Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 19 hours, 57 minutes, 10 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Red Revenge - Skyshifter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Meh 1st LD entry.

    You play as a villain that was the best, until one day another villain destroyed the moon and spread influence to your henchman until you were the only one left.

    The game starts with you regaining your pride by destroying the planet Magnus(the other villains HQ) to defeat him and become the ultimate villain of the universe.

    Known Bugs:
    -If your resources hit 5 and there's a crate touching you, the crate disappears and you do not gain any resource

    -Plasma batteries, when activated, will consume all instead of just one

    -Drones stack if left too long and ista-kills if touches you

    -This is a Game Maker game, so it does not work on anything other than Windows, but WinE would work(no sound though)

    (Note: The objective of the game is to collect enough resources to craft an item at the RIGHT SIDE of the level to advance to the next stage)

    View Skyshifter's journal. | View all entries by Skyshifter

    Ratings

    #6Audio4.00
    #479Mood2.58
    #511Fun2.53
    #555Overall2.65
    #597Graphics2.29
    #627Innovation2.29
    #709Theme2.12
    #948Coolness32%

    Comments

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22am

    I am downloading your game now (59 mb is pretty heavy!)

    But as you asked about my game, "Earth Destroyer", what does the Bonus Level do.. I just answered your question on my own game page, please take a look there :)

    shatterhand says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36am

    First, let me say this, the music on this is GODDAMN AWESOMELY GOOD. Would you mind sharing what program you used to do those musics? They are really very, very good.

    I found the game to be very enjoyable. It does have its share of troubles though... the resources stuff is kinda confusing in the beginning, and at first I thought I was supposed to just hang around and kill stuff. I even thought my grenades weren't working 'til I figured out I was supposed to produce them :)

    You could have done a crosshair instead of using the default system mouse pointer for the player's aim.

    But all in all, the game is pretty good indeed. I did like it a lot.

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:49am

    Didnt have much time as i spend most of my time slacking off, but thanks for the review

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:15am

    I found it a bit unfortunate that the graphics were somehow shocky and the rockets in some rotations weren't very pretty.

    - I found it confusing which weapon I was actually shooting with. An overlay text "Plasma Rifle" or something would've been nice.
    - I really liked the nice explanation screens, I've been missing those with some other games.
    - Those missiles are just mean, luckily you can shoot them.
    - I'm not a fan of these kind of games, but I can't blaim you for that :P

    I think you should keep going, this game has potential (for people other than me who actually like these kinds of games :P) I think it mostly needs just that bit more spit'n'polish.

    celeron55 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:25am

    It seems quite unclear what the goal is and what you are able to do in addition to flying around and shooting with two things. The music isn't bad.

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:51am

    I thought i already put the objective in the 'Do' screen where u need to collect resources to craft items to finish levels.

    I guess it isnt quite clear though

    spolvid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10am

    This game really made no sense to me. It was frustrating and confusing.

    The music is all kinds of awesome, though. :)

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Great first LD entry! Keep on makin' games!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25pm

    I just moved left and picked up some stuff and then right click on the ship and I won! Yay. Chiptune music is great, did you create that during the LD? Respect. Good idea, worth some time to make a cool post-compo version.

    mcc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:43am

    i feel like the mechanics are potentially interesting, but pretty poorly conveyed, even though i appreciated the tutorial screen. it took me awhile to figure out what things were and the purpose for them. this has potential, though. nice euro style chiptune btw.

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Music is really cool. Had some pretty fun with your game. Good job :)

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:09am

    Thank u for rating my game :)

    BTW i made it during the LD.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]