Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 16 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 10 hours, 9 minutes, 17 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    DV - SanctuaryInteractive - Jam Entry

    DV is a roguelike game where you are a villain who has been taken captive by the white knights; your backstory behind your capture is randomly generated each time you start a new game.

    Your aim is to escape by exploring the randomly generated dungeon system and making it to the staircase.

    Utilise the use of killing the white knights to gain drops which can help you on your way to the end; just make sure you don't die!





    We're a group of four, Year 11 students who enjoy making games. This is our second Ludum Dare, after we made Dig Dig Dig! last December.

    The theme was a but more tough than 'Alone' but we pushed through this one, with our fried noodles, CAT animes and sleeping shifts.

    We didn't get the time to add in the skill trees and the randged/mage weapons we were hoping for. We were also looking to add in some special rooms where you could spend you gold in certain ways, be it a small back room gambling game with corrupt guards or buying some new weapons and potions.

    What we did manage to add in is just as we expected. Sounds we made were crisp and the graphics are in place. Coding ended coming out smooth. You'll just have to check it out for yourself. We enjoy it, so we hope you do too!


    Thanks for checking out our entry,
    Have a nice day!





    P.S. If the game does not run properly, you will have to install the .NET framework we provided in the download, or run the installer.
    We apologise for the inconvenience. If anyone can teach us how to package the game better, please leave a comment and we'll get in touch, thanks!

    View SanctuaryInteractive's journal. | View all entries by SanctuaryInteractive

    Ratings

    Coolness94%
    #105Mood(Jam)3.12
    #117Audio(Jam)3.14
    #138Fun(Jam)2.96
    #153Overall(Jam)3.05
    #195Graphics(Jam)3.00
    #226Innovation(Jam)2.58
    #231Humor(Jam)2.13
    #234Theme(Jam)2.91

    Comments

    iiAtlas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Nice job on the audio!

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    Sorry, I'm not Windows so can't play but wanted to say "Year 11 students" !? Good for you for doing this! Keep it up (many of us started in bedrooms, etc) and good luck :-)

    Deril says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Nice little game!
    My biggest character killer was... a mouse! clicking out of screen.. :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28am

    Fun game, I liked the limited sight. Unfortunately I got stuck in the instructions menu, though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41am

    @iiAtlas Thanks! We were hoping to add more music in but we got cut short for time. Maybe when we update this game for a future release.

    @Arakade That's a shame, but thanks for taking the time to visit us anyway. :) Yeah, we are planning to be back again soon.

    @Deril Good to see you enjoyed it. Yeah, the mouse was a pain for us too. That issue can be fixed by playing in fullscreen, by pressing F10 while the game is open should achieve that.

    @bitwise-constructs Nice to see that the lighting is getting some appreciation; I'll let Darcy know for you.
    I'm not sure if we fixed it, but to get out of the instructions you need to press ESC. It may still be displaying that you need to press Space to exit them. Whoops.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55am

    I like the lighting effects
    Too bad you didn't get everything you hoped for added, but it still was nice, if random as to how fast you win/die

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:38am

    I found a weapon with 1-100 damage, and when I restarted after dying, I appeared to still have it in my hand even though it wasn't in my inventory. Didn't help me for very long though... Lighting is pretty cool. Soundtrack is good.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Really like the splayed-out corpses, and the lighting mechanic. Not such a fan of the way the random map doesn't necessarily connect up, but oh well. To package your game better, write it in C++! :D

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46am

    Really great for a high school team. Great that you could work together and accomplish much in such a short amount of time. As for the whole packaging up of the game, yes you could make an installer that did everything for the user, but most people on Ludum Dare, myself included to prefer just downloading an executable and running without having to install the game (as it's a pain to clean up afterwards). Also, I did also lie the lighting effects quite a bit as well.

    Peping says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:42am

    good game, tough to play if you lay in bed and you don't have a mouse at hand.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46am

    The samples were really nice. I thought the audio was great.

    Razion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25am

    Well done! Pretty fun, but it's odd that every single enemy drops swords that you can't really do anything with. Still, well done!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34am

    @razion we were planing to add in a shop but did not have time.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:17am

    Nice. Too many swords for one villain, they should have random stats.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57pm

    @moomoo112 Good to see you enjoyed our game. Death isn't random though. If I remember correctly, it takes 20 hits from enemies for you to die; it's displayed in the bos in the HUD. Though yes, winning is random as the win room could spawn right next to your start room.

    @dalbinblue Your compliments are appreciated. :) The standalone .exe is in the folder DV for Ludum Dare. The installer is there if you can't get the game to work from the standalone.

    @Xeke_Death That was a quick rare sword we added in at the last few minutes to show some varience so I can understand how it can be buggy; I've heard of an instance where it crashed the game, so we'll fix up the variable so it works. Thanks for playing our game.

    @Cassio Eduardo We were planning on having a store you could sell the drops at so you could buy some better swords but we didn't get the store finished in time so weleft it out of the final build. It'll make more sense when we update it sometime next year, and we'll take that random stats suggestion into consideration. :)

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Great audio, I don't like the mouse controls, But great game non the less:)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    @kevincorrigan Thanks alot! :) Yeah, one feature we wanted to add was customisable controls, so you could move relative to the mouse or raltive to the room. Oh well, it came out alright anyway!

    berareu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    Great work, I liked the game! Because of the music and light the presentation is very good! It's really moody! :)
    In one of my playthroughs I managed to escape after only 2 or 3 rooms, that was random for sure! :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    Really good, the rooms are very small though.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Didn't like the enemies respawning if I left the room.

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:36am

    Very cool roguelike, but it would be much better if the enemies didn't respawn when you leave a room, then enter it again.

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:45am

    Can't play windows, but sounds like a fun idea. Screenshot looks pretty as well. Way to go.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:08am

    not too bad. didn't like the writing on the intro, but the controls work, and the audio is pretty atmospheric if very simple.

    Amos Wenger says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:15am

    Plays very nicely, what this game needs is more physics! It's kinda annoying to get stuck when you touch walls.

    The soundtrack was very nice, one thing that bothered me was that the theme seemed to be just coerced into the game at the end, it seemed like a typical dungeon game.

    Also, I didn't understand why swords keep piling in your inventory, I never really had to use them except my starting sword (which seemed to get better as I killed enemies?)

    Anyway, nice one, looking forward to your next entry!

    Claite says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:20am

    I really liked the lighting, and the game was pretty fun! I liked the dungeon-crawl-y ness of it. I thought it was way too easy to get hit though, and there was little way to regain health. (Unless there was some items I didn't get)
    Great work!!

    dark_hunter says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Did you really needed the Hi-def profile?

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:44pm

    Nice ambience.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 7:08am

    The game is a bit buggy but fun. I ended up getting caught a in one of the walls when moving into a new room and saw a few guards pass through them. Also, on the instructions screen, it says to press space, but 'esc' is what takes you back to the main menu. Awesome game though and would like to see a few more weapons / levels, but for a Jam game, what you got in was great. Might try to set a min distance to exit though, one game it was two rooms away from the start.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]