Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Renegade Theologian - rpgwhitelock - Jam Entry

    "Renegade Theologian"
    Collect (steal!) the 8 books. Avoid the guardian angel. Look to the sky.

    Best played full screen in a dim environment with speakers or headphones.

    Completed solo in 48hours using Unity 4, Blender, Photoshop, Ableton Live and a Piano. However I just realised I can not submit to the 48 owing to a piece of code I am not permitted to redistribute. Maybe next time. Was a great learning experience!

    OSX tested on Snow Leopard 10.6.8.
    Windows tested on Windows 7 64bit.
    Web tested on OSX & win7 chrome Unity Player.

    View rpgwhitelock's journal. | View all entries by rpgwhitelock

    Ratings

    Mood(Jam)4.39
    Coolness57%
    #6Audio(Jam)4.03
    #33Graphics(Jam)4.17
    #86Overall(Jam)3.40
    #171Fun(Jam)2.77
    #226Humor(Jam)2.15
    #237Innovation(Jam)2.55
    #287Theme(Jam)2.41

    Comments

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

    I collected all the books but nothing seemed to happen

    angelk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

    I also collected all the books and wasn't sure what to do from there. I was checking out the constellations, but again nothing; maybe I didn't look long enough?

    Very atmospheric, a good feeling.

    rpgwhitelock says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49am

    Gosh, hope it's working, I was able to 'finish' it on each platform test I did.Tthough occasionally I would think myself sure I had them all only to realise I had one more to get. I wanted to avoid showing numbers but perhaps it's too mysterious - the number of books to collect is 8.

    Glad it's atmospheric!

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    This game mood is wonderful, like other people, I enjoy the atmospher, i think i got the 8 books but nothing happens, the guardian hits me and i go round the groun, roflmao
    Are you inspired in Slender, no?

    rpgwhitelock says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:13pm

    I just tested it again on windows and web, 8 books reveals the secret in the sky. Keep loooking for books!

    I think if I updated it, I would ensure that every time you collected a book it revealed the secret gradually rather than all at once. Better feedback from actions that way.

    I haven't played Slender, but I have heard of it.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27pm

    I can't understand what I need to do after books. But visuals are beautiful.

    rpgwhitelock says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    After the books are collected you bask in the knowledge of what you have achieved! Also look at the sky goat. :)
    Other than that there's no endgame. Enjoy the forest!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    Very good ! Moving the character feel natural, good mood, nice rendering, i like it very much !

    Mousseto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27pm

    Great game. Very beautiful too.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Very amotspheric game. Pretty nice!. On the same line of those: http://christianhuberts.blogspot.com.es/2012/08/betweenworlds-list-of-atmospheric-games.html

    impulse9 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Beautiful game. Great music. Just perfect.

    rpgwhitelock says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    Ah. I might have replicated the issue some have described. If you are sure you have found all the books, and nothing seems to change, be -sure- to look up and around at the sky!

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:20am

    Beautiful and slick, if a little simple. Love the camera wobble as you move, and the superb atmosphere.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:43am

    whoa! now, finally, i know what the 'mood' category is for.

    ramoncb says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:26pm

    perfect mood, very mysterious =O

    good job! ^^

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    too bad its so short. I love the atmosphere and shivered when I heard the deep bass sound from "activating" a book for the first time. Also it has no goats. ;) Nice work!

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:17pm

    Nicely atmospheric.
    Not sure hot it ties into the theme though.
    Also, was the skybox/ground texture really created in the 48 hours?

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:03pm

    Nice atmosphere, not sure why I'm the villain, though.

    rpgwhitelock says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Maybe it should have been 'stealing the books' rather than collecting. It is all very thinly referencing Charles Darwin.

    The base of the sky is a Unity default augmented with FX and particles. In retrospect I should have set Terragen2 running overnight or something to make an original one. The ground, tree & enemy textures are original, compared to the game logic & music they really didn't take long to make.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]