Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 17 hours, 46 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 18 hours, 34 minutes, 57 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Fall and Rise of Rome: Patient 0 A.D. - Prelucid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A known bug where when an enemy player dies, but have his animation interrupted so he is standing up instead of being dead. bad animation/timing engine.

    Please don't run anything CPU intensive while playing. As far as I can tell, that affects the gameplay. Another issue arising from the timing issues with my framework. Just bad coding hahaha.

    Mac version's Box2D runs slightly sluggish and character movement depends on those functions.

    Linux Notes
    I've heard the game captures all keyboard events. You might not be able to alt-tab or take a screenshot because of this. It's just leftovers from the framework I was working on last year.

    It might run faster than normal.

    View Prelucid's journal. | View all entries by Prelucid

    Ratings

    Coolness61%
    #22Humor3.86
    #109Graphics3.74
    #269Mood2.96
    #304Overall3.10
    #310Fun2.94
    #312Audio2.57
    #503Theme2.90
    #559Innovation2.45

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:04am

    Funny, sacrilegious idea!... and wonderful artwork!
    Gameplay could be smoother though.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

    hahaha, you did try hard to do that worst game music in the end :D

    SkyWolf says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35am

    I love you, is that enough to explain how much i like it? :D

    mokujin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41am

    Graphics is cool, but it's hard to get how to win

    Peltast says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25am

    Awesome graphics and idea! The game is a bit unclear though with spacing/when an enemy takes damage.

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

    Yeah, sorry about that. The only way to make the game slightly difficult was to force the player to get used to a sort of rhythm/intuition. The enemy just dies instantly when they're hit within a certain proximity of the player, so you have to get them close but they also knock you back so it's difficult. Can be more 10x more difficult on a Mac because of the physics not working right.

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    Haha great game! Really nice graphics and overall feeling! Got through like 3 gold and 10 silver guards, was a bit hard to understand when I hit or missed. Would be fun with some variation in guards or more mechanics, like jumping/blocking/etc.

    BiceMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Fantastic Game Over screen! Nice animations. Had some really large lag spikes running on a quite powerful computer. Some profiling and optimization would therefore be needed. Music is quite repititive.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:20pm

    Love the graphics, most impressive. Really hard, but like you say, may be because I'm on a mac. I'll try it on my PC again later.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

    Buggy and complicated, but those are some quality graphics and theme use.

    MichaelJLong says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:20am

    Best Entry so far. Great art, funny, fully cracked up laughing when I heard the: "dammit he can walk on water".

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Fantastic art, and great outro music :P Nice job.

    Shugor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:45pm

    Game was fun, and I liked the bit at the end when they said "Dammit he can walk on water!" am looking forward to the next part.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    Cracked me up! Nice one!

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    Very fun and humorous despite the bugs.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:37am

    Pretty good art. Seemed a little too easy as I just move forward and swing that cross non-stop. And yes, that's terrible music at the end. :P I love the gameover screen, great reference!

    GameRespect says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:45am

    I like the aesthetic, though the music does become repetitive after awhile. A little more polish will do it well!

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:27am

    Liked the idea and the art a lot. Crashed on os/x under Lion or got a solid blue screen. Windows was ok. Solid base to build from and add many of the suggestions above.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:30pm

    Best game over screen ever. Great art and great idea, but the gameplay is realllllly hard to enjoy. Bonus points for JZIGGY

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]