Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 11 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 7 hours, 11 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Goat 666 - Pol - Jam Entry

    [arrow keys + mouse. features music & sounds]

    Aye, you're an evil goat riding a flying broom.
    Use the black magic to escape the anti-satanism police and kill people, because killing people is always funny !

    Features 2 free tracks from newground users Bad-Man-Incorporated (http://bad-man-incorporated.newgrounds.com/) and Tremulos (http://tremulos.newgrounds.com/).

    I also forgot to tell that you can mute the game by pressing X.

    -- EDIT : I moved the entry from the compo to the jam because I used musics that I didn't do by myself, but I made every other game content in 48h. --

    View Pol's journal. | View all entries by Pol

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #23Audio3.73
    #26Theme(Jam)4.00
    #30Audio(Jam)3.67
    #46Theme4.00
    #58Graphics4.00
    #78Overall3.60
    #91Humor(Jam)3.07
    #134Graphics(Jam)3.38
    #144Humor3.20
    #162Innovation(Jam)2.87
    #182Overall(Jam)2.94
    #211Mood(Jam)2.64
    #218Mood3.07
    #227Fun(Jam)2.53
    #332Innovation2.93
    #352Fun2.87

    Comments

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    Holy crap. The loading screen told me I was in for a crazy time. The cover art is amazing, and the graphics are good - but the forground objects really make it difficult to see what I'm doing.

    I'd like to play more, but with all the foreground moving so quickly it gets hard to keep a track of what I'm doing.

    Oh, and Goats. This game has one. Also, full points for audio and humour.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    MMM shouldn't the goat facing right? great art and pleasing music

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Very nice graphics
    not sure if it is possible to dodge the helicoptes missiles, they kept following me
    also on the game overscreen it would be nice to have your kill count displayed

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Good art style and sound but objects moved so fast and were sufficiently small that possessing in a meaningful way was nigh impossible, let alone keep steer yourself, which seemed to be irrelevant anyway. Since this uses external music, shouldn't it be in the Jam?

    myachin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    good game!

    i want a bigger area for man picking... its hard to pick them so accurately

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    yuh <3

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27am

    not bad, took me a second to figure it out, but its fun and funny.

    Pol says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:20am

    Thanks for the comments ! I know the game is kinda hard to play and would need some tweaking, but well, it's too late now 3:
    @ Zenmumbler : aw crap, I didn't remember this rule. I thought it was okay if I used free tracks... Well, I moved the game to the jam, even if it's rather annoying.
    Oh and yeah, the missiles are dodgeable : they won't let you go but you can crash them on the ground or intercept them with someone (but this is trickier).

    RobKat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:23pm

    great graphics, loved the idea, quick only niggle i found was the overlaying silhouettes difficult to deal with while trying to possess people and stay out of the range of fire. great audio too

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Thanks to post mortem I didn't miss this one - really fun, albeit it sis a bit too hard to click people (too small hitbox?). 5/5 in theme department.

    Cryovat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    This one had my laughing. Really loved the intro and graphics. :D

    As for the gameplay, it has lots of potential, but things moved too quickly for me. Killing the soldiers was hard because I kept having problems picking people up. :(

    If you chose to keep working on this, it would be nice if it started out a bit slower and ramped up.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Quite innovative and fits the theme well. Nice job.

    Team Tibbles says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:43am

    Decent game. Hard to grab people but fits theme.

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:47am

    SO METAL IT MADE MY EYES BLEED

    But that was assisted by the foreground objects @_@

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:44am

    Love the intro. I think the gameplay is a little too easy at the moment - all you need to do is shift slightly up/down/left right whenever you hear the gun sound. Perhaps the sights should follow you a bit and only stop just before firing?

    Pol says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Whale then, I uploaded a new version of the game on Newgrounds (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/608261) and Kongregate (http://www.kongregate.com/games/Pol_/goat-666). There is no change except for the dudes, who are easier to pick.

    michax says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Haha funny entry! Great intro and background story. Gamplay was ok but maybe not my type of game or a little to fast and heavily depending on sharing my focus (flying and drag droping minions).

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]