Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 1 hour, 22 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Villain Simulator 2000 - TheCze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ==WARNING: GAME CONTAINS CONTENT UNSUITABLE FOR MINORS==



    Ever wanted to be a movie villain? Now it's your chance with the "Villain Simulator 2000". Play four of your favorite movie villains in this daring Simulator about murder, madness and minigames!


    "Villain Simulator 2000" was created in JAVA using the Slick2D libraries. It takes less then 5 minutes to play and finish the game so go and give it a try :)

    So far download only, Webstart will hopefully follow.
    Tell me if the OS/X version works!


    Some people have given me low votes because I did not create all the sound files myself. First of let me make clear that all sound files not created by me have been published in the Creative Commons License and are freely available to anyone, just as a drum loop or a font. If I had a proper mic I would have recorded the screams by myself but as it is, I don't have one so I used ones available for free. It still took me hours to edit and mix all the sounds but if you still think that it's not okay to use those sounds only give the Sound a bad rating, not the whole game.

    View TheCze's journal. | View all entries by TheCze

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #13Humor3.98
    #16Theme4.24
    #73Mood3.47
    #89Fun3.47
    #128Overall3.45
    #152Innovation3.36
    #194Audio2.94
    #258Graphics3.20

    Comments

    Yngar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:27am

    Awesome

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43am

    This is not a game, this is an experience. The kind of experience that turns a small curious child into a mature wise man. Some sections dragged on a little though.

    solidplasma says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Very funny. Also disturbing. XD

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:46am

    WARNING: CONTAINS MATURE THEMES.

    However, if you can work past that, you'll find an excellent ode to villany here. However, the fact that not all content was created during the compo knocks this one down to a 2/5 for me.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:26am

    I feel like I'm falling deeper!
    It didn't work for me. It started up, I saw the shark and the "X" and "C" indicators. I pressed every key, but none did anything.

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

    You need to hit "X" and "C" alternatingly.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Absolutely amazing experience. Loved it. And in response to oldtopman's comment: as far as I can tell, only the audio wasn't created during the compo, so your 2/5 should only apply to that category!

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:16am

    Sorry, I had a good laugh at this one, but I agree with oldtopman!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    I lol'd...

    dvdking says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    It was hilarious xD

    Frolacosta says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:02pm

    Took me far too long to realise what the hell was going on at the start but in the end I loved it!

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:07pm

    Nicely done. I love the pixel art and the variety.

    delpes says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:08pm

    I feel bad for liking this .>

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    Love this. Willelm scream wins.

    EARink0 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Using creative commons sounds and music is fine, I think. As long as their licenses allow you to use them. Loved it!

    someone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    Ok, that was strange.

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    "Press Space to Jump" was the best moment for me, when you realize that you're not controlling Indy but that giant stone ball.

    Great idea, kudos. (though, that final scene was a bit... wtf.)

    svenardo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52pm

    Very innovative and funny. Liked it a lot!

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Adorable!

    goerp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    whoa, the warning was not for nothing!

    There's a lot of good work gone into this one.

    The discussion about the music is an interesting one. I might have used music if creative commons music was allowed.
    I dont'really know, drumsamples ok, but complete music not? Somthing like that?

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36pm

    Nice montage, shame that the gameplay is rather unoriginal.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:40pm

    So fun :)

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    Didnt expect that XD

    Munezane says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    that was awesome, I loved it :)

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:21am

    Holymoly, that is ... intense.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:03am

    I agree with Spierek, the moment you realize you are the ball, amazing! Really nice game, and the pixel art is really good! It even made me cry of laugh!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    AWESOME! Really cool stuff man! So great references :)

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    I did not like the first two minigames, since they showed a literal interpretation of the theme, not really original nor fun. Although the last minigames were really well thought and funny, so at the end the game convinced me. Great job!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    Ugh can't play windows/linux games.

    h8urf8 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19pm

    I freaking lol'd...

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    Thank you very much!

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:30pm

    Holy crap good job! Also thanks for making a Mac version just for me! Worked beautifully...

    I laughed, well... ok I giggled when I understood what was happening in Act 1, and then in act 2 (having watched the movie last night), got a chance to say "Heeeere's Johnny!"... pretty damn cool.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    good god i laughed my ass off.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:59am

    Wow! Cool!
    They are truly the villain.
    Good presentation and sound effect.
    I especially like The Shining part :)

    Meep says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:36am

    Fun little series of mini-games that fit the theme well. :) Good work!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:34am

    QTE villain simulator, nice try.

    karsyf says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11pm

    Haha best I've played so far

    bentog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Well done...

    Peping says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Great game, I can imagine a sequel

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Quite a funny entry, though the shining section seemed to drag on a bit. Also, I initially thought I was Indy in that portion ("Why am I jumping automatically?"). Good fun!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:49pm

    Masterpiece experience :)

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    This is hilarious, it almost made me poo my pants. Great job, this theme was asking for a game like this.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:13pm

    Possibly the first game to make me laugh out loud. The last mini game in particular. Nicely done.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Incredibly original and hilarious. Bravo

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    Press space to jump! Loved it!
    This should have been the last one!
    Really cool idea and great realisation! I love how warioware mini-games are taking over this compo (DedHedZed, Leon Arnott...)

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    Well done, that was really fun! :D Will you continue working on this? More scenes could easily be added, with a visible scoring system and all... :)

    8bitDamage says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:15pm

    Great stuff! But audio wasn't made during the compo so I have to drop the score a bit... :/

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    For me it was too much of a series of quick-time events for it to be an actual game, some parts also seemed to take a bit too long time.
    The graphics style was nice though!

    skiddings says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    Excellent!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:16am

    oh man, i loved this. i guess i'm a real sucker for all the movie references.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]