Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 17 days, 21 hours, 45 minutes, 35 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Friend of Tokyo - cdata - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a JavaScript-based browser game. It has been tested in Firefox and Chrome, and on a few iOS and Android devices. I hope you like it!

    View cdata's journal. | View all entries by cdata

    Ratings

    Coolness52%
    #111Innovation3.51
    #128Graphics3.64
    #189Theme3.60
    #274Overall3.16
    #297Fun2.98
    #422Humor2.34
    #539Mood2.45
    #562Audio1.50

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:45am

    Very fun, I liked the graphics too

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47am

    Really nice game! The imagery is very nice, and the gameplay is simple and yet novel. I really dig that skull that slowly appears, I would love a tshirt with that on it.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48am

    how do you win? or lose

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49am

    Very cool concept, and I love the graphic style.
    I haven't figured out anything deeper than (1) pick the row with the tallest things, (2) mow it down. Good potential.
    Might be a nice touch to show the monster eagerly waiting behind the scenes while you are looking over the board.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

    I like it, I managed to score 4958120 on my first run, I dont know if thats a lot.. it needs highscores :)

    netgrind says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52am

    I loved the slick minimalism of the city.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15am

    Like the art. Felt like a version of whack-a-mole but the delay between whacks was not great. i'd almost prefer a higher action game where the skill comes from reflex or something like that. It warrants further dev though to see if you can make it challenging. After a while I just clicked on the next row as fast as I could and paid little attention to what was on them and seemed to keep up. Love the giant dino idea. Keep working on it.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:16am

    Graphics are nice. Is there a way to lose the game? I played for 5 minutes, just clicked randomly through the city and nothing happened

    cdata says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    Thanks for all of the feedback, guys!

    As far as winning or losing is concerned, it is a puzzle game (a la Bejeweled or Tetris). This means that your goal is to get the most points (there is no 'end'). Losing is inevitable, and happens when the game field overwhelms you at some point. The bars at the top left mark how close you are to losing, but it isn't especially clear that this is the case.

    This also underscores the need for some kind of high-scores list. It is a small feature that would have added a lot to the game. Thanks to Manuel for that suggestion :)

    Regarding George's comment, I wanted to inject more strategy into the choice of lane, but sadly ran out of time. My plan is to make it so that after the fourth building of a giving color that you hit in a row, you change direction. This opens the possibility of getting combos of 5 or more buildings much more likely. As it stands, it does feel very whack-a-mole-ish. I am inspired by your encouragement to improve the game after judging is completed. Thanks!

    I should also suggest as an incentive that there are three potential endings to the story that you can reach based on how you lose, for anyone who is interested in that stuff ;)

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Nice game, very minimalistic in a good way

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    Didn't work on my opera (Uncaught exception: DOMException: INDEX_SIZE_ERR), but was fine in Chrome. Really dig the art style and premise, this has potential for a nice mobile game.

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Great game, but it should be more difficult.

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:46am

    Neat game I feel like it goes on a bit too long though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    great graphics style! played this on my android device.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    Excellent stuff, I liked the idea of managing the different coloured bars (types of civilization), it meant I chose my lanes with greater care to try and maximise destruction of the leading colour.

    I think that idea has real potential in a puzzle game. What would be cool is if the different coloured bars had direct effects within the game; like too much Red meant little military units attacking your monster, too much Blue meant commercial gain so buildings built quicker... something like that. A full version would be worth a purchase on the app store!

    pythong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    you say losing is inevitable, but i had like 200000 points without having the feeling of losing o.O. Do the towers grow faster? I just kept destroying buildings from one side - which means that i attack each field after ten rounds, independent of their color. do the buildings grow faster?

    cdata says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:27am

    @Cthu: I have fixed the Opera bug. Thank you for reporting it!

    @SecondDimension: Thanks for the feedback - I really like your idea regarding the visual effects of a certain sector getting too powerful, and I am glad you enjoyed the mechanic.

    @pythong: Strictly speaking, the game difficulty increases linearly every ten rounds. It is possible that this is too slow for most players to notice. To answer your question: yes, "increased difficulty" in this case means that towers grow and respawn more rapidly.

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    The city planners should really start to think outside the box, literally :)
    Nice graphics!
    Could be a little more challenging though..
    Add some cute crash and scream sounds and you will improve the evil feeling :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    It needs a bit more variety, but i like the idea. Good game.

    tomvert says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:01pm

    Well polished presentation.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:16pm

    Im a sucker for isometric games. this was really a great concept. My one comment on it was that the difficulty level never seemed to pick up. I had little trouble just going forever.

    Asamak says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    great game with a total simple concept and intuitive handling.
    add a way to win the game and some strategic elements, that people have to think more about the next move and it will be the perfekt pause game like minesweeper or solitar. ;)

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Nice little game. Great graphics and playing godzilla is always great :)

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Good game! fun for wasting time :)

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 10:18am

    Nice idea and implementation, a bit easy to get the game going for a long time, though. :) The base puzzle idea is solid and it can be improved to make a good iOS game in my opinion.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:14pm

    cute idea, although i'm not too sure about the colors' significance. I figured the red "missile" buildings were defenses that would hurt me, but they didn't seem to.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:37am

    This was a neat idea, but I feel like it really needed some sound effects to sell it, and also perhaps to be a bit faster paced. The game seemed to last a very long time, and I was beginning to want it to end so I could see my score and try again.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:47pm

    Interesting idea.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:11pm

    Nice concept and fun to play (especially once I figured out the bars at the top left). I think its crying out for sound effects and some obstacles/powerups.

    frosty says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:50pm

    I like this. =) With some sounds and bigger clickable arrows, this could be pretty addictive.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]