Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 5 hours, 45 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    HeartBreaker - 1CoinTeam - Jam Entry

    You are a tough guy that never shows his feelings? Tired of getting hurt because you are always thinking with your heart?

    Then use your BRAIN and finish with all that mushy s***!

    Take control of Dr.Brain, an evil cold minded moustache man and destroy all the cute hearts with your powerful laser. You will surely lost some neurons in the process, so not forget to collect them all!

    Use or Arrow Keys to move, Down Arrow Key to jump higher and X Key to shoot.

    Objectives:
    - Reach the end of the game and face the Heart King.
    - Collect all the neurons to get a final surprise.

    Features:
    - Gameplay mechanics inspired in the great Cauldron II.
    - 10 levels that will grant you a great challenge.
    - Final Boss at the end of the game :).

    **Note: We recommend you to use 800x600 resolution!

    Credits:
    Isaac Giron - Programmer & Designer.
    Carlos Diaz - Artist.
    Jacobo Caceres - Music.

    View 1CoinTeam's journal. | View all entries by 1CoinTeam

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #10Graphics(Jam)4.52
    #45Audio(Jam)3.54
    #60Humor(Jam)3.24
    #102Overall(Jam)3.33
    #122Mood(Jam)3.00
    #170Fun(Jam)2.78
    #211Theme(Jam)3.04
    #232Innovation(Jam)2.56

    Comments

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:28am

    Boss is haaard

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:15am

    I couldn't get past the boss D:

    1CoinTeam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Thanks for comment. If you pass the boss, you will have a little surprise :)

    Izitmee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    You gotta love the graphics in this game, and Dr Brain is a great character :)

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:27am

    Great artwork!

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    nice art and sound, pretty cool mechanics too!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Pretty hard controls :), it's already hard to jump over double spikes.

    Doddler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Very enjoyable, and great art.

    celsyum says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    em , I went back and camera moved forward and then I was stuck. Nice work.

    dek says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:39pm

    Beautiful art style. Controls did not feel so fluid though :/ It was pretty hard jumping over the spikes.

    galman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Great game and awesome graphics! Control are a bit hard and music feels a bit not connected to the game, but still an awesome game. Well done :)

    wlad says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    Very professional! Theme, sounds, graphics, gameplay and mechanics are superb. So is the boss. I needed nearly half an hour to beat him. Great!

    CireNeikual says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 3:29am

    The boss was easy until the flying hearts came!

    Waynetron says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:17am

    The visuals are lovely. Extra points for a nice logo / title screen. Music also fits really well.
    Shame about the controls.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:18pm

    Nice art and music, the controls are really unwieldy and unresponsive though :/
    I don't get why the laser has such a limited range.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]