Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 11 hours, 31 minutes, 23 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Launch - DTG - Jam Entry

    Don't Stop the launch pits you against an FPS hero trying to stop the missile launching at the free world.

    The Hero will move from room to room in search of 3 objectives he needs before he can stop the launch. These are the Armory, the Server room and the Library, which are different colours to the standard rooms. After completing this he moves to the center room and disarms the missile.

    It is your job to place traps and upgrade doors to stop the hero from completing his task before the countdown timer reaches zero. You first select the room you wish to trap by clicking on it on the right hand side, this will show buttons on the left hand side to either upgrade doors, add minions to the room or place a trap from the list.

    The traps have a variety of functions, explained in more detail in the How to play page, but generally they can force the hero to change direction or scare him away from entering a room, and defeat the hero forcing him to respawn in the previous room.

    The hero will always move to an objective if he is next to it, take a normal door over an upgraded blast door and pick a new room over one he has cleared (shown by the light going out).

    Linux Notes:
    We don't have anyone with Linux to test if the new Unity 4 build actually works, so any feedback would be great.

    Some more detailed How to play information can be found here:http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/17/text-from-the-how-to-guide


    PLEASE NOTE: The resolution is locked at 1366x768.
    People with a monitor of that resolution or smaller may have trouble seeing everything. Apologies for that, the downloadable version may work better than the Web.


    Sound and music attributions:
    Music: Made via Mixcraft 6.0 using included loops.

    Sounds from freesound.org:
    Wilhelm scream - http://archive.org/details/WilhelmScreamSample
    S: microwave ding.WAV by samplecat | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: negativebeep.wav by Splashdust | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: Boo!.mp3 by freki3333 | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: hydraul2.wav by swelk | License: Attribution
    S: Clock Ticking.aif by jackstrebor | License: Sampling+
    S: Lazer.wav by tmokonen | License: Attribution
    S: Purse fidget.wav by caseydedore | License: Sampling+
    S: grunz_huh.wav by grunz | License: Attribution
    S: Confused by thecluegeek | License: Attribution
    S: zoup.wav by themfish | License: Attribution
    S: Vocal Man Hit 'Ohhh'.aif by RutgerMuller | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: Medium Explosion.wav by ryansnook | License: Attribution Noncommercial
    S: woman_Yvonne_screams_painfully.aiff by thanvannispen | License: Attribution
    S: bamf.wav by themfish | License: Attribution
    S: possiblelazer.wav by aust_paul | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: boom4.wav by NoiseCollector | License: Attribution
    S: rocketexpl.wav by nthompson | License: Sampling+
    S: groans.wav by muses212 | License: Creative Commons 0
    S: male_Thijs_loud_scream.aiff by thanvannispen | License: Attribution
    S: worried breathing reverb.wav by Leady | License: Attribution
    S: unassignable_fizzling_flashback-verb.mp3 by Connum | License: Attribution Noncommercial
    S: Hey You.wav by Benboncan | License: Attribution
    S: women_cry.aiff by thanvannispen | License: Attribution

    View DTG's journal. | View all entries by DTG

    Ratings

    Coolness82%
    #31Innovation(Jam)3.64
    #49Theme(Jam)3.88
    #71Graphics(Jam)3.86
    #79Mood(Jam)3.30
    #88Audio(Jam)3.30
    #108Overall(Jam)3.31
    #118Humor(Jam)2.86
    #157Fun(Jam)2.86

    Comments

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:21am

    So the goal is to delay the hero as long as possible?
    Can you explain a typical strategy?

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:41am

    Um kinda confusing but the graphics were amazing and I had fun clicking randomly everywhere...

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47am

    What an interesting idea. Delaying the hero so you can launch the rocket. It took me a while to understand the game because I couldn't read the instructions, the text was too small.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48am

    Interesting, but I feel as though I don't have enough time to setup before the hero arrives.
    Also the hero made it to the missile room several times with over a minute left and I still got the 'missile launched' screen

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:49am

    The detailed rooms and first person camera impressed me! When I saw the menus, I felt confused. When I clicked on a few buttons I was not sure what was being activated and how I could send minions toward the hero.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Thanks for the feedback everyone! Sadly the "How To Play" section wasn't completed in time, making it a bit obtuse. I promise it's not quite as tricky as all the buttons make it seem!

    I've made a post that has the full "How to play" text included, as well as some other information:

    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2012/12/17/text-from-the-how-to-guide/

    DTG says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25am

    moomoo112: Did the Hero actually go inside the Central Room? He will probably get to the adjacent rooms quite often, but he should only actually enter the room after visiting and clearing all 3 of the Objective Rooms.

    Imperiopolis says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    The controls were kind of confusing at first, but once you figure out what's going on it's pretty fun.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    It's a little busy and complicate, but the idea is cool!

    koredozo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:43am

    I found a cheat: if you click the damsel scream button nonstop the hero will be paralyzed with curiosity!

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51am

    Awesome graphics! I liked the scientist patting his own shoulder in the missile room, nice touch!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:00am

    Interesting gameplay, graphics could use some work.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:45am

    The music sets a nice mood and as stated, the graphics are pretty nifty. Well done!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:48am

    I really enjoyed your game, although a little confused at the early stage. You've done a LOT of work in 72 hours!

    Tanner says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    there is so much content there.

    Concept is a bit confusing but once you are aware of how to influence rooms and the hero the game mechanics play out very nicely.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:43am

    Didn't know exactly what to do, but figured it out.

    Very impressive for the time allowed.

    dekart says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:18am

    Interesting concept, good art.

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:55am

    great concept and cool art, really unusable interface though / have no idea what to do

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Lounge music with evil muhahas as the hook: amazing.

    I like the PIP of the hero's point of view, it's pretty sweet! It seems like my henchman got stuck after killing the hero, and I wasn't particularly effective with the other traps.

    Very cool idea, though! Perhaps more obvious controls would help folks figure it out faster and have more fun with it.

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:59am

    Wow, i really liked this game and the idea of delaying the hero so you can launch a missile is genius! Well done! Damsel in distress is a little over powered though, i just spammed scream and the hero just stood there. But i really liked it and hope that you'll put down more time and make it even more awesome!

    littleball says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:28am

    Good game, well done. On a laptop, you can only see parts of the screen at once.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:12am

    Nice job on the music and sound effects.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:07am

    I like what you've done with the cameras here. This reminds me a little bit of Tecmo's Deception, but only in the sense that you're laying out traps for heroes. Nice job!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:36am

    Really confusing game, but still funny and beautiful. The 1st person camera is a great idea. Really one of the best game i've played so far :3

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    Yeah, that was really cool. I had a bit of trouble understanding the minion mechanic (and finding him on screen, in some cases), but the overall concept is totally solid and innovative. Well done!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:51am

    The size of your game is too big for my laptop ^^ I will try the downloadable version. It's quite fun and very novel. The amount of work is very huge. Congrats :)

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    Hmm, a bit confusing at start, but cool. Seems to be a lot of art assets, good job!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:08am

    Loved it, especially the evil laugh that popped in every once in a while.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]