very, very cool. It all feels so fit together, and the art reminds me of Knytt Stories. Thoughts-

    Bad:
    -Tiny little glitches here and there that throw you off, but it's not so bad.

    Good:
    +Very cool making the title screen part of the level, pretty sweet.
    +Graphics are nice and uniform, as well as the fact you made some fantastic choices in sound effects.
    +It has a well defined beginning, middle and end, which really brings it together. Good work.

    joaorequiao says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:12pm

    Awesome! I Had REAL fun!

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    Puzzlem00n - Thanks! We worked hard on the little details, glad someone noticed. :)

    As for the little glitches, my platforming engine is really sloppy, but I'm hoping to turn what I made in this competition into an even crisper, cleaner platforming engine.

    LoneStranger says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:15am

    At one point when I had fire, I found I was unable to move at all. The game kept going and a jumpy dude eventually killed me, but I couldn't do anything. Up until that point though, I thought it was entertaining, destroying everything.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:47am

    LoneStranger - Odd, I've never experienced that error before, and no-one has said anything about such an error as of yet. Did you get stuck in a wall or something? Elaboration is key when it comes to fixing errors.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Was actually kind of cool to see the transition from peace to ultimate destruction.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    I loved te progression in this game. Cute graphics and a somewhat buggy control. God game nontheless =)

    goerp says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:47pm

    That was a lot of fun to play.
    The graphics were small but cute. The bad guy was very good!
    Good game.
    You might say that it was a bit easy, but during a Ludum you don't play most gamres for very long and now I have seen all content (in contrast to my game that was so difficult that most people didn't even get to see beavers or lumberjacks.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:52am

    goerp: Thanks! That's what we were going for. Originally the game was harder, but we decided we wanted both the hardcore and casual gamers to get through and see all the content, not to mention people who get easily bored or distracted.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:58pm

    Daaaamn! I was wondering where it was going with all the powers, and then you get MAX and everything goes crazy! I smiled playing this game, great fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]