Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 3 hours, 51 minutes, 51 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 4 hours, 39 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Diabolical Genius - deathray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, 48 hours

    Diabolical Genius is a simple RPG where you play a classic evil mastermind character. You make evil plans, commit crimes, and try to stay out of jail.

    Look for some hidden references (a goat and the end of the world), and let me know of any bugs, gameplay flaws, or suggestions. Enjoy being diabolical!

    For information on the development process, go to my tumblr: deathraygames.tumblr.com, or @deathraygames on twitter. If you might be interested in combining forces for a game jam sometime, feel free to contact me.

    View deathray's journal. | View all entries by deathray

    Ratings

    Coolness72%
    #37Theme4.04
    #194Humor3.04
    #214Graphics3.35
    #220Innovation3.17
    #307Audio2.58
    #334Overall3.04
    #398Mood2.71
    #553Fun2.44

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:09am

    I know the icons aren't exactly obvious, so here's a quick explanation:

    - Horned Star = Notoriety
    - Dollar Coin = Money
    - Green Clown = Insanity (100 -> madness)
    - Red Eye = Suspicion (100 -> jail)
    - Blue Brain = Genius Points (not used)
    - Gray Cloud = Dud (nothing happens, no progress)
    - Yellow Lightbulb = Scheme Innovation (not used)
    - Bloody Dagger = Scheme Tactic Chance (gives a bonus during the execution phase)

    As hard as the game is, there *is* an ending. ...Of course it'll require 10000 coins.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Looks sinister and the animations entertained me. Reminds me of super villain pencil and paper roleplaying games and Mafia Wars style social games. If you continue developing this, I'm curious what happens when I execute a few Diabolical Schemes, what other interactions get unlocked.

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:18am

    Awesome theme, awesome graphics, great audio. Gameplay is pretty iffy. I felt like I was just spending all my time waiting for progress bars.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

    I hate that I couldn't spend my Genius Points!
    Neat game though... I agree with the comment on feeling like all I'm doing is waiting. But good graphics/animation/sounds.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Interesting concept! I don't know if it's a Chrome thing, but I had to move the mouse in a kinda wierd in/out way to get that "activate scheme" button to work once it was planned out. I like the graphical style and the sounds were good. :]

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04am

    I really like the overall look and feel of this. :) I feel the idea could be further expanded on; it has a lot of potential!

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Nice one. Only thing I would change is making working parallel to something or make it its own mini game.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    damn.. this is my game, but better.. 5 stars for you.

    Nik says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    Addicting game, I can see this as one of those games on smart phones where people have to wait in real time for those schemes to be completed.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31pm

    That was fun

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Nice game, love the "thought bubbles" that pop up while planning a scheme.
    Btw. maybe you want to give my game another try, you need to press x and c quick alternatingly in the beginning to get started :)

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    Hey, that's funny! Like a lot the thought of the character :) Maybe it's a bit slow, but I let it run while I'm doing something else to earn money right now ^^

    deathray says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:24am

    Thanks for all the good, helpful and inspiring comments! I've already begun working on designing some updates to the gameplay to make it more interactive. I can't wait to have time to make some improvements.

    However, as for the LD25 version, wally2069 made a post that made me realize that I shouldn't have included the sound files that I did because they were not made by me (albeit available for free to anyone on freesound.org). For some reason I thought small sound samples were okay, but I don't think so after re-reading the rules. I just updated the game at the links above -- all I changed was to comment out any sound-playing code, and removed the sound files completely. Please adjust your scores appropriately. So sorry about that! Next time I'll know better.

    Of course, the most current version of the game on my site will still have the sound, but please do not rate me on that. Thanks!

    Curious - Has anyone had the enduring patience to beat the game? I know I haven't! If you care to cheat, I'll give you this console hint: dg.character.money++; :)

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:23am

    Thanks for rating Dig-Dug Dungeon. You asked: The GL stuff is an open source javascript game framework I'm working on.

    Well done on Diabolical Genius. I enjoyed it and it's quite innovative. Would have loved some sounds but can obviously understand time constraints. Good luck!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Quite an interesting concept, and well presented. Nice style with the thought bubbles and icons. (Although I was getting 'NaN' values for empty resources and some HTML format codes appearing).

    Sestren says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:01pm

    Breaking out of jail seemed a painfully long process without decisions to make along the way, but overall I really liked this game. If you have a post-compo version, I will definitely play it!

    donmilham says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:31am

    There seems to be a lot of content here. I wasn't sure exactly what to do during the "action" phase. I could click on the icons, but didn't seem to affect my scores much. Graphics were good. Neat game, good job.

    rvmook says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:34pm

    I liked the idea, but after a few turns it became a bit repetitive. On a side-note, when clicking the spawning icons in the browser (Chrome on Windows) it sometimes selected your canvas which was sometimes annoying.

    deathray says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 10:58pm

    Thank you all for your votes! I'm honored that you put my game in the top 5% for Theme, and that you found the game funny. Next time I'm definitely going to work harder on making the game fun!

    @ donmilham & rvmook -- unfortunately I never implemented a way to effecrively click the action icons and have them affect your scores. Maybe in a post-compo version...

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]