Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 21 hours, 14 minutes, 21 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Mine Sneaker - raincole - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    On this minefield you are the vallian. Pick mines up, set traps down, and try to kill those Minesweepers!

    Edit: I moved the webpage from Github to my own domain, but the game was untouched.

    Edit: As others have mentioned, the blue one is too hard. I slowed it down significantly.

    Edit: Bug fixed: you can't play locked levels now.

    View raincole's journal. | View all entries by raincole

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #5Innovation4.30
    #40Theme4.03
    #59Overall3.68
    #141Fun3.33
    #255Humor2.87
    #345Mood2.81
    #363Audio2.43
    #372Graphics2.93

    Comments

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:01am

    Wouldn't load.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09am

    @Suese it works for me now... could you try again?

    Felix20 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:14am

    Really great game concept.
    Only problem is the blue cursor is practically impossible to beat on lev 2 and 4.
    sound is ok, graphics are good, theme fits very nicely.

    But how are supposed to get that blue minesweeper >:o
    Now I know what it feels like to be a villain >:(

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Sorry for the lack of tips. The way to kill the blue one is to "make it clueless". In other words, force it to guess. It takes some luck but not as hard as it sounds. When a cursor guesses there will be a question mark beside it.

    Since you have known what lev 4 is, I believe that you have practically beat lev 2. Good job, villain!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57am

    I originally read the title of the game as 'MineStreaker', That would have been an interesting variation - haha.

    I quite like the concept! Dynamically shifting Minesweeper, neat.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58am

    The AI in this game plays Minesweeper better than I do! I love the concept!

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01am

    haaha awesome game!

    recursor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:02am

    The blue cursor is hard. Neat concept.

    Grouflon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:15am

    great great great concept, you should make a multiplayer version !

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    So original! I couldn't beat it, but I like the idea :D

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Brilliant idea. I don't play much minesweeper but its very engaging, even when you have no idea what you're doing!

    har_g says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:48pm

    very simple, but very awesome !! I liked it :)
    and i like orange.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:34pm

    Argh! That last level is infuriating! Awesomely done.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Ohhhh, figured out a tactic for the last level and felt so evil. Beautiful.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:47pm

    Haha, and going back to it, the fact that you track the fastest time you've been defeated in gives it an awesome little moral choice edge too.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:45am

    Was hard at start but managed to beat it!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

    Nice reverse play, It's really hard to set traps to the AI, but interesting.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    Awesome idea, I love this sides switch.
    Although at least after a first playthrough, the game is really hard, have you considered slowing it down a bit?

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56pm

    Cool concept and realisation !

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10pm

    Wooho!!
    So bad but I like it! :)
    Great work!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:10pm

    I mean -Evil

    caasi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:18pm

    Great idea ane implementation!
    Not sure how to trick the AI, it's good.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:45pm

    This gave a very creepy thought: There must be some guy behind my computer sneaking the mines when I play minesweeper.... (*gasp*)

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:19pm

    @everyonewhosaiditstoohard: You're right. I slowed the blue one down by half.

    @arch.jslin: It's exactly how I figured this concept out!

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Very interesting Minesweeper reversal here. Quite hard, though.

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    That AI... I hate it!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:44pm

    I won the first round by accident by just clicking and I suck at minesweeper and I apparently suck harder at reverse minesweeper but this is brilliantly done. Really original! Now even more sure that AIs will kill us all in due time.

    Amos Wenger says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Overall very nice, not my type of game but it ran well, graphics are simple yet consistent, I could never get past the second level though :)

    dekart says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56am

    Nice game!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Very clever and fun to play! Remember all my time on this game :D SO THAT'S WHY I USED TO FAIL!

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    Great game, very nice idea and very well executed.

    My trick to beating the blue, I picked up a mine and then I wait until I have 1 or two tile, so I know which tile the blue one is going to click on, and then I just spam my mouse left click on that tile, seems to confuse it, but you won't get a very good time for it though! Because you have to wait until that 1 tile.

    Madball says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    I would prefer a slower pace. It's a very thinking game, so I would like to think, and not place mines randomly hoping to win. But it's a great idea.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    The game is really good and fun. But that AI man, it is just sick. Couldn't go past second level :/. Good work anyway!

    GFM says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Until I understood how to make it clueless, I was just trying to put mines under the cursor. (it works on the first level xD)
    But then there is a easy (and cheap) way of making it clueless... so it became quite easy. xD

    Neat concept!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Clever idea and good AI.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    great twist on an old classic. nice job!

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:39am

    Great idea! Not so hard to beat. I wonder if there's a real strategy of if it's just about placing a mine down the cursor before it clicks. Well done!

    bentog says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    Wow. I don't like minesweeper at all, but I'm sure that people who like it would love this game. It's really cool!

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:51am

    I wish I could have done this to a certain minesweeper player I know. Great concept.

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:01am

    That's incredible that you coded this AI in less than 48 hours. Stellar work.

    The game itself was a bit tedious, but I could see this being really fun as a head-to-head game.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:38am

    I love it!
    As a big minesweaper player, I had no difficulty to trick the cursor everytime, but I had a lot of fun anyway!

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:54am

    ahah! nice and very evil game :D

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Excellent!

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:49pm

    Nice concept!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:01pm

    Damn it's hard to play, but still the idea is great ( reminds me of Hatetris where one player chooses the tetraminoes the other has to put ). I'm a noob at minesweeper so i had a hard time trying to beat lvl 2, great job D:

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:02pm

    Nice. Just nice.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:14am

    It is a very satisfying feeling to set up the traps for the mine sweeper. Very nice entry.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:52am

    level 2 is impossible due to what appears to be input reading.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:04am

    This is the best take on the "play a well-known game from the bad guy's point of view" theme that I've seen. Figuring out ways to force the cursors into guessing was a lot of fun. I'm sure there's a trivial solution, but I haven't found it yet, and the whole game was very well-executed.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Like others, relatively quickly I discovered a dominant strategy that removed the challenge from each level, but it was still satisfying waiting for the AI to be snared by my trap, he he he. >:)

    Mago says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:18pm

    great idea! now I know what computer do when I play minesweaper

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]