Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 6 hours, 17 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 7 hours, 5 minutes, 26 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Fix - Crimsoneer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In The Fix, you play a man down on his luck, who has to make money by fixing boxing matches and sabotaging your opponents. Throw newspapers, bottles, and infernal goats at your opponents in your efforts to achieve glory and become the ultimate match fixer! Use your earnings to buy newer weapons, and continue your climb to riches!

    Once the fight starts, you don't control the fighters - but you can distract the opponent on the right, by throwing things. Press A, B, G, and P to unlock and use weapons. Winning earns you more cash, but puts you up against stronger opponents.

    The newspaper will interrupt an attack, making you skip to the next turn
    The banana damages enemy morale, making him more likely to use weaker attacks
    The bottle does some HP damage
    The HELL GOAT does a lot of HP damage, and sounds awesome. It's totally OP.

    All assets made by me, using Photoshop, Inkscape, SFXR, and GarageBand. My first working game ever, and first ever LD entry. And yes, there are goats.

    View Crimsoneer's journal. | View all entries by Crimsoneer

    Ratings

    Coolness57%
    #250Humor2.88
    #385Audio2.35
    #394Innovation2.79
    #570Theme2.71
    #590Fun2.32
    #635Overall2.46
    #636Mood2.22
    #750Graphics1.57

    Comments

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:50pm

    Fun ^.^

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:48pm

    Can't play windows games. :-(

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Definitely fun. :) I tried twice, couldn't get to win the game, but at least I opened the goat. :)

    zompi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01pm

    Well that was fun. Goat! :D

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    I can't rate this game because I wasn't able to download it, I think the link is broken.

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:03pm

    Great first game! :) Keep on makin' em!

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    This was quite interesting! It had character, I must say. :D

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    It wasn't particularly fun or villainous. What made it so unexciting was that you weren't really doing anything for most of the game -- it's in someone else's hands.

    krutech says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Difficult, fun concept.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

    Good concept.
    I didn't like that the controls are all over the place, I think you could've used keys that are next to each other or simply the mouse to click on the icons.
    Also, the game gives me an error when I close its window:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "The Fix.py", line 207, in <module>
    NameError: name 'terminate' is not defined
    Otherwise it worked fine.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:22am

    cool idea, and maybe I just didn't play long enough to notice, but it seemed like there wasn't much strategy to how you fix the boxing match, it just seems like you expend all your items and watch the match resolve on its own

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Wow the game is difficult (I've never won :(), but it is really funny and innovative how you implemented the fightings hehehe. I liked the sound, well worked and not bothering at all :D Good game!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    Fun. Like the announcer. Content could use some work.

    Great first game. Keep it up!.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:50pm

    got stuck with this error

    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "The Fix.py", line 207, in <module>
    NameError: name 'terminate' is not defined

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:39pm

    Interesting concept. It's not easy to know exactly how to use the items.

    PPLo says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:39pm

    Yeah I won !
    Had to restart 3 times because I wanted to see the goat item .
    I liked the voices, they were funny.
    A fun little game, a bit passive.
    (Hey I just noticed the green boxer is outside the ring... Unfair! Where's the referee?)

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:58pm

    Often the commands would not respond at all or do nothing, weird. Fun samples.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]