Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 1 hour, 4 minutes, 17 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 1 hour, 4 minutes, 18 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You are Bankster! - Deril - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Welcome to my first LD action game there you take the role of the Bankster!

    The goal of the game is to collect as much MONEY as possible from passive workers.
    But be careful and leave to next stage before occupy activists gets you!
    You get the most SCORE if you exercise GREED!

    Have fun!

    PS: Sound is annoying.. Sorry about that, just turn it off..

    ##############################################################
    ##############################################################

    CONTROLS:

    ARROWS or WASD --------------- move.
    SPACE (then ready) ------------- to bank money.
    ENTER or SHIFT (then enough $) - to go to next stage.

    ##############################################################
    ##############################################################

    Built with: Flash. (Starling and mvcExpress)


    BUG FIXES: (post 48h)

    - temporary pictures removed, changed to color squares. (2012.12.18)
    - sound control added.(was too loud )(2012.12.17)
    - preloader added.(2012.12.17)

    Original competition entry :
    http://mvcexpress.org/gamejam/ludumdare25/index_original.html

    View Deril's journal. | View all entries by Deril

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #250Humor2.88
    #376Theme3.19
    #394Innovation2.79
    #404Fun2.77
    #465Audio2.10
    #490Overall2.76
    #522Mood2.49
    #712Graphics1.86

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

    That was cute. Fairly simple little game, with a bit of a message. Good job.

    headchant says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

    Nice game idea. The audio was a bit annoying.

    Ashkin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58am

    Good message to deliver. Audio is quite annoying, but so are bankers, so I guess it's fitting? Would be interesting if the workers had less linear paths to follow.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    The sounds x.x But other wise fun game, Keep it up.

    Verrazano says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:41am

    A very simple idea finished, and well executed. Tax collectors are evil, and the game was fun.

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43am

    Interesting, I follow other on SFX, pretty annoying.

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53am

    I think the sfx added to the villain feel!

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    I liked the audio, kinda funny. Gameplay was new end engaging! Graphics was good.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:59pm

    Nice audio tutorial :) I agree with Ashkin about the paths. Fun game.

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    nice game.

    I in contrast to some other comments above loved the audio. It made the game fun :D

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    This isn't really a "game". It doesn't have a challenge if you are careful and there's no real sense of achievement.

    Did you create the graphics yourself? Whilst very nice they don't really fit the theme which makes me wonder if they were made for the game or whether you made them and then put them into the game regardless of idea XD

    The audio is annoying but kinda funny. Not a bad job overall I guess.

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10pm

    Simple and fun! Really nice tutorial at start, lot of LD entries are very hard to figure out and start playing.

    A mouse control here would improve gameplay, nice work anyway, congrats.

    raubana says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:50pm

    I gladly disregarded the suggestion to turn off the sound. It was too funny xD This is a cute game, and bad propaganda, which makes it even funnier.

    Deril says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:22am

    I did not realized I could not use some free CC pictures.
    I switched it into color squares.

    Old version can be found here : http://mvcexpress.org/gamejam/ludumdare25/index_pics.html

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:57am

    LOL fun and funny little game :D nice wok!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Fun little game. I actually liked the sound effects, too.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:35am

    This is a very cool idea. Well done on completing it!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:06am

    it needs polishing, but it's a good idea

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:19am

    Moar, take eet, monee, moar! That was hilarious. The concept isn't bad and it was executed pretty well.

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:13am

    Nice sound effects, Cash! Yeah! I liked your tutorial.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:14am

    The voice acting was funny XD

    gilesa says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:17am

    Love the idea, just needed some more polish in the graphics/audio department.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:04am

    Interesting... I didn't mind the audio though :-)

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:12am

    Though it lacks polish, the gameplay was pretty fun! Dodging activists while collecting money was just the right amount of challenge :D

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:00am

    There's definitely the strong beginnings of something here. I liked the timing aspect, getting big herd and a nice fat collection.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Great mechanics. Love the idea of a guy becoming the enemy. Like the audio and voice over. That takes courage.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:18am

    Unforgettable tutorial, nice mechanic, interesting mini game.

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Pretty cool , i like the tutorial ... it could be very good with enhanced gfx.

    jujule says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:02pm

    Interesting game, interesting topic that suits the theme. Maybe a timer would make it more challenging. After all, banisters always work on the short term, don't they ?

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    The tutorial wasn't necessary because the game is simple to understand, but I loved this attention and it's very well made.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:21pm

    I like the metaphor behind the game.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:08am

    Maybe the Occupy protesters should stay still and expand, or convert other people, rather than bounce all over the place. Nice voice-over. Graphics leave something to be desired.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    cash!

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    nice!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    Excellent idea :) What is more evil than bankers who rule us in our well so called democracy ?

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Smiple, didn't mind the audio. I liked that the people slowed after you got all their money.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Well done! Nice idea, I like the concept.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:00am

    Whoa. That was really fun to play. Great job! :D

    nilstastic says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    Good: Fun game, I liked that you could take money from more then one worker at the same time. This added a nice strategic twist =)
    Improve: Graphics =)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 7:16pm

    Sound is NOT annoying! "Money!" :D Haha.

    Fun little game!

    ahm99 says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:05pm

    That was fun. Good job :)

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:17am

    I enjoyed the subtle irony :)

    devwil says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:11am

    Very clever concept.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]