Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 21 minutes, 45 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 4 days, 15 hours, 21 minutes, 46 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    All Galactic Creatures - somethingbeautiful - Jam Entry

    RULES OF THE GAME
    Game includes elements of two types of strategic games. It's a double strategy.
    1. TURN BASE GAME: this part of our game is basedon the rules of an american-japanese strategic game called "Pente".

    The game is played on a MASSIVE board 35 x 35 fields (originally it was meant to be 19 x 19).
    To win, you need to arrest 5 pairs of an enemy "soldiers". You can also win faster by playing by the rules of a japanese GO-MOKU (five-in-a-row).
    The green fields will (post-compo)be an impassable areas, nothing wil be allowed to be placed on them.

    By pressing a "red" button we will be transferred to the PENTE game's board, which is the same as a geographical map that will be used for the RTS gameplay.
    For now there are two red buttons, so you can play on two different PENTE games at the same time.

    Arresting is closing two enemy's figures from both sides, such us: XOOX. After arresting, enemy's forces are weakened by two soldiers. When he will lose 10... this means VICTORY for us :)

    2 RTS This game's element is not yet ready. By pressing a "green" or "blue" button we will be transferred on a board of our game, where our squads, (Alpha, Beta, Charlie and Delta squads) of Imperial Stormtroopers fight the historic army controlled by Napoleon Bonaparte. However for now we can't anything on this map :)

    When we win by thinking tactically on a PENTE board game, our army on the RTS board win as well.
    ...unfortunately we didn't have enough time to fully finish our game... We have got all the Stormtroopers' and Napoleon's soldiers' animations ready. They will be able to fight each other later (post-compo).

    (The orders in game is a voice of our sound designer, apart from Napoleon's "French" accent ;)

    ENJOY!

    Team Something Beautiful


    Instructions


    View somethingbeautiful's journal. | View all entries by somethingbeautiful

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #141Innovation(Jam)2.98
    #144Graphics(Jam)3.31
    #156Humor(Jam)2.64
    #159Audio(Jam)2.81
    #227Mood(Jam)2.58
    #233Overall(Jam)2.74
    #251Theme(Jam)2.74
    #253Fun(Jam)2.37

    Comments

    koredozo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:47am

    Your download link makes this pop up for me:

    "Access to the web page was blocked by ESET Smart Security.
    The web page is on the list of websites with potentially dangerous content."

    Bensonance says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Get an error saying the drive or network the application refers to is unnavailable. It's a shame because this looks great.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:24am

    contain:
    -.exe (GameMaker 8.1) +
    -.ogg extension (Caster dlls)
    -.ogg files

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    Sorry!,
    I have placed a wrong file!
    Now everything's repaired and fixed.
    I welcome everybody to play and rate my game :)

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    The graphics are so good, really impressive for a jam project.

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:06pm

    Where are my storm troopers? I only played the 5-in-a-row game, which is fun. First time I didn't realize I was playing match 5 in a row. I thought I was playing "Go". Second time I managed to get 5 in a row. But why does my darth vader light sabre crosses =) and napoleon's knots sometime dissappear? What is the reason behind that?

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    The rules don't seems clear to me, I only got the Turn based part working I think? Got the xxxxx ;) Got some points but it kept continueing. The normal map didn't show anything useful. Help?

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Can't play windows games...

    maiev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    Amazing graphics and animation. Really surprised these graphics were all made within 48 hours. However the game itself is really confusing; I couldn't really figure out how to play.

    Prealpha says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Took me a while to figure out how to capture the french pieces ('surround' as in reversi but only works against two pieces) but it was fun after that. I'm guessing you didn't have time to implement the multi-board stuff.

    The presentation is excellent, although the thinking drums get kind of annoying after a while.

    nathanj439 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    The graphics on the RTS side are really nice. This seems like it would be fun once it is completed.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:45am

    I don't understand at all what the town screen has to do with anything, or what the ABCD buttons were for, and it was extremely annoying that I had to wait for 10 seconds of drums between every single move. I didn't really understand the point either, I don't think it was very well explained.

    The town graphics were nice, but pretty irrelevant.

    myachin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:27am

    i like this variant of renju

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    I feel like it moves too slow. I don't know if AI turns take so long so the sounds can play or if there are so many sounds because the AI takes a while, but the pace was kinda detrimental.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    The AI decides on its movement in a fraction of a second. In this time the Ai will also manage its army on the RTS map, that is why it takes more waiting time.

    Peping says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    I cannot run this, I get an error: Fatal error in caster extension: Error in initialization

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:30pm

    Bwahaha, I'll give you that. Interesting game, though the instructions could be clearer. Like, in game instructions. Though, now that I look at it, it seems this is supposed to be a half-rts game according to the directions you posted... I thought it was just connect-5. Conveyance is key, my friend. Everything else was great, though.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    The graphics are so cool,and i also like strategy games, cool idea of the game :D nice work!

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:39am

    Interesting idea. I didn't understand how pente related to the RTS part. The AI was pretty easy to win again. Nice grahpics on the RTS part and the sounds were kinda funny.

    firestorm713 says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Looks promising, but it seems a lot of time was spent on art, and not quite enough on code. Interesting, but unclear what you were supposed to do...

    Maikeroppi says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    A very interesting concept, although does seem like you ran out of time. A few notes:
    -The graphics were quite nice on the RTS screen.
    -Darth Vader playing Pente against Napolean. You definitely get points for originality!
    -As a few people commented, it seems the RTS and the buttons are not completely working.
    -The AI Napolean puts up a good struggle, but takes a pretty long time to move.
    -The sound is funny, but I had to mute it due to the sound that plays when AI Napolean is playing his turn. It almost seems as if his turn length is connected to this sound, like it waits for it to finish playing before moving?
    -It would be handy to have arrow keys or something to move around the map. The default scroll speed is pretty slow.
    -I managed to win once, and it stopped and went immediately back to the start screen without showing my winning move like it does for the AI. Possibly a bug?

    Seems like an interesting concept with some potential that could be fleshed out with some more development time. Well done!

    Saisaith says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 6:01am

    Nice work!

    Freakill says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

    Really nice that we play Imperial forces against Napoleon! I found it really funny! At the beginning I did not understand the game (gosh and such easy rules :(). But then I started to figure out how it worked. Really nice that you have music while machine is playing! Nice entry for the Jam! Looking forward for a finished version of this game! :D

    eli says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:13pm

    This is ... immense. Obviously there is much more here than I can appreciate, being a work in progress. I enjoyed playing the board game against the competent AI. The voice sounds were excellent (more Vader clips needed!). The game was extremely confusing at first, because of the mix between board game and RTS. But then I figured out who was against who and it went smoother.

    Loved the graphics and sounds, the concept is solid. Wish you had gone for something a little less ambitious (and completed it!), but it's good to dream. Hope to see a finished version of this some day.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:13am

    The turn-based part is fun. There's some pretty decent graphics. Definitely a game worth polishing to completion! Als, great Napoleon voice-over! :)

    Msquirrel says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:57am

    The gameplay was quite confusing, but it looked nice, graphics were amazing for the time

    LogGiant says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:53pm

    I really liked the RTS graphics. I think some sort of tutorial would help out immensely, as I had a hard time figuring out what I was doing. But whatever I WAS doing, I enjoyed it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]