Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 24 days, 8 hours, 11 minutes, 54 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Multigon: A story about an unloved mesh. - zompi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are a multigon, a mesh created by multiple polygons. You live in a land of perfect cirles that think you are a monster. So show them how monstrous monster you are and stab them with your sharp angles!
    First Ludum Dare, yay!

    Notes:
    Just extract and launch ldgame.exe (I forgot to change a name).
    The game doesn't repeat, after game over you have to turn it off.
    It's also endless :P

    FIX NOTE:
    I've fixed that strange bug and game should works also on ATI cards. Thank you spacechase0 for clue.

    View zompi's journal. | View all entries by zompi

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #7Innovation4.28
    #56Mood3.58
    #82Overall3.58
    #98Audio3.31
    #141Fun3.33
    #279Theme3.42
    #390Graphics2.86
    #514Humor2.08

    Comments

    myachin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    My videocard (or may be driver) doesnt work with your game :(

    karsyf says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    This is really good. Just wanna let you know it crashed after about teh 5th screen, but otherwise reaaallly good.

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    Unfortunately, it runs but no window actually appears. :( Using Windows 7, 32-bit.

    Ace says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:25pm

    Very nice idea this, fun to play too. Sadly the game crashed after a while but I'm guessing that may be because I ran out of story.
    On that note I liked the fact that you've managed to stick a functional story into a game about polygons and circles.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Very interesting game!
    I wasn't expecting something this moody!
    Really enjoyed it. :)

    The game crashed on me one round after the text stopped appearing, just a heads up.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    The game doesn't seem to start for me. The ldgame.exe shows up in task manager, but no window is opened. Windows 7 x64.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:01pm

    Nice and polished. The polygon editor is a cool game mechanic. It did crash after the 2nd intermission screen without text but that was the right time to move on anyway.
    Very nice.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    Very good metaphor just by using simple geometries. And the main character's evolving system is really neat and innovative. Kudos!

    Toki Anholmes says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    Interessing concept, I like the way you treated the theme.
    But was it necessary to keep polygons as graphics ?

    mkpictures says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Same here, no window opening on windows 7 x64

    Adok says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Interesting idea. A bit easy, but fun.

    hints says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    Unable to run as well, installed XNA and .Net redists, still no dice.

    Jiyko says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Crashed after level 7.

    Really enjoyed it tho! Love the audio and the after effect on the art.

    zzForrest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    This game was good. Aside from grammar mistakes, I was playing it and having fun while I was playing. It was a lot of fun. It was very innovative - I have never seen anything like this. It's graphics could have been better, and for pete's sake is it too hard to use SFXR or look up royalty free sound? There was no humor to be found, but I loved the dark atmosphere. Overall 4/5.

    spacechase0 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    Very unique. :)

    I'm guessing the problem with the window not appearing for a lot of people is due to ATI graphics card combined with SFML 1.6. SFML 2.0 fixes that issue though.

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Very slick. At first I felt a bit disappointed how possible it was to 'game' the system of adding new polygons, but when I realised that the game had essentially convinced me to make the optimum killing machine with no consideration for aesthetics, I realised how well you'd captured a certain attitude within the gameplay. Well done... you monster.

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:13pm

    Wow. Well that was different. Probably the most interesting concept I've seen today.

    Drawing your own character is fantastic. And the idea behind the game, as a narrative story, is great.

    Unfortunately there isn't any challenge to it, nor any real goal. I really had fun playing it though and I'm not sure how I would adapt it to make it more challenging to be honest.

    Once again, great idea.

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58am

    It ran out of text but very good. Didn't understand it so much at the beginning and had a really inefficient design but it improved greatly after that :D

    Slushy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Must be an AMD thing , getting the same launched but no screen issue

    mailman105 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    I enjoyed it. Especially the graphics effect at the edges of the objects and screen

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    Interesting concept, although I find it gets easier as you play along.

    spacechase0 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Actually, I just remembered that linking statically with SFML 1.6 fixes the ATI issue (if I remember correctly).

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    overall nice concept. I enjoyed making a spiky shape in the editor. but yeah it crashed but me after the 2nd screen without text as well.

    zompi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:38pm

    Thank you spacechase0 for advice, it was it. I've linked libraries statically and it works on my colleague ATI card.
    I've also fixed a bug that cause crashes when the storyline ended. I hope the game will be more stable now :)

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    When I tried to put more things on my triangle, there were only 3 circles to click, the vertices of my triangle. Wasn't sure what to do.

    I also got stuck at the end message of the first level, never got prompted with the "add to yourself" thing.

    The controls were also a bit laggy. Are you displacing on a keystroke, or changing velocity on a keystroke? The latter is probably what you want.

    Nice shader.

    markengley says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:32pm

    Really nice work. The simple graphics worked well (I liked the blur effect). The idea of making the spikey shape more efficient is really nice too.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:48pm

    Really awesome idea. I like how the shape you make affects the difficulty. The AI seems pretty good at avoiding you, too.

    JesterBLUE says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    couldn't get the game to play so I dug around in the files. Ambient.ogg was cool.

    Maikeroppi says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    A very nice, moody game, that's for sure. A few notes.
    -I like the general atmosphere of the darkly ambient music, black background, and minimal graphics.
    -The AI on the spheres puts up a good fight.
    -It seems that any vertex of your polygon is lethal to a circle, including the internal invisible ones. If that's the case, it would be nice to highlight these points.
    -I had a lot of fun editing the story.txt to substitute my own sayings into the in-between level screens. Adding the ability to skip these screens would be nice.
    -The gameplay concept is interesting, and I like the risk/reward of making yourself bigger and getting more HP, or staying small and making it easier to avoid bullets.
    -Once I realized that you could rotate, it became even more fun, although I bugged out the K/left rotation and my polygon stopped rotating in that direction.

    Very nice entry!

    Worse says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:28pm

    Surprisingly addictive! The graphics could be improved easily with some math, for example changing colors, shakes, slight automatic movement of the polygon, more and better particles, ...

    Game mechanics were not very balanced - too much hp and dodging bullets seems hard. Too easy.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]