Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 21 hours, 19 minutes, 11 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Tetris God - LeCherLich - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Goal:
    Make the Tetris bot lose the game by carefully planning which block it will face next!

    How to start the game:
    Unzip, start "main.exe"

    How to play:
    Mouse/Keyboard - click on the block type which is to be played next. The counter next to the block type shows the remaining number of blocks of this class.

    Penalties:
    When you forget to choose a block, you lose a life.
    When the bot clears a line, you lose a life.
    You start out with 15 lives.

    View LeCherLich's journal. | View all entries by LeCherLich

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #75Innovation3.68
    #103Theme3.80
    #153Overall3.40
    #284Fun3.00
    #284Audio2.65
    #312Humor2.69
    #332Mood2.84
    #338Graphics3.00

    Comments

    chas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:14am

    Great job, LeCherLich. You accomplished that which I could not. I resorted to making mine a two-player game. Keep up the great work!

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:18am

    I'd like to play. Do you have a mac version? Can you include pygame in the source?

    Cosine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:31am

    Overall a good game, although not a "stand-out." Fun to play, a new idea, fits the theme, and has simple yet effective graphics. More could have been done with the music, and having multiple lines cleared at a time would make the life-lost noise really loud.

    fakeshadows says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:41am

    Fun game, didn't expect to actually forget to choose a block!

    Keevor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Pretty fun. gets repetetive after a while first. Good job on the Ai!

    xandy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:35am

    love the idea. and the game is actually more difficult than you'd expect in the first moment because you dont just have to find a place but to check all stones for the worst one!

    BFlorry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:19am

    A good game, yet quite easy. Just don't hand out those line pieces and you can beat the bot easily.

    StMatn says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:45am

    Very cool idea and nicely done ai. I really enjoyed playing it!

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    Very cool idea. Beating the bot was easy, yet I found it to be surprisingly intelligent. Good job on progamming the AI!

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    I found the game very easy to beat simply by depriving the bot of the long thin column pieces. Otherwise, a great concept and very fun!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Really awesome idea! I felt like sometimes I was choosing blocks and still losing lives, might have been me. Very nice AI, music could've done with some work though!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    If you just put out a lot of pieces of the same type is easy to beat.

    A little balance would make it even greater. Nice work :D

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    Great concept. Bot is quite easy to fool but impressive nonetheless.

    Cabral says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    It's pretty nice. The graphics and audio were fitting, and it was fun. I just wish the AI wasn't so dumb, but it's amazing how smart it was considering the time constraint.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]