Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 14 hours, 58 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Revenge of Dr. Green - boena - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    It's a wrap! My first entry in Ludum Dare. It's been tough, but fun :)

    Tools:
    - HaxePunk
    - Sublime Text 2
    - Tiled

    - Photoshop
    - GraphicsGale

    - FL Studio
    - AS3Sfxr

    - Git (thank you god)

    Hope you enjoy it! :D

    View boena's journal. | View all entries by boena

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #325Humor2.65
    #334Overall3.04
    #350Mood2.79
    #404Fun2.77
    #415Graphics2.81
    #442Theme3.04
    #447Audio2.17
    #542Innovation2.48

    Comments

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    Nice work, Basic fun I wasn't sure what I was doing but I can see you doing well :)

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42pm

    Ha ha, great twist on the theme!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:54pm

    Good graphics and polish.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55pm

    fun platformer, nice sounds

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:22am

    What is the point of being uncloaked?

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Nice platformer. A little background music would've been a nice addition, but overall, the game is cool. :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23am

    It's simple, congrats on your first submission :D

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

    The sound when starting to convert something was a little off-putting... Was good other than that..

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:32am

    Thanks for the kind words and feedback! :)

    @Suese - You can't fix the objects (i.e. Harlem) if you are in cloak mode.

    @arhpositive - Yeah i know, but time was against me :)

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Good: Great idea! Also liked the feet-shuffle animation of the beast =)
    Bad: Seems like negative score is made positive in the end? =)

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    It's nice to become a villain :D

    Tommislav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    The enemies are really scary, and I really liked the part where you had to jump up into space (or nighttime bg). The cloaking was a nice feature but didn't add a lot. Maybe if you had an enemy so big that you couldn't jump over it... anyway, great work! =D

    Matt Tuttle says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:10am

    Neat idea! I enjoyed the cloaking concept although I felt more like the hero turning strip clubs into candy stores. ;)

    It might be interesting if there were "good guys" that hurt you when you're the villain. Like a little old lady that chases you with her cane.

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:27am

    Simple and fun. Liked the cloak mechanic. Kudos for using Haxe. Congrats for your first entry.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]