Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 19 hours, 3 minutes, 47 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You are the Dragon - wallmasterr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Made in blender 2.49b needs glsl capable graphics card.

    Heres a video of it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NsOsQ_h6T38&feature=youtu.be

    There is still a lot of bugs, If you fall through the flore press r to respawn. and try not to stand to close to things when your burning them coz it might push you right off the map.

    For people not on windows. aparently it runs in wine on linux and for any platform you can downlaod blender 2.49b and drag the .blend file onto the blender player and it should run ok.
    blender link:http://download.blender.org/release/Blender2.49b/

    for more npr styled games go to my blog:
    http://alshonours.blogspot.co.uk/

    View wallmasterr's journal. | View all entries by wallmasterr

    Ratings

    Graphics4.67
    Coolness57%
    #78Theme3.88
    #112Mood3.32
    #178Overall3.34
    #257Innovation3.10
    #266Fun3.06
    #477Humor2.19

    Comments

    Bactopiad says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Nice.
    VERY nice.

    xviniette says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Very impressive! Vongratulation.

    SXPanda says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:07am

    I really like the graphical style. Reminiscent of feudal Japanese art. And the gameplay is fun too, although a little glitchy :p.

    ryebread761 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Where is the source link?

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:01am

    the source is in the same downlaod

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16am

    Interesting

    sanderman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Love the art style and mood of the game. Flying around is kind of relaxing.

    Unfortunately it also runs at a very low fps on my machine.(Athlon X2 4200, Nvidia 8800GT) And I managed to get below the ground at some point.

    I would love to see more games experimenting with flying game play.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Nice entry! Dragons are awesome.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15am

    Good entry, it has really cool art, looking gorgeous. In my PC it did play no sound :/ Sometimes Dragon would not fly or get stuck to easely in houses. But it was fun like hell to burn the towns and be a dragon! :D

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    Wow. Pretty. I'm very impressed with this. I hope you continue working on it, it's amazing.
    My two year old gave it a "TROGDOR!" so he approves too :)

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:24pm

    I really LOVE this game.
    I was playing my own music and sounds in my mind, dont know why it feels like Skyrim...yeah, you control the dragon :)
    I found a bug with coliders and the dragon gone through the scene, anyway I give you good scores ;)

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    Absolutely beautiful! This entry also runs in Wine in case you're interested. The graphics are stunning, and the animations are smooth! The fire texture completes the feeling that it is all an adventure, where you are indeed the villain :)

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    The games looks really nice and stuff, but I couldn't understand what to do to make the red thingy go bigger. And also the controls were a little hard, it would've been nicer if you could control the camera using the mouse.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    Great art, okay game - very impressive for a LD48 entry indeed!!

    Jilt says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    You're crazy, man, this is fuckin' awesome.
    Those graphics, oh my god.

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Woooooow !!! Just completely awesome amazing graphics, had real fun by flying with the dragon. Really nice :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:05pm

    Really like the direction you are going with the art. Camera needs a bit of work :)

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Despite a few bugs, it's a cool entry !

    someone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Really love the art style.
    Unfortunately runs a bit slow on my machine. Also the controls are a bit awkward.
    Excellent entry, well done.

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Very impressive and very inspiring =O

    Mindfields says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    TROGDORRRRRRRRRR!

    Awesome.

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20pm

    ye lol burnanating the county side :P burnanating the pezants

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    I like your art style.

    Mago says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    Great graphics, it reminds me of Okami.
    Game is fun all though I often ended up thrown off the map

    ratking says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    Nicely done graphics! I especially like the idea with the animated texture for the dragon; I will borrow that idea. ;)
    Too bad it's really glitchy, and I get score points when I press R? I wouldn't have used the left mouse button for blowing fire, BTW, because it's the only use of the mouse. This way I tried all keys for more interaction than flying and had to read the instructions afterwards to find out.
    Nice entry overall.

    wallmasterr says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Ye i had the intenion of getting the mouse look controlles in for the compo but didint get round to it. Thays what left and right mouse buttons are for fire. Iv almost got it working now though. Il hopefully up an updated version soon. And if you want more game arty tips have a look at my blog.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    Love the graphical style and the dragon model is fantastic. Controls are a bit glitchy though and flying is a little frustrating. But as I say, very nice look to the game!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Glitchy and clunky to control, but I really like the idea and the graphics are really nice, reminds me a bit of Okami!

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:41pm

    Awesome textures!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:00am

    The graphics are really cool in this game. I never thought of using blender to make a game, might try it out now.

    I just went around lighting stuff on fire. I fell through the floor at one point and had to restart the game.

    The animation of the dragon is really good.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]