Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 16 hours, 15 minutes, 30 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    1,500,000 - joecarrot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is the first game I have ever completed. I am so happy to have taken part in this for the first time! I'm excited to be part of future LD's.

    For some reason my pixel art got all compressed around the end of dev. I don't know why. Anyways.. it still looks more or less the same ;)

    View joecarrot's journal. | View all entries by joecarrot

    Ratings

    Coolness54%
    #100Fun3.44
    #139Audio3.12
    #150Humor3.17
    #245Mood3.00
    #254Overall3.19
    #404Graphics2.83
    #410Innovation2.75
    #510Theme2.89

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

    Nice job! Keep going, this was fun. I liked the goat :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52am

    Really solid game, I absolutely love the commander guy who speaks to you. The only major problem I could find is that houses continue to appear during menu screens. They don't proceed, but they build up, basically rendering the game impossible unless you exit the menu really fast.
    Overall, great game!

    Jacob says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58am

    Fairly difficult. I dig the idea. Friendly fire :)

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52am

    Very nice audio and graphics, though it got way too hard for me too quickly.

    Awesome comments by your commander, very nice touch.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Solid. Not sure if I'm a villain, though.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    Interesting, don't really know how it relates to the theme but it's quite fun.

    gty says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    I confess I loved this game but I kind of hate the camera shaking while shooting.

    joecarrot says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    yeah the camera shake was kind of intended to be jarring. I did it after reading some fancy twitter game devs talking about how cheap an effect it was.

    Catmoo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    I really enjoyed it, first game I wasn't sure, but then in the second game it got really good. Although it felt a little pointless being told not to shoot certain ones as you can't fully control the guns when you've got five of them lined up and there happens to be a casualty. I really enjoyed it though! became loads of fun!

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

    Really fun game. Loved the gameplay.

    soupy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:39am

    Got to the boss, it was really great. The music and sound design was superb. I also really like how the game rules explored villainy. It was really much easier to just create a bullet storm that nothing could survive in, rather than worry too much about killing innocents, which is exactly the problem with US counter-terrorism philosophy. A great example of how a game can make a point without beating you over the head with it.

    joecarrot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

    Aw thanks Soup! THat's exactly what I was going for.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:02pm

    I laugh out when seeing a goat. Really like the force feedback of the gun while shooting.

    Just one thing, sometime both civilian and terrorist are spawned at the same position (not exactly but very close). It's hard to aim.

    Anyway, nice job :)

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    I have no idea what was going on, and unfortunately it was hard to last longer when there was a huge bunch of houses? approaching. But it was really fun to play. It felt pretty good with the movement and the little bounce. Also the music was nice. That commander dude was awesome.

    Good work. I liked it while it lasted. And congratulations on finishing your first compo.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Really interesting idea and I liked how it portrayed you being the villain, the game was good but there as annoying bug of characters spawning during the gun placing pause.

    The commander shouting things was a nice touch.

    gritfish says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:26am

    I guess you're the villain because eventually it becomes near impossible to not kill civilians?

    The boss is incredibly hard - is it actually beatable?

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    For some reason, I find the music very weirdly fun and cool. Gameplay was very solid and the game was fun to play.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Fun mechanic for shooting, but way too hard. Should spawn things slower and farther apart (not within x units of one another etc). With some polish it could be a nice little shooting gallery type game. Take some time to wrap this in some real narrative context and it could be interesting.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:24am

    Simple, but lots of fun!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:43am

    Really challenging game, just the way I like it :)

    ratking says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:35pm

    Nice music!
    BTW, in Unity you can change every texture to not get compressed by the engine.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]