Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 30 days, 0 hours, 29 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The "Great" British Weather - bradleypollard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Written in C# with XNA. Windows only I'm afraid.

    Installation instructions:

    1. If you do not have XNA, or have not run an XNA game before, you will need this (very small) redistributable from Microsoft to run my game:
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

    2. Double click "The Great British Weather.exe" in the zip folder, after you have extracted it!

    ---
    Description:

    You take control of an every-day villain that any British person will know well: the weather!
    You must attempt to make the crowd of festival goers have the worst possible time - without making them leave before the band's set ends!
    After all, you can't have any "fun" if no-one is about, right?

    ---
    Controls:

    As the weather, you have the following at your control ([letter] indicates which key to press):

    [R]ain - Press the R key to start/stop a downpour of rain.
    Everyone in Britain dislikes the rain. It rains a
    lot however, so we don't mind it as much as some
    other weather conditions.

    [S]torm - A few people hate storms. Really hate them. And,
    to top it all off, if someone gets hit by
    lightning, they will leave the festival straight
    away!

    [W]ind - A lot of people can't stand the wind. In fact,
    if someone gets blown over by the wind, they will
    get really unhappy!

    ---
    Tips:

    1. People either dislike wind, or storms. Not both.
    2. People act as a multiplier, more people means bigger score!
    3. You need to find a balance between keeping everyone unhappy as long as possible, and not having them leave.
    4. If someone is jumping up and down, it means they are more than 50% happy! You should do something about that.
    5. The speech bubbles provide information on who dislikes what. People will talk about what they dislike (or that they're happy, if you aren't doing your job!)

    X. The wind blows the rain sideways. (Not really a tip, I just want someone to notice because it's pretty :D)

    ---
    Known Bugs:

    + As far as I'm aware, the game itself is stable. I haven't managed to crash it in the last 6 hours.

    - HOWEVER: There is a huge issue with the compiled version of my game. DO NOT click off of the game window while playing.
    After a few seconds of not being the active window, the game will hang (game logic and audio will continue to run, but the window will be non-responsive). This is not the fault of my code, but something XNA has done while compiling it.
    It never, ever happens while debugging in Visual Studio. If anyone knows more about the AppHangB1 bug and XNA and can help me fix it I will be grateful.

    ---

    Thank you for checking my game out!

    View bradleypollard's journal. | View all entries by bradleypollard

    Ratings

    Coolness64%
    #9Innovation4.26
    #45Humor3.69
    #69Overall3.63
    #95Audio3.33
    #114Theme3.78
    #163Mood3.20
    #166Graphics3.50
    #174Fun3.25

    Comments

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    This turned out really nicely and the graphics and sound really fit the style. Great creative idea. Not really sure how to improve my score or when or how to use wind and lightning.

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    I liked this game it was quite intresting, the sound and graphics were cool. Its just there wasnt really much interactivity you just pressed 3 buttons and it was almost too simple in my opinion.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Do check the tips and control descriptions above to get an idea of how the happiness works (to improve your score)! And thanks for playing.

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Very interesting approach. I like the art style, the band could need at least some animations I'd guess, but overall very nice.

    dvdking says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    I like it very much! Graphics style is amazing. I like when people fall when wind blows. Overall idea is very
    interesting.

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    Interesting concept and a fun little game. I originally thought the objective was to scare everyone away though.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    @Zazibar But that would be too easy (and no fun)! :P

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    Nice graphics and audio.

    Frolacosta says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28pm

    Haha, very nice concept! Not quite sure how I'm supposed to score, it wasn't really explained.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

    It's nice to play as the weather !

    quill18 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    I thought Canadian weather was bad. Then I visited Britain.

    Great concept!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    The song was superb!

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Brilliant simulation of the classic British festival experience there. All that was missing was someone peeing on my tent!
    Love the minimalist visuals, trying to make people as miserable as possible without driving them away makes for a cool mechanic.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    I really like this one! I love the little details you added in, like the how they can fall down as they walk. Great job! ;D

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    I really like how this game looks

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:27am

    Fun game to play! It is the truth as well, I live in the Uk :)
    Great entry!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    Can't play windows games :-(

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Bwahaha, you are the weather, genius. I'm loving some of the interpretations of this topic. Graphics and music weren't overly fantastic, but they fit together well, and I enjoyed the end product.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    @Rex Sorry, I don't really have any experience with Monogame so wouldn't know how to get XNA games out of Windows!
    @DaGamesta Thanks! You're right, there are a lot of very interesting interpretations :P

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    Music reminds me of the NES title The Battle of Olympus, which is a good thing. Very original idea and fun implementation. Good balance of keeping people in but miserable. Quality work!

    doos says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Really glad I got to play this one.. I was worried it wouldnt run until I installed XNA!

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Yeah, that is an interesting take on the theme. The graphics are abstract, but they fit very well. If you make a post-compo version, improve the visual feedback respective annoying them with the weather :D I like what you did with the fell over by wind.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:02am

    @zenmumbler I haven't heard of that game before, but I will certainly check it out if I subconsciously imitated the music haha!
    @doos Thanks for going to the trouble of installing XNA to try it out :)
    @Jeremias I will definitely consider taking another look at this once I've had a break over Christmas. Never had so much feedback on anything I've made before, it's great to hear people's thoughts!

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:09am

    This was cool, I really liked the use of particle effects; the wind especially looked awesome. It was great to hit people with lighting and imagine they were that guy that spilt his beer on me during Elbow's set. Boom!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:19am

    A solid game, though it seemed a bit more on the difficult side (which is not necessarily a bad thing!)

    The graphics were fitting, the sounds were fun, and the controls worked perfectly. Awesome job! :D

    CMaster says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:01pm

    Great idea, neatly executed. Don't feel much urge to replay, but really enjoyed it once.

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:33am

    Well wow, this came as a surprise. loved the creativity behind this and the presentation.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:27pm

    I liked the music, I'd have stuck around to watch the band. I got a score of 42 my 2nd go. 1st go I didn't read the instructions and just made everyone leave :S

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]