Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 6 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 6 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Villain's base management - har_g - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    The game have lot of button, square stuff with a text or icon inside clickable with the mouse/trackball/touchpad (tons of compatibility). No need to use your keyboard.
    Put your volume on, there is some soundFX to make ambiant.

    The game is about a villain (you) planning to rules the world. You start with a base of 5 rooms : barrack to recruit, science to receive science notification sometimes, bossroom to check your progression, workshop to build stuff, and com-sat to select mission and send your minions on it.

    because of LD48, the game is not perfect. But i'm in time and that's good :)

    Thanks all for playing pleaaaaaase (i made a broadcast, but only one guy was coming :'( )

    View har_g's journal. | View all entries by har_g

    Ratings

    Coolness88%
    #279Theme3.42
    #291Audio2.63
    #401Humor2.38
    #476Innovation2.63
    #564Mood2.40
    #576Overall2.61
    #644Graphics2.16
    #653Fun2.15

    Comments

    har_g says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Oh yeah last note : "sorry for my poor english" (i tried to do my best)

    Jiyko says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    I enjoyed this! Reminds me of Evil Genius.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    Please make comment :'(

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    Thanks guy :)

    I was thinking about evil genius when i do it. But after i did it, i retrieve some point from xcom..

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    This is an interesting perspective! But how can you continue if you don't have any money left?

    Quarry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Some game breaking problems but good otherwise

    Logun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    Cool game pitch. But I didn't exactly understand how to rule my base.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    You need to choose wisely your guys, if you run out of money, it can be consider like a gameover.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    good step : 1) hire guys 2) do missions (add guys and validate) [it's not explained, but guys receive xp after mission]

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:50pm

    Well done! I really liked the different songs for different menus.

    Frolacosta says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:23pm

    I could have done with a little more direction in how everything works, but a good game nonetheless!

    AdricZero says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Great music

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Good concept, bit unclear what I'm doing. Need more time with it. Liking it!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    Enjoyed the idea, but was a bit confused as to what to do to begin with! I persevered and hired some guys and eventually ran out of money :)

    goerp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Nice.

    Unfortunately not finished so at some point there is not much left to do.
    Maybe something for the next october challenge :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    I hired a bunch of guys, ran out of money a completed both task. I had a couple of "breaking news" texts, but I have no idea of what I've actually made to trigger them.
    The music loops were cool, but a bit short and soon they became annoying.
    Overall I just clicked randomly without really understanding what I was doing.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    breaking news is when your science lab invent something.

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    I wasn't always entirely sure what I was doing, but I think I really liked this. There was a lot more to it than I first expected.

    The only audio I had was a constant snoring noise though.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43pm

    the snoring noise is for the barrack room. There is a different sound for each room.

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Perhaps the most unique entries so far. Good work.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:15am

    It would have been great to have some tooltips on the squares in the factory, in order to have their costs and their purpose.

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    The concept is good, but the actual gameplay feels a bit broken : it's hard to understand the consequences of playing missions, the purpose of buying items, etc; on the other hand it's pretty easy to run out of money and get stuck. Also the menus are not very comfortable since you always need ~10 employees to get started with a mission, which requires loads of "refreshes" on various screens to gather and assign the people required.

    There's certainly some potential in this game, and it seems like you put loads of good ideas in it ; unfortunately it would have required additional work to make players be able to really understand & enjoy them.

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    It's a fine game but it really needed a load more polish - including a tutorial.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:31pm

    Before i do the ludum dare, i ask to a great specialist a advice. He say "keep it simple". Maybe in the frenesy i forgot that and focus too much on "add feature" and not enough on "make the feature properly"

    yup, more polish, more tutorial (and more feature XD)

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:58am

    I enjoy'd it! played to the end! Good job! Day1 dlc?

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:05am

    Great attempt, love the idea of managing an evil base of operations. Ran out of money easily and just got stuck, but I see the potential for careful decision making.

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:56pm

    Cool game, I think you aim too complex for a ludum dare, but it's well done, really

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:10pm

    Neat little game, I'd like to see it cleaned up a bit and the missing parts added.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:51am

    Good start to a game. I hope you do continue to work on it as has quite a lot of potential. The game play does need a lot of work as right now you just hire enough people to go out on missions then keep re-using them. Probably should have missions taking a while so you need multiple missions on the go so you aren't just re-using key people. Likewise, missions should not always return everybody so that you need to keep hiring. Equipment doesn't seem to do anything that I can tell. The story as part of the missions was very interesting, with the "Game not finished yet" message being both funny and disappointing as I was hoping to finish the game.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Spelchan.. You are awesome :)
    I was almost sure that because of some mistake, people stop it before the end. You proof that there is people to try it to the almost end.

    Husky says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:37am

    I like the idea!
    And the music is awesome!

    Datw says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:38pm

    The game is confusing and slow, but it had a nice touch.

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    Le jeu est sympa, mais au début je me sentais un peu perdu.

    On dirait que les graphismes ont été fait sur Paint, mais au moins il ne sont pas mauvais. ;)
    J'aime la musique.
    Bonne reprise du thème (même si le management de méchants a été pas mal repris)

    bugninja says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    It's not really my type of game (more of a quick/casual gamer), but it's REALLY involved for having such a short amount of time to work on it. It almost seemed like it would be a cool board game too.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]