Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 5 hours, 52 minutes, 32 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 6 hours, 40 minutes, 32 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You Villainous Person You... - Msquirrel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You Have been Locked Away because of your wicked ways... Escape.

    View Msquirrel's journal. | View all entries by Msquirrel

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #374Graphics2.92
    #576Audio1.38
    #673Mood2.10
    #697Humor1.44
    #723Theme2.04
    #736Fun1.80
    #748Overall2.04
    #749Innovation1.71

    Comments

    Sim says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34am

    This looks promising, although a little simple in its current state. I can imagine this having doors, switches, puzzles and traps. Had a bit of trouble with sticking to walls and low framerate, but was still playable.

    naxum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    This is more of a tech demo for a maze than a game, if you add more features to it, I could see it getting a lot more interesting! As for the tech, it's pretty good! No crashes or glitches :)

    HackThePanda says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    This is very Notch-ian ;) That being said and the alliteration of the letter V reminiscent of V for Vendetta it's hard not to like the face of this game. Although the gameplay is a bit dull, as Sim said some puzzle features would have really livened it up a bit. :)

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:33pm

    Could not find the exit without cheating, expected some variety like monsters or change in scenery. Also a dark soundtrack would have made this creepy.

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:36pm

    Yeah, I'll admit the game play needed work, it was originally going to be different, however time and crappyness of my time Management, lead to cuts and this...

    supermaximo93 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    Good start, but as others have mentioned, it'd be good if you could add more puzzle/action elements!

    Or another idea would be to make it extra creepy... Turn it into a sort of horror maze or something. Also, a map that would reveal itself as you travel would be cool

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Technically very impressive - I couldn't make something like this in 48 hours!

    I'm not ashamed to say that I looked at map.png to solve the puzzle. Life's too short for maze games :)

    Nik says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Nice maze game, although a lot more could have been added to make the game more promising. I actually made it through the maze with the 'hug the left wall' trick. Nice ending picture :)

    HackThePanda says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14am

    I hugged the left wall too lol

    SmallDeadGuy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:41am

    Everywhere I went was empty, got bored real quick...

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:15am

    Very nice! I think it could have used some indicators if you were going the right way or not, and exploring the maze was a bit dull, but I enjoyed it. Definitely could have used audio!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:44am

    A Wolf3D hallway system with a minecraft arm a game not makes. After I tried in earnest I saw the maze was rather large and then I just opened op map.png and walked to the end (got other stuff to do :) and I see the last room is different visually and has objects. More visual diversity would give hints where I am in the maze. Some monsters, pushable walls and treasures and then get a strongly worded letter from id!

    SuperDisk says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:45am

    It's just a convoluted maze that requires no strategy because you don't know where you are wandering. Could use more polish.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]