Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 20 hours, 28 minutes, 5 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 20 hours, 28 minutes, 6 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Totally Unqualified Getaway Driver - kerneltrick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    TOTALY UNQUALIFIED GETAWAY DRIVER V.1
    programming - art - sound by Aaron Woodard [kerneltrick.com]

    This is my first Ludum Dare entry

    THE SETUP:
    Your crew just robbed a bank and your the getaway driver.
    Your plan is escape to the sewers across town.
    The cops are pissed and out for blood. Watch out of pedestrians.

    Controls:
    Up: Forward
    Down: reverse
    Left: left
    Right: Right

    Hitting 'Esc' at any time will end the game.

    View kerneltrick's journal. | View all entries by kerneltrick

    Ratings

    Coolness55%
    #203Fun3.18
    #335Mood2.83
    #354Theme3.25
    #378Humor2.48
    #396Overall2.93
    #427Graphics2.79
    #520Audio1.81
    #567Innovation2.43

    Comments

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:27am

    The game is really good and funny!It runs smooth and cool handling. But the problem is the sound, the engine sound is really annoying at the end, so I had to take it off :/ Again, really good entry! :D

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44am

    Nice, my original idea was for a carmageddon/road rage game too! Fun to play but the sound makes me wants to shift up !

    hints says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46am

    So much fun. Control scheme is perfect, though it seems hitting the sidewalk slows you down a bit too much, every time i end up on the sidewalk, I can't get off before the cops ram me to pieces.

    Hume says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47am

    Driving game! Awesome.

    Watch out for pedestrians. Suuuuuuure.

    The window wouldn't respond to clicking the close button and I had to end the process.

    apophenia says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:10am

    Cool game with some nice functionality. Like others said, it's worth bringing the engine noise down a bit. Hitting the sidewalk is also a pretty big pain; I got wedged between two of those grey things and it took me ages to maneuver out.

    kerneltrick says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Thanks for the comments
    Sorry about the close button. At anytime you can hit 'Esc' to quit the game.

    Lesson learned about the engine noise. ;(
    I created a drop in replacement file that's half the volume if anyone wants. [http://www.kerneltrick.com/download/car2.wav]

    yaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:18am

    Excellent!

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:46pm

    Good game!

    The final is critical though :D!

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:17pm

    At first I was wondering, why is there a blood splatter every time I hit a green cactus? :) Nice game!

    Static_boy123 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

    Very fun. The only problem is that the only way to quit is to open up task manager.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18am

    Certainly surprised to see a driving game here, cool!

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19am

    Fun, lots of collision bugs and man are those cops homicidal! It's a complete game, yeay! And not ridiculously hard. I liked it! Lots of potential.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    I found the controls a little too difficult, I kept getting stuck in the walls.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:16am

    cute game. too short! also i found the sound a bit obnoxious. the controls reminded me of all the frustrations i used to get playing micro machines/rc pro am =D, but they were definitely appropriate given the title.

    MadcoreTom says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:18am

    Nice game. I wish there was a way to get health back while on the run. sometimes i got jammed between two cop cars and i would lose all my health

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    The sounds get annoying quickly.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:30pm

    Eh, nice idea. I was having fun (really!) and then I started to hit the walls. Sometimes it took me half a minute to slowly edge my way back out of one. nice graphics.

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:44pm

    Nice car control! I like the way the car slides. Anyway is too easy to damage the car. Engine sound is very annoying! :'D

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Totally love the graphics. Those retro style detailed inserts are a great touch too. Polished game overall, aside from the slightly annoying engine sound.

    Unfortunately it has nothing to do with the theme. The typical video game hero is more villainous :P

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Also I couldn't close nor restart the game, had to create another instance every time I wanted to retry.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:01am

    Ow, my ears..
    and it sounds like the car is trying to start, but driving at the same time..

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]