Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 6 hours, 23 minutes, 58 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    the BRINK - radmars - Jam Entry

    the Brink.
    arrow keys to move
    x - weak attack
    c - strong attack
    v - dash

    break the orbs to progress~
    watch out for that doctor!

    Team RADMARS:
    Brendo - level design / level painting
    Adhesion - programming / music / sfx
    emarcotte - programmin'
    spacemars - art / level painting
    tokken - art

    View radmars's journal. | View all entries by radmars

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #10Graphics(Jam)4.52
    #10Overall(Jam)3.95
    #14Audio(Jam)3.98
    #16Mood(Jam)3.89
    #20Fun(Jam)3.67
    #67Theme(Jam)3.77
    #115Innovation(Jam)3.12
    #143Humor(Jam)2.70

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03am

    Loved this, will be playing it more for sure. Great job with the sprites!

    zerebruin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Excellent atmosphere & good gameplay. The read hearts are *really* annoying :D

    RobKat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:07pm

    I want more! Seriously got immersed in this game, want to know what its all about, the music really highlights the character and man are those hearts annoying, good though:D

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Amazing game. Feels like there's so much more to it.

    netmute says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    This is beautifully executed on every level. I almost felt like sitting in front of my SNES.

    zeh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Another masterpiece. Bravo.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:12am

    The sound of the hearts dying was annoying at first, until I realized you could stun them and dash past. Really fun game, and brilliant graphics and sound. The final boss was strange and creepy. Loved the game.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    Amazing! I love the game!
    The art style, animations, system, and the ending!
    Really impressive, good job!

    mokujin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    Best pixel-art game i seen at this competition! Excellent!

    MadBill says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28am

    These guys are the bestest.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Very beautiful and interesting game! A bit hard for me, but still it's great!

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:45am

    Strange game. Visuals are looking cool and music is good. but I can't figure out what I need to do in this game. I'm break all violet orbs and what? Red orb is locked...
    Good work anyway =)

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:26am

    Beautiful game. Got a tad annoying in places with the hearts and walking near corners, felt a little clunky too - but these are all nit-picks.

    Nicely done.

    someone says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Very nice.
    Seemed a bit glitchy for me, and the orbs were still collidable after they were destroyed.

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:30am

    awesome graphics and a very smooth gameplay, very polished!

    I hate those happy hearts xD

    awppy says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:38am

    The music kept cutting out on me in stage 2 and stage 3. After about 20 seconds or so, it'd just stop.

    Took me a while to really figure out what was going on, and the lack of direction made it feel like I was wandering aimlessly until I started to learn the level layouts.

    I have to give credit to the visual design. They way you start out on the clouds, then make your way into what I thought was a hospital gone wrong, to the final area, to the ending - it put EVERYTHING into perspective and wow. I didn't think about what I was doing until I was done, and by then it was too late.

    Very potent.

    Also the kick animation is adorable. Bunch of happy little hearts clinging to you. So satisfying to kick them away. Piss off! Needed more knockback, though.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:54am

    Great tiles and sprites. Cool game.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:09am

    Nice art and gameplay :) I enjoyed it!

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:40am

    Amazing

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:48am

    Not bad

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Very complete and impressive game.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    Interesting use of the theme. Perhaps destroying private objects of the man who fights the death instead of orbs and important places of his life instead of cloud worlds? Like you did with the hospital.

    Nice atmosphere made by the lovely graphics, sound effect and music. Really good job.

    Sadly it gets a bit too easy, if you always push the keys for the strong attack and the dash simultaneous.

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Maybe you should add a little power-up progression because I found it slightly repetitive. But maybe I ask too much because the rest is absolutely amazing.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    I played to the end, and now I feel bad. Good job with the sprites. they are magnificent.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 4:34am

    Just beat the game! A massive amount of content, very well done.

    That many-armed boss was a bit annoying when he would paralyze you with his shot and you were surrounded by hearts; it made moving near impossible unless I spam the dash button repeatedly. Also, I kept wanting to hit spacebar which would scroll the webpage down.

    Otherwise, amazing gameplay. The music, art, and setting worked really well to set a mood and tell a story. Wonderful job!

    tonithy says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Wow. Realized what I was doing when I beat the game. Definitely felt some kind of way. Awesome game. Well implemented and great graphics. One thing, when in the room with the final boss, I was surrounded by hearts and I almost got locked in stun because of his high rate of fire a couple blond heads and all the hearts. Can get to be too much if enough follow you.

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:18am

    Fantastic stuff -- first use of the theme that both simple and well done. Love it.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 1:04am

    Astonishing game. Really superb. The level design was awesome, though sometimes I felt myself backtracking quite a bit. The art design and graphics as great as was the sound. This really felt like a great jam game in that it clearly allowed a huge amount of great content to be made and put together in a really focused way.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:09am

    Very nice full game design with end-boss and sad conclusion. Music, play style and art reminds me of good SNES era games. If you can expand on this later can you add 1 or 2 levels at the start to get used to things? Right now you're kind of thrown right in the middle with no explanation (also like SNES era games). Brilliant entry, well done.

    SiENcE says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:27am

    Nice to see a melonjs game. Last LD i also made one. Great gfx and the music fits well. Gameplay is also nice. Reminds me on Binding of Isaac :).

    Mase says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:36pm

    I enjoyed swatting away enemies and using the dash to move around. I could've used a radar or something. . . I lost 100 seconds backtracking to find a purple orb in the third level, and as a result lost almost instantly when I reached the boss. I realize that radar would lessen the searching/exploration aspect of the game, but maybe some kind of balance could be reached, like if after 20 seconds an arrow points to the nearest orb.

    Gungnir says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:46am

    Good atmosphere, great visuals and cool use of theme. Every enemy is extremely annoying. I wasn't quite lear why movement speed was reduced in some cases. The immunity period after damaging enemies seemed excessive, and removed the opportunity to really lay into them with those sweet attacks. Raining punches on the orbs, on the other hand, was extremely satisfying. Wish the tumor explosion wiped out surrounding enemies.

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:20pm

    Seemed a bit glitchy and laggy. I like the presentation, the audio in particular feels like it really adds to the atmosphere, rather than being a "necessary evil".

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

    Fuck, only 72 hours and you made this?

    Really polished experience. I felt after a while it does get a bit repetitive, but so did most of these games back in the day (and today) :D so it could just be my personal taste.

    The concept is great, and the execution is pretty damn near flawless. I can only imagine what you'd be able to accomplish in a post-compo version.

    kato9 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 10:55pm

    Really nice polish on the look and feel of this one. Wonderfully bizarre setting and art direction - and it all made sense in the end.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:31pm

    RadMars logo is rad. Loved just about everything about this. The red hearts were very bizarre. Couldn't understand why some seemed to die with two shots and others took a million. Strong attack didn't seem to hurt more, just had more knockback. Great sprites, nice audio, and great interpretation of theme! SOLID WORK!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 2:20pm

    Nice job!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]