Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 23 hours, 1 minute, 26 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Target: Restaurant ! - illugion - Jam Entry

    This was my first ludum dare ( and my first game ! ) and unfortunately I didnt complete it in time, i hope you guys like what i've done :D
    Your objective is to make other people get fired so you can take their job and then become the owner of the restaurant! ( but thats not yet possible )
    I entered the jam alone ( I shouldnt have done that ) and i only had 2 days to do the game so that's why i wasnt able to complete it :P

    Controls:
    Up Arrow - Enter Doors/Talk
    Down Arrow - Pick up things
    X - Use things
    Z - Interact with objects
    Esc - Close
    ( oh and there is an easter egg if you press a super secret button )

    View illugion's journal. | View all entries by illugion

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #37Graphics(Jam)4.14
    #86Innovation(Jam)3.26
    #96Theme(Jam)3.62
    #104Humor(Jam)2.94
    #157Fun(Jam)2.86
    #179Mood(Jam)2.76
    #194Overall(Jam)2.88
    #268Audio(Jam)1.32

    Comments

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17am

    Loved the art style! Fun game, fit the theme nicely. All in all well done!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Really nice pixel art. I thought it was a fun idea, well executed, there just needs to be a little more gameplay.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47am

    The art style was fantastic! Even though it's so short I loved the endings.

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52am

    Its nice, but I'm not sure if its possible to get the waiter fired. The graphics however were nicely done, and its a shame you didn't have more time to finish...

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:03am

    Awesome art. Very cool game. Nicely done.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:04am

    Thanks a lot guys! I'm really glad you liked the game and the art :D I'm planning to finish the game later and then post a link to it somewhere but i think it will take some time XD
    To make the waiter get fired you gotta make him fall but you can't get caught by him ( there is a line of sight that i didnt indicate, sorry XP )

    Team Tibbles says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:57am

    My team did 8bit graphics also, and I can say they look great in games like yours!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

    Very good art and concept, wish you would have had more time.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27am

    Very good game for what it was. From realizing that I could pick up a banana to realizing that my target was the waiter to getting fired by being caught to realizing that I had to do it while he wasn't looking, I think things flowed very nicely. Sad it wasn't finished, it has so much potential. Keep up the good work!

    Jlebow says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:54am

    Good start. Looks like it could be fun with more time to develop it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Great style. But I didn't find the easter egg!

    awppy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:23pm

    It's a very fun little puzzle game concept, but unfortunately it's very short (at present). The visual style is great

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    Neat concept. Something like this could be expanded indefinitely, so I'd suggest if you have the time, go for it! I enjoyed it, and I'm sure with more content, it could become an interesting take on the puzzle genre. Congrats on your first game! :D

    DalsGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Cute game, a litle hard to understand thought!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:51pm

    awwwww! top marks for theme, graphics, humor and mood, despite your time handicap! Wow this can be really fun, are you taking it further?

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:26pm

    Thanks !!! And yes I will ! I will do my best and complete this game, i wont leave it like that :D

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Sounds like a fun game, but I cannot run windows. :( Awesome that you got something entered though. Good luck!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:13am

    I made the game on construct classic so i think it only runs on windows =/ i wish i had a Construct 2 license so i could make a web version maybe

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Really nice!! Just wish you had had more time to finish :(

    elxris says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    Failed to load plugin.
    ...AppData/Local/Temp/cap9494.tmp/3.csx

    On Win 7 x64

    illugion says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Thats weird.. i looked up for this error and it seems that some configurations on the computer can conflict with construct classic, i don't know how to fix that, sorry.. i'll try using another software next time =/

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20pm

    Beautiful pixel art. Couldn't figure out what to do though

    PaulSB says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    Feels like the start of a fun little game here! Just wish it had a little more gameplay fleshed out, but it's promising. And looks great!

    nathanj439 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    Great idea and execution. Just wish it was longer.

    Intoxicatious says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:39am

    I felt that the movement was a bit sluggish, but I still had fun.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:43am

    Hey u gave me a cool idea for the full game, i'll make some way that u can run XD

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    Nice game dude...evolved it :)

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Interesting concept, good art, shame it wasn't finished. I was kinda confused when I got the waiter fired and the game abruptly ended. :p

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:27am

    Love the art style and game concept,
    I really want to the game completed!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:48am

    Excellent work for a first-time solo entry.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    I liked how this game reminds me of the Ace Attorney series (because the boss is points and yells... just like the "Objection", etc).

    illugion says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:38am

    I really like the Ace Attorney series :D i didnt even think about it when i was doing the game but yeah it reminds me of that too haha XD

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:32pm

    Looks promising, please finish and update this page when you're done with a post-compo version.

    illugion says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:52am

    I will! I'm just resting a bit now but i'll work on it soon!

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:57am

    Superb artwork, in only one day you say? Excellent work! I missed sound? Nicely constructed puzzling, funny and compelling. Thank you!

    Mago says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

    I like game idea, it's original and fun. Also great graphics. This game has big potential, you should do a post compo version with more jobs to ruin.

    illugion says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:18pm

    It was more like two days i guess, i had monday to finish it, i submitted for the jam ( i couldnt finish it in only one day XD )

    illugion says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Ohhh, sorry, now i noticed i only wrote monday on my post, i'm really sorry about that, i edited now.

    Husky says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:35am

    Fun idea!
    And the art style is good!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Really awesome start. Keep working on it!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]