Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 16 hours, 33 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Super Natural Habitat Destroyer - _Rilem - Jam Entry

    Super Natural Habitat Destroyer is a game in which you control an angry lumberjack who is trying to gather as much wood as possible. However there are some beavers that live in the forest, and they won't let you destroy their habitat without a fight.

    Controls:
    The whole game is mouse controlled. Hold your mouse to move the character, move over enemies or trees to chop them.

    Chopping down trees gives you logs, which can be used to upgrade your character. Beware though, chopping down trees will also spawn beavers at the beaver den.

    The purpose of each level is destroying the beaver den. Levels ramp up in difficulty quick, so you might want to 'farm' and redo some levels to get stronger with upgrades.

    3 days wasn't enough to finish the game, but it makes a nice prototype.

    Art by Ziryf, Programming by Rilem


    spacebar haz magic

    View _Rilem's journal. | View all entries by _Rilem

    Ratings

    #5Fun(Jam)4.00
    #9Humor(Jam)3.96
    #18Graphics(Jam)4.39
    #18Overall(Jam)3.86
    #27Mood(Jam)3.63
    #43Audio(Jam)3.57
    #48Theme(Jam)3.89
    #67Innovation(Jam)3.39
    #867Coolness39%

    Comments

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

    Really fun the controls need some tweaking and the 4th level unlocks but the sprite remains a lock.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:17am

    Awesome job! The graphics are great and having an upgrade shop added some depth :D Looooved the muscle beavers! Hilarious!

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:21am

    I really liked this one! The tree chopping is fun, the upgrades are fun, this game is just a lot of fun in my honest opinion. The graphics are really cool, and the catchy son in the background is nice too. All in all, its a great game, and it would be nice to see more than 5 stages. I hope you work more with this.

    jeroen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15am

    This has to be the best gameover screen I've seen so far. Great art, and intersting concept.

    rujo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38am

    haha.. similar to my idea.. :) very nice graphics and gameplay

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:57pm

    I really like the presentation of this one. The controls need a bit of work. But it was fun!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Lovely work you guys!!! I lol'd at the ripped beavers

    uncade says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:01am

    Loved the art in this, especially the opening menu.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    Almost flawless, great work!

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:19pm

    Impressive entry, with nice graphics and animations, a funny take on the theme, and a classic but solid gameplay. I almost gave it the perfect mark on every category!

    While the controls might feel a bit annoying when fighting large groups of beavers, you soon realize that with some skill you can actually avoid getting hurt by moving away just after you land a hit. The game's still a bit hard given that each beaver needs several hits to die, but overall it remains very fun to play.

    Congrats!

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    Very immpressive and very fun. Suddenly, muscle beavers.

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    very fun but very hard ! And you can spawn tree with the spacebar, I think it was for debug purpose and wasn't removed

    Maple says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    I don't really know what to knock about this game. It feels pretty solid, other than the art perhaps needing a little touching up to fit the level of polish the rest of your game has. I think something I didn't like was having to walk into enemies as I killed them -- Might have been better to make a single click attack, and hold click to move. Otherwise, without adding more features to the game, this feels nice. Also, the music complimented the game.

    gnx says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    Excellent character design, the title screen looks very attractive and interesting. Gameplay has some problems, the mouse control just makes you want this to be a keyboard/gamepad controlled game and the combat also feels less than what it could be.

    With some gameplay rethinks and balances there are assets here to make a very nice game :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:36am

    I was surprised how much fun I had with this, and that game over screen is hilarious (and kinda creepy). It too bad I could figure out how to get past level 4 (game wouldn't move on to next level)....I wanted to play more.

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Awesome game! Very funny game over screen.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:01pm

    Hey, he does look similar! I really liked this game. The only problem was I got stuck on level 3 when I destroyed the dam/home and nothing happened :(

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:34am

    Very fun!

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:25am

    Superb job! Great graphics, tunes, and good fun!

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    Most fun game so far! Too bad there's no ending (people seem to get stuck after level 4 or so). Also it took me some time to notice the shop, but that's probably just me :-P

    CireNeikual says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 2:53pm

    Fun game, very polished! It was difficult until I figured out that I can spawn trees with space!

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:40pm

    Brilliant!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]