Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Rest in Pixels - joaorequiao - Jam Entry

    Not the best game ever. But good enough to our very firs game ever (yeah... this is every team member's first game)

    View joaorequiao's journal. | View all entries by joaorequiao

    Ratings

    Coolness51%
    #115Theme(Jam)3.52
    #138Mood(Jam)2.93
    #165Graphics(Jam)3.21
    #169Audio(Jam)2.74
    #229Humor(Jam)2.14
    #272Overall(Jam)2.57
    #303Fun(Jam)2.00
    #310Innovation(Jam)1.93

    Comments

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

    All and all, this is really nice for a first game! The graphics look really good, and the music complements it nicely. Its also pretty fun, but the platforming is a bit awkward with you not being able to jump and relying on those glitchy beams. Its good so far, but it still needs a bit more polish.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:53am

    cool art. plays a little slow. i couldn't tell out when i would hurt enemies or when they would hurt me.

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:09am

    Fun to play, although not extraordinarily so. A little buggy, but aside from that I have no real complaints about this, good job.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:24am

    Could not play; got an error "C:\Windows\SysWOW64\msiexec.exe the service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion" when trying to install. Windows 8 machine. Note that I do have XNA 4.0 installed already, would it be possible to get a non-installer version?

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Nice Title :) The collisions are not perfect but the whole game is playable which is very good for a first entry in a game jam. I had some problem beating the scientist until I found out that holding attack button was enough.

    Justin Kibbe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Very good game. The only issue i had with it was the fact that the laser ladders would glitch as I tried to get off them. Good job!

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:35pm

    Loved it! great work!

    Sim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    Good work making your first game! The beams were a bit buggy but it was entertaining while it lasted.

    Zener says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    Good job, gfx are quite good and it has some good platform action. Music is very atmospheric for a game like this one.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    Great art!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:57pm

    I liked the atmosphere in this game, the sounds made it so suspenseful and i like the style of the characters :D

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00am

    A few bugs with the lifts, but otherwise not bad. It had good graphics for the style of game and went well with the theme. It was too easy and seemed a bit dull while you were playing. I'm sure that with more time it has a lot more potential.

    psychopsam says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:42am

    Yeah... looks classy but the game is almost on rails with no chance to take a different path. Theme and graphics are spot on, but I never felt like a had a choice - other than when to press attack. Nice looking game, just no fun to be had.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:08am

    nice graphics and mood!

    Falkreon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:17pm

    The big problem is the glitchy beams. Basically, you need to work on tightening up game physics: Allow people to move left or right while falling, and have acceleration due to gravity, not just a fixed downward velocity. What will emerge from that is that people will move themselves out of the beams, and they won't glitch back upwards like they do now.

    Otherwise, the game concept was humorous and on-target, the graphics were consistent and lovable, and the music provided a lot of atmosphere.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:16pm

    Nice one!

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    Good job on your first LD! This was my first also. The beams were pretty bugged out, but the mood was good and you fit the theme well.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    For a first game I would say, very good! The Zombie looks great. The music made a good mood for this game.
    The biggest trouble I had was with the beams. Its one of those things that can take a long time to get right.
    And a little short of 25 levels ;)

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Needs better combat system. Would have liked it a lot more if the people you ate also became zombies and followed you around. Zombies need hoards! For distributing, I would go with .zip files that everyone has built into their OS rather than .rar which requires a utility and more effort to extract.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 11:28am

    Nice art, but totally bugged :(

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]