Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 20 hours, 3 minutes, 14 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    BourbonBorn - Cthu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The accidental villain themed web game prototype. A bit like Dizzy meets Skyrim and Deathspank. Unfortunately far from finished, but I like the premise enough to put a few more hours on it this week.

    Use arrow keys/WAD to control, E/F/Z/J to interact.

    Requires recent Flash Player plugin (11.3+). I used Starling, Nape and IntelliJ IDEA. Tested hardly at all...


    EDIT: Yep, tree part is the end. Should have made it more obvious, sorry. Updated post compo version is coming in a few days!

    View Cthu's journal. | View all entries by Cthu

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #150Humor3.17
    #543Theme2.79
    #599Audio1.22
    #608Fun2.29
    #614Mood2.27
    #620Graphics2.22
    #693Overall2.30
    #708Innovation2.01

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:18am

    goat spotted!

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    Em... what? I chopped the tree and could do anything else. But I found that fun XD

    rumachine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    Goat... hilarious game!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:53pm

    Nice and simple

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Hahaa, okay it was very short but I did laugh at the punchline

    foksa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Short and fun :)
    Having all that interaction buttons that do the same thing is a bit confusing... at first I kept pressing different button to see if the do different things

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    A surprise ! I smiled and that's not often with LD' games. But veryveryvery short sadly !

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:59pm

    Hehe, funny game :)

    Sounds, music, some hillbillies and you got something nice at hands that you should keep developing.

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    hahaha

    Yogr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    love the title and intro graphic, and the dead goat ending, Very evil. Game needed more bourbon!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Funny but too short.

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    yup

    SiENcE says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Well done and a funny ending :).

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    Splatted. Funny.

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:01am

    Thanks asshole. Hahahahaa. Funny.

    Mava says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:02am

    Thats was funny :) nice idea

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

    too short

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

    It's unfortunately over far too quickly.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

    I quite like the idea of an accidental hero, or an accidental villain - somehow who tries to be good but ultimately ends up being evil.

    Schwiggy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56am

    ^That; it's instantly more complex tale than someone who purposefully set out to kill and destroy.
    I also laughed ha :)

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    could be the beginnings of something here :)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    Cool punchline.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    woaw, very short..

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    The game stopped when I cut down the tree. It run very smoothly for a flash game though!

    ahm99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    Short :( kinda funny though :)

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    lol

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    I like it! Cheers.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Poor goat D: that was fun ! XD

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:24am

    The graphics kept turning into half-triangles for some reason so it was hard to get into.

    cdata says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Hilarious. I love it :)

    btw, I fixed the Opera bug with my game. Who knew that Opera throws a DOM exception when you try to draw a rectangle with 0 width and 0 height to a canvas :D

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:51am

    Haha. "Thanks asshole!"

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    minimalist :)

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    What a surprise...lol

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    I was stunned for like 2 sec and lol'd

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    The terrain art is great but it's a shame that didn't reflect on the characters or gameplay.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    The ending was funny, poor goat :). Yeah it was very short. Good job!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:53am

    Short and sweet, I suppose! :D The controls are there though, so you have a nice foundation to continue to build on!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:04am

    Full marks for Humor.

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Loved the idea, wish it were longer.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:53am

    short but very very cute! It is indeed like Dizzy, awesome!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:50am

    stuck in 'thanks asshole'

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

    Pretty fun,but a shame it is so short

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:24pm

    It really was short! Was there no sound also? Ending had its merits!

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:17pm

    Short but interesting. No sound or music.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:19pm

    Hahahaha.

    Yeah, definitely an ending screen would help there :D

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:48am

    Well that was short!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]