Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 15 hours, 24 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Consumption - Van Merwan - Jam Entry

    Hi! This is Consumption.
    I made it alone with an amazing tool named CraftStudio.
    Here's a link so you can test its awesomeness : http://craftstud.io/

    No sound. :(
    For Windows, you will need the XNA Framework Redistributable.
    For Mac OS/X, you will need the Mono runtime.

    Here's the topic : You will see a fat guy. He's not the hero, he's your victim. You can damage his brain, heart, hands and feet by letting him to his everyday life. Once he's dead, don't forget to feel ashamed of yourself.

    ----- Controls :
    ESC : Restart
    LEFT RIGHT : Move
    SPACE : Interact

    View Van Merwan's journal. | View all entries by Van Merwan

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #85Graphics(Jam)3.73
    #153Humor(Jam)2.65
    #161Innovation(Jam)2.88
    #167Theme(Jam)3.28
    #242Mood(Jam)2.50
    #259Overall(Jam)2.62
    #265Audio(Jam)1.35
    #272Fun(Jam)2.26

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:57pm

    I kinda like the idea of the guy you're controlling not directly being the villain, and the game looks completely gorgeous, but it's not very game-y. Also it was annoying how you had to stop to see if a ? would appear so you could interact with something.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:28pm

    Nice use of the theme

    quill18 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31pm

    I really like the art style, and the twist on the theme is brilliant.

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32pm

    Very beautiful graphics, and nice idea.
    Definetely need som fat man music theme, like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KMk1-erNhQ

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:33pm

    Interesting! Not very game-y indeed, but you visibly had fun with the theme! Well done :)

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    Nice art, a fun idea, but, like the people above said, it's not very game-y. CraftStudio looks like a fun thing to use, I'll have to check it out.

    Devenger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:40pm

    I sort of see what you were going for here, but since it just amounts to walking around and using things, it barely qualifies as being a game. I feel like, with these great graphics and this lovely environment, you could have made something that was less of a linear slideshow.

    Klakwa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    Looks cool on the screens, unfortunately it doesn't run on my machine. (Nothing happens after launching .exe - I'm on Windows 8 Pro x64 with Ati FirePro gfx so maybe that's the cause)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    I really love the graphics!

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09pm

    Okay, very pretty and interesting...but not really much fun. I like the look though! Also, why did the goat damage my hands? WHAT DID I DO TO THE GOAT???

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:14pm

    @Crimsoneer : This is what happened : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7tj6Ht7R6I
    Thanks for all of your comments. I will remember them while I'll be working on my next LD entries. :)

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:15pm

    Can't play windows games. :-(

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Great! Although I wish I could eat the fridge :( Fun style, I liked the bright colors

    8bitDamage says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    I love the graphics! The use of the theme is very meta! ;)

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

    Very twisted, I liked it :)

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48pm

    I feel ashamed now ! Nice game !

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32am

    love the graphics and the concept, but there isn't much to the gameplay really

    Verrazano says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    The game was very good looking. But I wasn't quite sure of the purpose even though I read, the description. Could have used some cutesy sound effects and music.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39pm

    Well done! I genuinely felt bad at the end.
    Could've used some sound effects and music, though.

    dek says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    Enjoyed the graphics and the idea!

    ceronman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:12am

    Nice graphics!

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    haha, very good. Nice looking game with a message: touching goats can be hazardous. I know a number of games I've played this Ludum have omitted sound but, for me, it is an essential part of a game an really elevates the work.

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Nice graphics, though I didn't quite understand why some of the "healthy" things to do (like the treadmill) were needed to kill the person.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    So the message is: no matter what you do, you will die in the end? Very realistic :D
    I liked it although it wasn't very 'gamey'. The way the guy swayed a bit, the semi 3D, the way he changed, looked cool.
    And I did feel like the bad guy (a bit).
    Craftstudio looks interesting, especially the feature of collaborating online on the same stuff.

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    I liked the 3d style. Too bad the interactions didn't really change the environment too much.

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 8:28pm

    Movement could be faster, but overall it was an ok game (game?), if not a really amazing one.

    aare says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 2:51pm

    Nice and fitting graphics, but the gameplay lack something to make it more than just walking and pressing space. Also, sound would help

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:37pm

    Cool idea for the theme and good job with the whole style of the game.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]