Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 1 hour, 43 minutes, 2 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Le Pere Fouettard - tomvert - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are the "pere fouettard" who must punish bad naughty children on christmas.

    LEFT/RIGHT arrows to MOVE
    CONTROL to whip
    DOWN arrow to CROUCH

    Click on the window to give focus to the application.

    View tomvert's journal. | View all entries by tomvert

    Ratings

    Coolness51%
    #29Theme4.09
    #50Humor3.66
    #65Graphics3.97
    #174Fun3.25
    #260Mood2.97
    #340Overall3.03
    #394Innovation2.79
    #626Audio1.06

    Comments

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    This game makes me feel very evil indeed!

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Wow! That's fantastic... the flying cut-scene is genius! I'd never heard of Père Fouettard before - had to go off to wikipedia. He seems like the more unsuspecting (and therefore more villainous) version of Krampus!

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:42pm

    Very nice! Shame there was no sound.

    horrorpen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Great game! I really like the idea very much. The cut scene and the entering of the house is brilliant.

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    What an awesome game.
    Overall awesome game, very innovative, fun approach on the theme. The graphics were awesome, it looked very polished and fun and fun. Humorous and moody... perfect game.
    Sadly no sound so you missed the max score here.

    Though it made me feel pretty bad for hitting all those cute children that tried to give me the present. Made me feel weird and sad. So yeah, awesome awesome little game. Great job.

    Yakka says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Made me laugh =D it's a good idea, shame there were not more different levels

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Bloody great art, even if I did feel a bit weird breaking into homes and whipping the residents. Shame all the houses are the same and you can only really play for 3 levels (after that you get like 1 second), as I was enjoying it.

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

    Haha, I love it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    I loved ducking to whip the children.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:04am

    haha... the simple game mechanics itself could be expanded upon, and use some enhancements, but brilliant graphic style! i enjoyed it.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:30pm

    Awesome graphics! I think I may have been really unlucky, because twice I had a present blocking me from the residents (which wouldn't disappear by whipping it), and one time the house had 5-6 little kids that bum-rushed me and kept me locked door against the outside wall. Whipping didn't work.

    I just realized how ridiculous that sounded.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:09am

    Hilarious premise! :D I love how he flies to the next house at the end of a level! Gameplay is simple but it works! Great art, too! Awesome job!

    naufr4g0 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Is he the evil brother of Santa Claus? I love the cut scene between levels! :) It's a shame there's no sound.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:05am

    very evil! need sound and transition screen is epic :D

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Took me a while to figure out that in order to hit anything with the whip that I had to duck. It's basic, but the theme is fun. A little more fear/reaction out of the children would really sell it. Needs sound!

    ilo says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 12:32am

    Fantastic visual style. Some sound and elaborated mechanics (like good children who you must avoid whipping?) and this would be very fun. :)

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Ahahaha, I had a ton of fun playing this little gem xD

    Great concept, solid execution, and a fantastic use of the theme. As TheSheep said, if only there were sound! It is really the only criticism I have.

    Hope you keep working on this post-compo! :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]