Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 1 hour, 51 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 2 hours, 39 minutes, 41 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    PrisonBreak - iiAtlas - Jam Entry

    EDIT: For those of you stuck on level two, there are two doors on level one. Make sure to try both! *hint hint*

    PrisonBreak is a game my sister, Lola Wegman, and I (Atlas Wegman) created for the LD25 Jam. After shuffling through a few ideas we stumbled upon this one, a prison break. You are criminal who opens his cell door, and must escape prison. If caught by the guards you are sent straight back to your cell. There are no checkpoints, there is no saving. This game is the real deal...sort of.

    Gameplay is relatively intuitive. Arrow keys to move, mouse to look around. Your goal is to dodge all guards and make it to the green doorway. Some levels have to doors, be carful which one you chose. Guards have a sort of "sixth sense" and can sense you even when you are not directly in their line of sight. Be careful, and good luck!

    My sister and I worked nonstop to put out this game, complete with audio, multiple levels, and a couple tiers of gameplay elements. As such, the file size is not small (~15mb). If you are playing on a web browser, please be patient. It's worth it!

    I hope you enjoy PrisonBreak, I think it came out better then expected :)

    View iiAtlas's journal. | View all entries by iiAtlas

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #80Audio(Jam)3.33
    #149Overall(Jam)3.06
    #154Fun(Jam)2.88
    #190Innovation(Jam)2.71
    #197Mood(Jam)2.71
    #225Theme(Jam)2.94
    #238Humor(Jam)2.09
    #270Graphics(Jam)2.43

    Comments

    CptBubbles says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:24pm

    The game looks fun, but I always get caught the second level 2 is loaded :(

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:41pm

    There are two doors! One leads to the guards room which is, of course, impossible :P Try going to the left :)

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Solidly put together, but the mouse control is really sensitive.

    Cat Burton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    A promising game! I also had issues as soon as level two loaded unfortunately.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    Make sure to check both doors on level one! (uploading a new version now to fix the confusion). Thanks for the comments everyone!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09am

    Really good job, had a hard time getting past level 3

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13am

    Not bad but too hard. Could have ramped up the difficulty more gradually.

    sharbelfs says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16am

    nice game, loved the music

    Dew says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Saving levels would be nice!

    Great work!

    Loves the Music <3

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:18am

    Thanks everybody! Difficulty/no saving was intentional, I wanted to make a sort of "retro" ultra hard game. Maybe it was a bit too hard... :P

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:19am

    I found the camera control to be too sensitive for comfort. Lack of an option to invert the y-axis didn't help.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:51am

    Hmm interesting, I never thought anyone would ever want to invert the y axis but apparently I was wrong, sorry Crowbeak!

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

    Great Game. Level 2 is pretty hard.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

    The music was nice and the voices were hilarious. The concept was great yet the prison guards lines of sight were a little wonky and unforgiving sometimes.

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:00am

    good game. extra points for making a decent game in 3d.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:04am

    Thanks for rating my game!
    Awesome game btw

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

    I like the idea, my only critique would be if we could adjust mouse/view sensitivity. Otherwise a successful entry, good job!

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16am

    You all have some pretty valid feedback, so thanks! A sensitivity slider is in the works (as in an invert y axis button). Glad you like the voices, I made them but I swear I sound nothing like that :P The power of pitch!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32am

    I can't make it past level four D:

    Really fun, really hard!

    RatDog_Adam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33am

    Pretty fun, audio was pretty funny too!

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:35am

    Cool music, but after getting caught several times, the beginning of the song became pretty repetitive.

    I also wish you didn't restart at the very beginning when you die.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39am

    Glad you all like the audio, the little sound bytes were the best I could come up with :P The "restart at beginning" is an attempt to make the relatively short (5 level) game feel much longer. I believe it accomplishes this quite well, force the player to improve their strategy over multiple playthroughs. I also think it gives it a sort of "retro" ultra hard style, but maybe this isn't exactly "fun." Thanks for the feedback!

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41am

    Excellent music and great fun, although turning speed was a little fast, even with mouse sensitivity pushed way down.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43am

    I'm gonna make iii--- "STOP HIM" NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
    That was really fun to play ( and hard ) and i loved the song XD

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48am

    Glad you liked it! The sound bytes were a blast to record :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:49am

    This prison is broken.

    Kuothe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:29am

    Really nice sound effects :)

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    Awesome music!

    iamorim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    Hey! You can check my game now. The link is fine. Try it again! Thanks :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Good concept, but the camera clipping, high mouse sensitivity and lack of graphics let it down.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:25am

    A fun concept and refreshingly difficult. Top down would have worked much better though.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    The game started out top down but I wanted to try something "different." Thanks for the feedback :)

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:44pm

    It's hard! The sight line of the guards is a bit tricky to really understand.
    Nice entry, I worked hard to pass level 3!

    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Nice little stealth-game! Love the music-switch, and the menu is nice too.

    Controls are really fidlly though. The entire game resetting is also infuriating, it punished experimentation.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

    This game is really difficult to play because the controls are way too sensitive! I got frustrated early on.

    It looks like it can be so much fun, though! If you do release a post-compo, I'd love to play it.

    iiAtlas says ...
    Jan 9, 2013 @ 5:15am

    Can't believe how well we did, thanks everyone!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]