Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 15 hours, 39 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bag a Bride - Wuhao - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first LD, first game jam, first time making pixel graphics, first time making music

    Game was made using Cocos2d-html5


    HOW TO PLAY:

    Click and drag the protagonist in opposite direction to throw
    kidnap brides at their wedding with a bag
    throwing power depend on drag distance


    IF THE GAME LAGS
    1, try google chrome
    2, close other cpu demanding program/web page

    View Wuhao's journal. | View all entries by Wuhao

    Ratings

    Coolness80%
    #11Humor4.03
    #73Graphics3.92
    #101Overall3.53
    #137Mood3.25
    #148Fun3.31
    #168Audio3.01
    #176Innovation3.28
    #208Theme3.56

    Comments

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    Short, but the gameplay and the physics work really well. The graphics are also pretty nice.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

    Wish had more time to make more level, LudumDare finishes at monday 10AM, I went to bed at 7AM..

    donmilham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

    Concept seems original. A solid score for Humor. The main control mechanism could have used some feedback (maybe visualize a velocity vector?).

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

    This game is great! I love the physics, which are rock solid by the way. The artwork is very nice, the sounds are funny and gratifying. I'd love to see twenty more levels of this!

    leafo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

    Funny idea. I like the graphics.

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:57am

    Great fun. I loved the art and enjoyed the "blah blah" sound effects.

    mamoniem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:57am

    funny game , i like the ganganm man :0 and the strange language :) also the parallaxing :)

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

    Yeah, so it's an Angry Birds remake but really nicely done! Love the fact (intentional?) that the protagonist looks like "Gangnam Style" dude!

    cjgammon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

    great job with the graphics! gameplay is pretty fun too.

    refrag says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02am

    Kind of offensive... but I suppose with a theme of "You are the villain", that should be expected.
    Had trouble with the "launching" mechanic. There was no UI indicating I was preparing a shot.
    Graphics are excellent and the audio is cute.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40am

    I agree, i should had some kind of feed back so sacks will be easier to aim

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Cool little game, i like the "bag a bride" concept, and the fact there is several levels.

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Woha, really innovative concept and nice execution!
    I was expecting a gameover if the wedding procedure complete before you can catch the bride, but it's easier now :P

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

    Ye, I originally planned that once the priest finishes the wedding procedure. but didnt have time to implement that. Thanks for playing

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:54am

    Great game. Love the art. Sound effects of preacher talking is great. I had trouble figuring out how to throw the bag. Should have tips in game, and maybe show and arc on screen as you drag, but....fun mechanic and great idea. Could actually see something like this maybe working on iOS. Good stuff, solid prototype all around.

    munchor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03am

    Amazing entry, cool concept, great physics, phenomenal graphics and cool audio too. I loved Psy-Bagger.

    ElScootro says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    Nicely done! Did you use any other tools like Cocos Builder for this?

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    No I didn't use cocosBuilder, since there aren't much UI elements. tilemap was done in tiled, I tried Physics Editor, but it didn't work well with cocos2d

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    The graphics are so adorable. Well done!

    How did you get your game load so fast? Did you optimize for that? I use cocos2d-html5 as well but mine is so slow. Is because I use Dropbox to host my game?

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

    Whoa, are you one of the cocos2d-html5 developers? Thanks for making this great engine! Great job!

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

    ye Dropbox is really slow, github pages are pretty good actually. Also most of my images were saved as png8, which is really small compared to png32.
    And yes, I am one of cocos2d-html5 developer

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    @Wuhao:
    Good to know that, thanks!

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    This game is incredible. Nothing has made me laugh this much in a long time. Just the idea of throwing a bag over a bride and then the physics fun makes me chuckle every time. One of the best games I've played this year!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

    lol, this game is interesting, never thought the concept can be explain in such a hilarious way, great job.

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01am

    +1 for the blah effects. Maybe add more info about the controls on this page?

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:07am

    Good idea, i'll do that

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Very nicely done, I liked how the protaganist looked like PSY :P

    sletari says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:34pm

    Very nice! Indeed, it would be good to have some visual feedback of the aim/strenght

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27pm

    As a virgin I can really relate to this game's protagonist.

    drewfitz says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Hilarious! A suggestion: some sort of aiming indicator when you're dragging the mouse.

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21am

    It was really fun to play! Stunning graphics indeed!

    I wonder, what for he kidnaps all these brides :)

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Fun, but I really felt like I needed some feedback on what was going to happen with the throwing. Good game.

    Stryphe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:58am

    Good Game

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20am

    Love your graphics and humor. I think the best part is it can be played on mobile devices. Some visual feedback when dragging will be better.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:21am

    I did not enable touch on mobile devices, so you can't get past title screen lol. besides, the performance is awful on mobile device..
    Ye, like everyone's being saying, i should have implemented aiming vector

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    nice and short concept, i liked it a lot, maybe more feedbacks would have been necessary to help the player ( considering the time you had to spent on physics i understand the time needed to finish the game) great job D:

    gnx says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    Very good graphics and lots of fun touches.
    Overall lags for me and the bag throwing seems very unresponsive with mouse control.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Gloriously silly with great use of physics.

    degtyarev says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:30am

    Graphics is cool, but too booring

    dek says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Hi, you commented my game and told me that it didnt work, can you describe what is happening?

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    Good idea, but I had no idea how to actually bag a bride. I tried clicking / clicking+dragging, but nothing ever happened. It fired the bag a couple of times but never where I thought it would.

    I like the audio and graphics.

    What did you think of Cocos2-html5? Did you use CocosBuilder or just code?

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    if you release the mouse outside the game area (canvas), it won't register, you have to drag and release the mouse inside the game.
    No I didn't use cocos builder, you can see my progress in the time lapse video at the top of this page

    cwalter5 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:28am

    It's too hard to tell where you are aiming, you should add a graphic to give you some indication of your throw strength and angle. Also the limited length of your rope is a bummer.
    The sound is hilarious, but I'd turn it off after the intro.

    All that picking but the game idea is pretty original and the mechanics work pretty well. I also can't find fault with the graphics.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:30am

    This is one of the best and funniest games I've played yet in LD25. I'm impressed!

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:55am

    Nice way to promote cocos2d-html :). The game looks great!

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    Nice!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:53pm

    Fantastic game. I got all the brides. Was fun to play. Here is my feedback:

    - Sometimes I wish to scroll faster back to my character for launching the next shot. Your scrolling algorithm prevents me from that.
    - The rope is only shown the first time. Is this a bug? Shouldn't have every threw bag a connected rope?

    Liked the graphics and the "bla"-sound the most :D

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    really funny!

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    Excellent idea, but controls are very, very clunky, wish there was some force indicator shown.

    dragonfi says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    Very well done, it's really fun. Too bad there are only 5 levels, I could play this for a while.

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    Quite a funny concept. The 'bwaaa bwaa' coming from the pastor thing was very humorous, plus PSY capturing brides from a tree while the groom doesn't even notice is hilarious.

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:14am

    I like the hilarity that the physics rollin' and bonkin' added to the concept. Nice work! It seemed a bit buggy at points as the rope connecting the player and the bag didn't render reliably and I had a couple bags being reeled in at once a few times.

    That ended up looking even more hilarious :P.

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 5:16am

    Nice! The audio was a little annoying, but a pretty hilarious game. A little buggy at times though, like if you threw another bag before the first disappeared it glitched.

    Nice graphics too. :D

    galman says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    Awesome game!!! Really fun and funny :D I played it a lot of times

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:59am

    I literally laughed out loud when I saw who I was playing as.

    Nice gameplay, and I just can't believe this is your first time making pixel graphics. They're amazing.

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Hahaha, hilarious! Having a PSY-lookalike as a bride-stealing villain totally made my day. Cool entry.

    Wuhao says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:54am

    Thanks for playing my game and giving me valuable feedbacks! This ludum dare was an epic experience for me!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]