Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 3 hours, 53 minutes, 30 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Korruptor - Codexus - Jam Entry

    Solo entry for the Jam category.

    Not entirely finished unfortunately but playable as long as you read the instructions carefully... (no in-game tutorial :/)

    In this game you play a demon sent to earth to corrupt people with heavy metal!

    How to play:
    Unfortunately the game wasn't quite finished but it's playable. Corrupt people by throwing guitar at them which will turn them into guitar playing punks.

    Once you have met your quota you can go back to your base to reset the level while keeping your score.

    If time runs out you lose.

    You can make lots of points by converting people in a quick succession (combo bonus).

    So just try to make a maximum of points, sorry I didn't have time for proper levels.

    Controls:
    WASD keys: move (actually just left right)
    SPACE: jump
    Left Mouse Button: throw a guitar
    Right Mouse Button: Switch sides on your hoverboard


    This game was made solo mostly under Compo rules with the following exceptions:
    - 72 hours :)
    - I used textures from cgtextures.com
    - The music was generated with Band-In-A-Box using RealTracks. which uses small bits of recorded audio so I'm not sure if that would be allowed for the compo. My guess is no.
    - I copy pasted a camera code snippet from a previous compo

    Software used: Unity, ZBrush, Modo, Blender, xNormal, Photoshop, dDo beta, Filter Forge, Band-In-A-Box, Reaper (VST plugins: Shreddage, ReValver), SFXR

    *** Timelapse video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BF6dfgKm9wo

    View Codexus's journal. | View all entries by Codexus

    Ratings

    Coolness57%
    #25Audio(Jam)3.75
    #30Graphics(Jam)4.21
    #82Humor(Jam)3.13
    #126Overall(Jam)3.19
    #143Innovation(Jam)2.96
    #148Mood(Jam)2.88
    #167Theme(Jam)3.28
    #171Fun(Jam)2.77

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Good music, not so good controls.

    31eee384 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Impressive graphics for a jam game! Very difficult to time the guitar-throws right, though--had to make several passes sometimes. Even so, managed to get the quota and go back to base.

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice looking game, tough controls though. Impressive for a solo effort.

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    nice, but kinda confusing. Maybe placing something that will indicate where the guitar will land . That would make the game a bit easier to understand =]
    But i agree , it's pretty impressive for a solo effort! keep it up!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Great graphics, impressive for a solo entry. The controls are a bit difficult to get used to, though. Maybe an aiming point would be helpful.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:53am

    Great look, great concept, love the demon surfing a guitar :) Not so keen on the free camera and delay in throwing. Elements are all there for a great little game, just needs tuning. Be nice to have ramps so you could get some air...

    Mase says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:02am

    Pretty compelling stuff. I think it could use some ramps and half-pipes.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    Except for the controls, it's a decent entry, nice graphics and audio !

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    So much friggin innovation! I can't handle it. Yeah the controls are a bit awkward and I don't know why. Maybe it's because we can't fully control the dude but we can fully control the camera? I don't know how to explain it. It just takes a lot of time to get used to. Great job on the models and the overall concept is hilarious. Great work!

    SFX says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:01am

    The controls were really the only part of the game I didn't like. Everything else was pretty cool.

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:03am

    Simply, Wow! This was so good I played 3 rounds :-)
    Throw in a turbo boost (i.e. tweak the driving experience slightly) and reduce (but not eliminate) the throw latency (perhaps a little anim where the demon readies the next one like a javelin causing a delay?) and it'd be better. Some challenges, etc, building music with each convert, some cop-priests trying to exorcise you... this could go on and on :-)
    p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

    Husky says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:35am

    Music is good! You rock!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:03am

    The mouse motion controlling the position of the main camera was incredibly confusing. I played an entire round of the game looking side-on at the devil, feeling like I had no way to aim or shoot, because I didn't know the mouse would move the camera.

    Once I played the second round things got quite a bit easier. Not sure if it's just my computer but the performance chugged really hardcore.

    All that said, the music was really good, and the models and animations were stellar! It brought forth a great atmosphere.

    Per says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:21pm

    My current dominating deadly sin: Envy
    I want to be able to make animations like that in such a short time.
    The music is awesame.
    Controls need a bit of tuning and a reticle would be really helpful.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    That's a pretty crazy amount of texturing and modelling for 3 days. Good work.

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:30am

    impressive speedrun for a solo work! the controls are not so cool though, and I ran out of ammo quickly and spent a lot of time skating around unable doing nothing

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Great graphics as always. Good job with the soundtrack. Leaves room for more features like making tricks and stuff. Good job!

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    I didn't find the controls that annoying, but the "driving" experience could (should) be improved, for sure. Great graphics and nice idea!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    Neat concept, excellent graphics, controls could stand to be a bit tighter. I also felt that the cool down after the position flip was a bit too long. Also, an inverted mouse option for those of us who find it physically painful to play non-inverted would've been nice. :)

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    This is a great concept! Music is fitting too :)

    The entire mouse-swivel-setup is horrible though, the game moves way to fast to do on-the-fly calculations

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:27pm

    Good music, great graphics, but the controls are very difficult. Even if I stand in front of someone, there is a chance that I miss him with my guitar :D

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    impressive 3D work for 48h, gameplay is a bit repetitive, i suppose faster moves and throws would have added a bit more of a nervous gameplay D:

    triplefox says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:19am

    I had to get right up against the guys to hit them.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:25am

    Controls might be better if the camera stood behind the evil guitar surfer. Anyway, I loved the theme interpretation and the 3D graphics are amazing.

    Bouyer says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    This is really awesome once you get used to it!

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:37am

    Very impressive character work, even for 72 hours.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    woah, beautiful graphics and I thought the delay leading up to him throwing the guitar at an off-kilter angle added something to the gameplay. A few times he started spinning round in circles and I had to restart but that is probably my fault, also controls bla bla bla. Good-blinking-stuff.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Great idea with really nice presentation. With a little tuning of the controls and camera this could be an awesome game.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:39pm

    Found controls difficult - but looks and sounds are great!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:45pm

    Looks great, sounds great, it's a great concept, and I laughed out loud when I corrupted my first soul. Bur for God's (?) sake, tweak the controls, they can be so frustrating!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]