Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 1 day, 16 hours, 45 minutes, 19 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    UREVIL ENDLESS TD! - Saisaith - Jam Entry

    Imagine that you are an evil lord that has spent many years terrorizing the local townspeople. Whether night or day, rain or shine, you are also seen about the town causing some mischief.
    Well watch out cause the townspeople have had enough and are headed for your evil lair to end you once and for all.

    Defend yourself using your past inventions.
    Obtain gold by killing the townspeople.
    Press space bar to instantly progress to the next wave!

    View Saisaith's journal. | View all entries by Saisaith

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #175Fun(Jam)2.76
    #189Audio(Jam)2.61
    #214Mood(Jam)2.63
    #231Overall(Jam)2.75
    #284Humor(Jam)1.74
    #290Graphics(Jam)2.28
    #302Theme(Jam)2.18
    #323Innovation(Jam)1.73

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22am

    For a quickly made game this is actually very functional. It took me a moment to discover how to place units, but after that it was smooth sailing.

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Ya.. I should have made like a "How to" section.
    This is my first Ludum Dare, so I hope my next will be a lot better!

    dissonance says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

    "Mind-numbing" is how I'd describe it. You start playing and next thing you know an hour has passed. Good job.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:52am

    Mmm, tower defences. Not the most original of games, but pretty well executed and pretty fun.

    - This game could've done well with a bit of a menu, or at least a pause button... The first wave was counting down before I realized it.
    - The enemies have no variation, that's a bit of a shame.
    - The towers also have no variation, that's also a bit of a shame, especially in a tower defence.
    - The upgradebutton is red, which makes it seem as if you don't have enough money to upgrade. Somewhat confusing.
    - I like the rain, and I like the fire and damage effects.

    So anyway, I'm a whiner. I think it's a pretty nice game, and I think you should keep working on it to make it more varied. Good luck ;)

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:14am

    This is Athanatos' Game Maker Tower Defense tutorial with nothing more than some added sound, different resolution and different graphics. Everything else looks to be straight from the tutorial. He was a nice enough guy to write the tutorial for anyone to use with only the expectation of being given credit: http://gmc.yoyogames.com/index.php?showtopic=368985

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36am

    IT really could have done with a difficulty ramp-up to make it a true TD game, as it is, I had to quit, because I was never going to lose!

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08am

    Actually bwdevel, I spoke with Athanatos a few months back and he helped me create my first zone TD. I then implemented several additional features such as; mazing, zone control, level progression, and multiple tree progressions for the turrets. This was entered on the JAM because I used previous "code" (if you can call gmakers coding that) for the game window. Otherwise everything else I made from scratch upfront. But that you for playing the game.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    I have to admit, I kept this game running for upwards to an hour while I played other entries. Surprisingly satisfying!

    pnkthrepwood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

    Nice tower defense, but very easy to play.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:30am

    This is not a game, this is an interactive theatre / pachinko machine. It's mesmerising to an extent, but it's not really much of a game. Fun to just watch.

    Also: http://logic-dream.com/all%20the%20money%20in%20the%20world%20but%20you're%20still%20gonna%20die.png

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:01am

    For those less patient, I uploaded the final 3 minutes of my filled to the brim stage experience to youtube. Got to level 103 with laser and turret mayhem. Trippy...

    video here: http://youtu.be/N_PxwmmnjVA (still processing as of this time)

    RatDog_Adam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Very trippy and fun game, good job!

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Feels like a rather generic tower defense. But if this is your first game or early game in this language WELL DONE. not a lot of bugs and still really fun. Bravo sir bravo.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40am

    This was a solid game to say the least. I would say the best things to do to improve it would be to make the upgrade button prettier / move it down and change the tower's level text to black or something.
    Overall it was pretty easy, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Good job.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Not too sure how I am the villain, am I killing civilians heading to work? That's what I'm going with, nice though.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53am

    This is one of the nicer tower defence games I've played, and very easy to grasp, but the map is clearly designed to aid the player instead of making the game more challenging. I played for five minutes and nobody got anywhere near my castle.

    Jlebow says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19am

    Love the rain sounds.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:31am

    To be honest, I'm not a great fan of the genre, but it seemed pretty quaint. The menu could've been nicer. It reminds me of The Games Factory, what was it that you used?

    Placing the buildings felt a bit like SimCity 2000 :P .

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:42am

    @ Alex Rose
    The menu was sort of a last 30min idea. I used Game Maker Pro.
    Also thanks for playing!

    Madball says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:04am

    Too monotonous, but designed well. The music is awesome, just LOOP IT!

    Per says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12am

    Pretty fun!
    A little to easy, but it feels great to feel superior :)

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    @ Madball Now the music is looped. I didn't think about one would like it and actually was about to make it so it stopped on room entry. (like it was supposed too)
    But it is now looped.

    Thanks for everyone's reviews and ratings!

    Justin Kibbe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    Nice tower defense game. Got bored pretty quickly as there were only two choices and you were rolling in money by wave 15, but you could easily take this and extend it after the compo and make a solid TD.

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    I agree that this isn't a very original idea but well-done for completing it. However a wave speed up button is really required for these games as waiting between waves with nothing to do is very boring.

    The one thing I really loved was the rain - it was a great effect!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    Pretty generic use of tower defense, waves did not increase in difficulty at a reasonable rate. Also, how is the player/programmer a villain?

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Oh shoot.. you can progress to the next wave by pressing space bar... my bad.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:20am

    The music was intense and I agree whole heartily with dissonance's comment. Good game, but some more features would have been awesome!

    dissonance says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54am

    @EatenAlive3 I always just assumed I'm some villainous Barron in my castle and those are the towns folk trying to over throw me or something.

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06am

    Hmm waves get a lot harder at around 200. Also, for the finished product I am going to add personal bombs/acid/tar that can be used on waves. So hopefully that and my mazing addition will allow this game to be a bit more.. hmmmm enticing.

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:18am

    A pretty good generic tower defense, could have used more variation.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:53am

    It's a fun little tower defense game, but it gets repetitive. I think it could've had more towers, more enemy types, more maps, etc. The audio is really good, and the graphics aren't bad, either (the rain effects are especially good).

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:06am

    Well executed TD game in such a short time, would be better to make the 2 towers more distinguishable and have more enemy variation.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Well done, there's a lot going on here.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

    Good tower defense game.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    Addictive! Good job

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Thanks so much for the wonderful comments!

    Happy Christmas!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]