Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 18 days, 15 hours, 52 minutes, 29 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Fragment Division - jhrrsn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my first LD entry, and my first real game. Was really fun building a working product over a single weekend! Built with Unity, with SFX in CFXR and music in Logic Pro.

    My game is kind of a reverse Splinter Cell. You are the evil Tom Clancy villain, plotting to release a catastrophic computer virus that will destabilise the world's economy. Out to stop you are a team of highly trained S.W.O.T operatives, saboteurs who will stop at nothing to foil your plan.

    They've cut the primary power to your base, leaving you with your mainframe and a single spotlight to reveal the operatives to your henchmen. Hold off the operatives for long enough for the virus to upload and you'll win the game!

    View jhrrsn's journal. | View all entries by jhrrsn

    Ratings

    Coolness80%
    #34Mood3.77
    #194Audio2.94
    #194Overall3.30
    #205Innovation3.21
    #239Graphics3.26
    #358Fun2.85
    #365Theme3.21
    #681Humor1.54

    Comments

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Error windows version:
    There should be 'Fragment Division_Data'
    folder next to the executable

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Thanks! Made & tested on a Mac... Will re-upload.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:18pm

    Should be working now.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

    Subtle, creepy, and extremely fun

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    The game sets a very cool mood and looks pretty good, nice use of light and dark.
    Though I failed to see why I couldn't just press shift the entire time and release it when I saw a guy coming.
    Overall it was interesting to experiment, but lacked content. You could have added more things for the player to do besides rotating and waiting ;)

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    Nice idea and visuals.

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Quite an eerie game - you definitely got the mood right. I found myself rather on edge trying to find the enemies. I ended up holding shift and spinning around on the spot. :P
    I liked the design you went for with the lack of lighting - the way you lit up important objects made the game very easy to play. I also admire the small amount of controls - not complicated to play at all. Nice one!

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    Simple but fun!

    At some point the orange light (the shooting one) started flashing all the time, so I could see everything. But then a few seconds later I lost the game, no enemy was seen :(

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    Error on 32-bit Debian Squeeze: ./Fragment Division: /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.14' not found (required by ./Fragment Division)

    I will try this on Windows in a bit.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Sound and visuals were stunning! I loved the modem sound at the end, and it feels good to play Unity games on Linux man. The only downsides were that it was rather easy, and that the wall of text at the start was mostly unnecessary.

    Klakwa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:48pm

    Pretty cool but it was hard to spot the guys and act according to what's going on. Nice mood and idea tho ! Keep up the good work !

    joecarrot says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    Loved it when everything got brighter at the end.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:56pm

    Nice game, a bit short and easy though, sound was a bit soft, But liked the atmosphere

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    Wow the atmosphere is awesome :D But there was an bug => The Lights created by fireing the weapon wasn't removed which made this game a bit easy ;)

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    Pretty nice and good atmospheric sounds.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    At first I was a little frustrated because even when aiming at the enemies, the gun would not shot! Then I realized I had shift pressed all the time! :D

    After fixing my mistake, I really enjoyed the game, but when I got to 50%, as Fonserbc pointed out, the orange light started blinking all the time and I only had to go spin fast to kill anything. So I finished the game :D

    Nice one, keep up the good work!

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    It really gets tense! Wonderful.

    Herku says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:43pm

    The game looks realy nice. The sound fits to the dark mood, but is nothing speacial at all. It was fun to play it once. The idea is rather special and I liked it the most.

    Herku says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Your game looks realy nice. The mood fits with the audio and the grafics. It fun to play the game once, but there is no greater reason to play again and again. Overall you did well for the first time.

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Thanks for all your ace comments. Apologies to any Linux users if the build isn't working, haven't got a machine to test it on so I put all my faith in Unity! Hopefully it was an isolated incident enfyrneaux!

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:10am

    Enjoyable game, nice use of minimalistic art style to create mood rather than just looking plain. I think I got thrown at first because there is so much area, I thought I was supposed to move around. Maybe no widescreen? -Tony

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    Loved the sound effects and the simple design. The simple gameplay is surprisingly enjoyable, and the whole experience got me into sort of a 'zen' state. Good job!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Really well put together, slightly lacking in things to do though. Lighting and difficulty ramp was well-paced.

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:00pm

    Very nice game. I had fun playing it. It was really hard to beat. enemies coming from the top of the screen are really hard to catch.

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    Really nice. I found it a bit unfair when one suddenly popped out from the corner of the wall about 3cm away but otherwise really good. Very gripping.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:16am

    Feels really polished! The spotlight looks great and the enemy spawning rate seems about right. After a while I found that the best strategy was simply to tap and hold the shift key for a bit, release, then start again to cover swaths of land. I could cover 360 degrees before anyone could get to me.

    I wish there was more to this game which means you've done a good job. I hope you play with this game idea more and create some more content or a full game! :D

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    You managed to do a lot with a little, so hats off to you. However, balance feels weird, sometimes you lose seconds after a new guy spawns...

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]