Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 13 hours, 17 minutes, 51 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Show Me The Money - Faust - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a game about how you earn the money by all kinds of ways. The ending will be determined according to what you scarified throughout the game.

    The objective is to make 10000 coins in anyways, and not run out of money at the same time.

    Version History:
    v1.0.0.2: Money bug fixed(should be...)
    v1.0.0.3: Slightly modified the collision box of objects, should be easier to plant those facilities.

    PostLD v1.0.0.2: Balance adjusted.

    View Faust's journal. | View all entries by Faust

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #237Theme3.49
    #255Humor2.87
    #298Mood2.91
    #351Audio2.46
    #367Innovation2.85
    #368Overall2.98
    #404Fun2.77
    #646Graphics2.15

    Comments

    caasi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Goats can't swim! :smile:

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Sorry, goats - I thought it's a tower defense game.

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03am

    I really wish I knew what was giving me money and what was costing me money. Maybe just write a floaty number over the building every time a transaction happens?

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34am

    ate the fishes, cutted the trees and killed the goats!

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35am

    My only comment: We must protect & preserve our planet!!!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13am

    @dansludumdare I did think about it, but didn't figure our a good way to show the gain/lost in time.

    @uuav Sure, that's the mechanism in this game, just remember to be the villain and pay for it...lol

    Sigrath says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35am

    Beware the goat uprising, they are quite vicious!

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39am

    Nice game.

    - Could use a bit more feedback: Let the player know what's happening.
    - Graphics could use some work. Consider downloading GIMP and practice your pixel art ;)

    Other than that, pretty original, pretty fun, so I can't think of anything else to whine about.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:40am

    @Sigrath Ya, they do. I kind of make them like the avenger for the nature.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

    @Gemberkoekje Thx for the advice, I really don't have the talent at drawing, all the art you see in this game is made by GM build in editor.

    xgeovanni says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

    The interesting thing about this game is that you have to spend money to make money. On my second go I found a winning strategy: spam fishing boats in the beginning and wait until they become unprofitable, then make up the rest by placing 1 sawmill and replacing it if a goat comes you'll wan t 1 defence system to kill the goat).

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

    @xgeovanni Well, not really sure if there is any "winning" strategies in this game IMO, but that's definitely one way to finish the game. :)

    And there are several endings if you still have some spare time to try.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15am

    @Faust I don't have much talent either, but it's good to practice :)

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:25pm

    There was an annoying bug. Sometimes, placing a building would fail, and steal my money

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:33pm

    @pl0xz0rz Sorry for the bug, I'll check it later. But I'm not really sure if it's okay to release a new bug fixed version during the voting period?

    DST says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    I like it! Destroy the planet! ;)

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Pretty fun concept, got some fun with your game ! :)

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    Fun and simple. Mini objectives would have been interesting though.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

    @DST @Geoege Thx for your time. :)

    @Zazibar Hopefully you've found all endings. :)

    Husky says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:23pm

    Go go goats! save our world!!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    I guess i just destroyed the whole planet (and goats) with greed! :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:10pm

    Pretty cool! And more challenging then I first thought too.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

    @Husky: Are you sure the goats are not something blocking your ways? :P

    @BlockBrains: Ya, you did. Now it's time to pay for it. :)

    @LittleGreenFlame: Thx for the feedback, I'll check your entry later.

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Seems okay, but this kind of game has been done a bit too much in the past. I like the concept and the goats, although I seem to get a 2 second delay where the game freezes while it loads the goat sound effect. Good attempt though!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    It's interesting to see a game with an environmental message here. The greedy, exploiting man definitely fits the theme.
    I actually liked your graphics, too. The game has a certain charm to it.
    My problem with the game (as already mentioned by others) is that it doesn't give me enough information. I don't know how much money my boats, sawmills and mines make and how often, so it's not easy to plan ahead.

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    Fun game, placed the entire sea full of ships and waited while goats roamed the lands :D Smiling,
    Nice game though the difficulty could have been a bit higher ;) Love the red sea :D

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32am

    Such a serious game...XD

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

    @AlexFili: Thx for the feedback, and sorry for the delay, I'll see if I can fix that later.

    @h.attila: I'm glad my crappy graphic give you some good time, and the feedback is really something I need to improve, maybe a post-LD version will be release when I have some free time.

    @strong99: I did reduced the difficulty somehow from the 1st version, but it's hard to find the proper line in such a short time.

    @KWL_TW: Why so serious, hehe.

    schnerble says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    Quite cool - though it did seem a little easy to win :) I just filled the ocean with boats, mostly - and presumed the way it turned red meant I was stripping it of resources, which would make sense.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:44am

    @schnerble Hmm...maybe I should take that idea out from 1st version, I think I'll put it back and adjust the ending condition in post-LD edition. Thx for the feedback.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45am

    oops, shouldn't

    caranha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:41am

    Interesting idea for your game, but it needs a bit more balancing.

    For instance, If I simply spam boats in the lake, I can get to 10.000 quite easily. On the other hand, if I try a more balanced approach using all the options, I can barely go past 4.000 coins.

    I like the way that the lake changes color, and the clouds start to gather.

    The first time a goat appeared, it almost scared me to that! The goats in your world are quite vicious creatures :-)

    Thanks for the game.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:13am

    @caranha I really should keep the ocean setting as I first implemented. :S

    Thx for the feedback.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:38am

    I feel so bad about these goats man :(
    I also thought that it was a tower defence game!
    Good entry, I liked your graphics!

    poor poor goat D:

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:35pm

    It was like fast forwarding the entire human history in a few mins! Nice! Goddam goats killed all my workers the first raid :(

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    @somethingbeautiful: Wow, I didn't expect that, but I think you probably paid for that at the ending screen. :)

    @killmonday Thx for your feedback, and take care of goats, they're vicious. :)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:07am

    Reminded me of how I play Minecraft. Nice job.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:35am

    @Dark Acre Jack: Maybe I should make those goats more vicious in the night, hehe.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    "... There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern. Do you know what it is? A villain."

    Faust says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    @zenmumbler: Did you kill enough goats to be the villain? :P

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    Yep, everything went to shit essentially. Empty the seas, ravage the trees, the planet on its knees, blame goatees.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:24pm

    Sadly I can't play windows games. :-(

    LoneStranger says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    My biggest complaint was that it was difficult to place things like guard towers because the collision boxes for the items extended past their graphic. Otherwise, I get the idea behind it and I think it's neat.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:46am

    @Rex Peppers: Sorry, I didn't buy the HTML5 license. :S

    @LoneStranger: Thx for the feedback, I'll check that later.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:44am

    Nice little game!
    I liked the layer of smog that was added as you made more money!

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:59am

    A game about wrong enviromentalism :) Awesome!!!!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    @Pacifist Games: Well, it actually determined by an inner variable called pollution. :)

    @Christina Antoinette Neofotistou: Cough, it's definitely a game about vicious goats. :P

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]