Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 1 hour, 19 minutes, 52 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You Are The Virus - Ashkin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You have a nefarious plot for world destruction... But first, you'll need to hack into the Pentagon's systems and retrieve the missile launch codes! Play as the Virus, a state-of-the-art piece of malware capable of penetrating the toughest of security systems- with a little dexterity and quick-thinking, that is.
    Turn the blue nodes (dots) red by moving over them- once all nodes are hacked, proceed to the uplink (large blue/red square) to move to the next level of security! How far can you get before you are detected?

    View Ashkin's journal. | View all entries by Ashkin

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #128Innovation3.45
    #156Fun3.29
    #200Overall3.29
    #345Audio2.48
    #415Graphics2.81
    #594Mood2.32
    #638Theme2.48
    #649Humor1.70

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

    Pro: Neat idea for a puzzle game!
    Suggestions: Make it easier for my eye to see how close I am to being detected without taking my view off my movements (it's very fast-paced!); maybe a change of color or a closing in circle. Also is needs to more evil. :)

    solidplasma says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:02am

    Very nice aesthetic. I like the random levels.

    Manuel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03am

    Feels nice to play. Played before I read, so didn't get the theme link at first. My eyes start tricking me after a few levels ^^

    eShredder says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:03am

    It is a good concept and had me occupied for a couple of games. The difficulty increases pretty quickly.

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06am

    I enjoyed it, but I would have liked a little more time, and to compensate harder levels. Nice random levels by the way :D

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

    I must say, this game was a blast to play, but it still had its problems. Most notably, your level generation code is a bit wonky. Quite often I would be stuck due to unbeatable stages. Also, the way the screen scrolls makes it hard to keep track of whats going on, especially in conjunction with the graphics used; not to say the graphics were bad, I actually like the minimalist style you have here. It probably would be better to make the screen stay still and have the whole maze show up on the screen. Anyway, those are my two cents, and I hope you continue this game, it actually has a lot of potential in my honest opinion.

    caasi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04am

    Cute game, but my eyes hurts :dizzy:

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:19pm

    Second the notion that it would be better to see the whole screen, would allow for more strategic movement instead of guesswork in larger stages. Possibly a "X/Y nodes hacked" display might have been useful for larger stages, where you can't see everything at once.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    This is quite hard for me. I only made it to stage 6!

    I think I would've enjoyed it more with fluid motions. The jumping makes it really hard to process the level - which is obviously needed to navigate.

    Bonus points for procedurally generated levels!

    PS: What is this I don't even: http://puu.sh/1C0eN (I get this after I restart)

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    Really cool, but really hard to look at because of the colors.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Simple but hard, I like it!

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

    The maze and navigating it quickly interested me.

    Yacodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:58am

    That game... Resuming the way I feel during that LD.
    - "How... easy :)"
    - "Vait, vat ?
    - "No, no wait, I need few extra second."

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:02pm

    Could use some puzzle elements rather than being just a test of reflexes. Something like not being able to step on nodes already hacked (which would naturally require changes to the level design).

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:13am

    The jumping is quite annoying but I think is part of the challenge (like this game is not hard enough...): nice entry. I had the same bug as seen in the Tobias screenshot .

    Shugor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28am

    By the 5th or 6th level it seems pretty impossible, but it only encourages you to keep playing! It's a nice, simple concept, and it would make a good mobile, pick-up game. It could use some background music, and perhaps a smaller difficulty curve, but it was very enjoyable~

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24am

    Simple, but fun. This would make a nice phone game if you could make the controls work with phones.

    galman says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Great concept! I really like it. Very fun game :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]