Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 0 hours, 34 minutes, 45 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    CORRUPTIONEXE - Xgor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    So here is my odd little game.
    It's about corrupting a poor man's clone of Super Mario Bros and just cause chaos, because let's face it, the true villains of video games are bugs and glitches!

    .... I kinda gave up when we had 12 hours left.. way too tired and I didn't really want to work more on the weird direction the game was turning out, thus the crap ending.

    View Xgor's journal. | View all entries by Xgor

    Ratings

    Coolness97%
    #28Innovation3.98
    #103Theme3.80
    #170Mood3.19
    #181Humor3.09
    #188Audio2.96
    #200Overall3.29
    #202Graphics3.40
    #356Fun2.86

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    This is nice, good idea !

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43am

    Very awesome idea. Only problem is installer.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:44am

    What's this I don't.... eh...

    Very original idea; even though it lacked a bit... I dunno, gameplay, i guess. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for an interactive story, just saying that this was, in my opinion, an interactive story.

    Anyway.

    - Original.
    - Fun, but a bit short and no replay value.
    - Graphics are stylish, and a nice touch with all the corruption.

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08am

    Nice try. I thought the concept was interesting. It would've been cool if you had the characters of the game cartridge trying to run through the created mayhem. Short game but nonetheless interesting.

    Sigrath says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Wow awesome idea, would love to see more!

    Ace says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

    Nice idea, sadly it wasn't very fun to play. I've always liked having a bit more control than just "point and watch things go bonkers".

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:38pm

    I liked the experimental nature of this(atleast thats how it felt to me). The graphics were reallly cool and made it feel like you were actually a horrible corrupt bug ;P although the ending could have been improved it was pretty fun.

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:17pm

    I win, I think. Neat game, coulda last longer and had more story but decent nonetheless. I like the idea of corrupting other games, I just wish you'd expanded it more

    GFM says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32pm

    What exactly did I just play?
    It was... interesting... xD

    I really liked this game. =D
    For sure, that is the worst villain from games!

    Granor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:33pm

    A very original idea. Graphic is fitting, but I would like to do a bit more than just see everything going corrupted.
    Annother ending would have been great. Also: it took me some time to figure out how to start, but that does not affect my rating.

    awppy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Really neat idea. There's little in the way of gameplay but the interactivity with the environment is very cool

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

    Looks okay, but I can't play & rate it until tomorrow.
    I love the concept.

    master4523 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:48pm

    I have literally no idea of what I've just played to, but it was enough to fuck my mind.

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    LOL

    Mava says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    This was a nice little experience, well done :)

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20am

    i REALLY like this idea. i just wish it were longer!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    Its... so chaotic without a history :|

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Rather random. Interesting, but I can see how you may have not known how to proceed.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    So weird, so bizarre. But I liked it, very creative and well made.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Innovative, short'n sweet. Excellent choice of villain.

    Hume says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    More!

    berkano says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    Really refreshing and unusual, loved it!

    OxyOxspring says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Clever idea! Was a little bit trippy but I liked the way things looked as they corrupted.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    A nice interpretation of the theme, I must say, but I fear the game lacks a little to much actual gameplay and control for me to really love it.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    Haha, I love the way some people are interpreting the theme, and this is no exception. Yes, bugs are indeed the villain, and I like the feel you got going here. Personally, though, while the mood was great, the gameplay was lacking. I still enjoyed it, though. See if you can push yourself to use something other than Game Maker in the future, though. Or at least not require us to install the game. Keep up the good work and keep improving!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:04am

    I actually enjoyed this a lot, it's really clever take on the theme and all the corruption and glitches were very convincing!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Clever idea but the lack of real gameplay, or a least the impression of it forbid me to really enjoy the game.
    Too bad, cause I really love the idea!
    (And please, do not require an installation :( )

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]