Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 22 hours, 22 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bad Bad Pigeon - Andrey Pradun - Jam Entry

    Think like a Pigeon. Be The Pigeon! Bad Bad Pigeon!
    Gather coins, eat apples, shit on the cows, cars, monuments, etc.

    View Andrey Pradun's journal. | View all entries by Andrey Pradun

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #38Humor(Jam)3.46
    #47Graphics(Jam)4.08
    #87Overall(Jam)3.39
    #109Fun(Jam)3.09
    #110Mood(Jam)3.08
    #138Audio(Jam)2.97
    #174Theme(Jam)3.25
    #223Innovation(Jam)2.60

    Comments

    jam jam says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    абаÑÑака )))

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    i really enjoyed playing this game, how music was created?

    Claite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

    Great work! I wish the controls were a bit snappier considering some of the maneuvers, but i really liked the art and the gameplay was quite classic.

    jastkand says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:01am

    Awesome game! Good luck! :)

    Spiridios says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59am

    Pretty good game. Reminds me a bit of Potty Pigeon on the C64. =p

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:06am

    I like your take on the theme. :P The graphics were well done, as well. I personally found it a little difficult to control the pigeon, and hitting a wall put you in on an awkward trajectory. Aside from that, good work!

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    Super nice graphics. A little too hard to control. Congrats.

    caribou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Nice graphics, i wanted the pigeon to be a bit more nervous in the controls though :]

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38pm

    Shitting on the cows was great fun but the hitting on the wall kinda put me in a bad spot often. Sound was cool too!

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    Great game - it's the most fun I've had crapping on things in my entire life! Good overall polish with a great front end. A very well rounded game. Congrats!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01pm

    Very cool game :) Love the art! It remember a french song about that topic (being a bird to shit on people ^^)

    serebroff says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    LoL! Cool game!I always was dreaming about a take shit on a cows :)

    serebroff says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    Sorry, commented not from my own profile (it's our shared profile for voting) and make stupid mistake ("take shit" == "shit on" ) :/, nulld.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    Take that cows!

    Manest says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    Realy nice. Graphism realy good and nice realisation

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:22pm

    If I was a pigeon--I would wear a cowl too. A way to reduce your speed would be great for avoiding objects. Maybe an aerial flip to slow down?

    gregfagan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:23pm

    The bouncing after the pigeon hits something is awkward and can make it really hard to recover. The shitting felt added on and not really part of the game. Though, I think it was well done and a great entry.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    considering the splash screen, menu and instructions, it's one of the most polished games in this LD.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Good job, a really well polished entry, and I like your sense of humor, guys!
    P.S. Ha, the title of the game looks a bit similar to ours :)

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    I like saying "Bad Bad Pigeon" lol and the game is really cool :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:51pm

    Art style was really nice, however the pigeon really could do with snappier controls. Also bouncing off things kills you too much.

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    LOL! :)

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    Hehe, fun Idea, nice graphics!

    Mava says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Its funny and has a simple yet rewarding mechanic, nicely done :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    Really nice art style, but rather simplistic and the continuous movement gets annoying. Amazing art, however!

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Very crisp graphics!

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    Everything is really great! But because of controls and pigeon movements, it was really hard to play. I didn't manage to complete 1st level 10 times in a row :/

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22am

    Nice game. I wish there were some sound effects to go with the great music though

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:38am

    Great, polished art and UI! I only wish the controls were more precise; I found it really hard to navigate the sharper turns.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:59am

    Very nice and polished game, graphics look very good too.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:14am

    This would be great on a touch device as it kind of reminds me of Jetpack Joyride! Very nice job and I like the art style! :D

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:30am

    Very nice and polished. Also, quite fun!

    SeanAtr0n says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:34am

    Hah, my desire to poop on things has overcome my desire to stay alive

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38am

    Annoying birds, I'll really think killing this one if I met it.

    blob says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:50am

    Argh, hard to get back on track after you bounce off a wall...

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Cute game! The graphics really add to that effect. I like the idea of pooping on the cows and different little monuments, but I did think the movement was a bit awkward. The bounce-back was a bit hard to recover from, so I lost about 3 or so hearts on one error that I tried to recover from. Overall, it was fun! I really enjoyed playing it. :D

    psychopsam says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Kinda fun, kinda same as other games. Nice graphics and a pleasant distraction, though nothing new here. Solid game play and polish though.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    i never think about that when i saw the theme.. Bonus innovation :D

    dray says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    Very well polished game, i liked the art, the colisions or some movement don't react as excepted but the game is very solid

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    What a scumbag pidgeon!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:24pm

    Very great production but progression stay little behind. thanks :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:22pm

    Very nice little game.

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:04am

    I just like this game hahahaha

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:16am

    Great game difficulty was a bit hard due to bouces but good

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:35am

    Good work on the game. The idea is definitely fun, but the restart death penalty can be painful (especially since the player can get caught in a death loop where they cannot fly high enough to go around an obstacle after getting knocked down). The polish in the art and UI is great.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:36am

    Fun. Liked the music. Could use more audio. Running into things was janky. Kept getting caught in stun lock basically running into the same thing over and over. I too was reminded of Potty Pigeon on C64!

    1CoinTeam says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Funny, cool mechanics and cute game. A mixture of Jump'n Run and Paperboy :)

    3dwoody says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    Good fun! Pretty tough to make it through and a few instances where I got myself in a bit of fix due to bouncing back and not being able to make it through but a good game in all aspects and well placed with the theme.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:34am

    one of the best games from jam, very adorable graphics

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:34am

    Nice game!

    I feel some spots in the level are permanent death traps though, because the bird seems to float down after it hits a low wall, then u keep on hitting that wall once you recover.Maybe im not controlling the bird correctly.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:27am

    Gorgeous!

    wlad says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:44pm

    Never played some shitting-pigeon game before. And now its already the second one. Very cool game though - and not too easy.

    littleball says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:51pm

    Other than the controls, a great game. Well done

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:39am

    I thought the pooping aspect was hilarious, but it sometimes distracted me from where I was going...

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:41am

    Nice graphics :)

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:49am

    Well polished and amusing take on the theme, as well as pretty fun. Unfortunately I found the pigeon didn't go up or down fast enough which lead me to get stuck after hitting obstacles a lot.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:11pm

    Great idea and original use of the theme, controls are a bit hard but it makes the game hard enough to make me want to continue, nice job :3

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    funny, work on it! can be a nice app!

    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Lovely game!

    Saw kindalate that this is quite complicated, what with different kinds of bars and pickups. Perhaps that is oversimulating things.

    Still, nice work!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Nicely polished result.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:12pm

    Well polished game, love the graphics and music! A pigeon that poops stinky brown and a lovely smile...can't possibly be healthy.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:30pm

    Nice innovation and unique theme interpretation. The graphics are pleasing but the lack of sound effects is disappointing. Could've used some hilarious splat sounds or mooooos or something. Collision with the blocks seemed a bit suspect at times, but a slight bit of tuning can fix that. Good work!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:47am

    Interesting game. The controls were a little hard to get used to. Graphics are nice. Cool idea.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]